Customer Reviews for

Lifelines: (InterMix)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting medical thriller

    Dr. Lydia Fiore left Los Angeles to work as an emergency physician at Pittsburgh¿s Angels of Mercy Hospital. Her first night on her new job is the infamous Transition Day, the deadliest day of the year in the American health system as July 1 is when the graduated newbies begin their internship. Her first patient is a fourteen year old male in arrest in which she defies protocol and her team 'fourth year medical student Amanda Mason, third year emergency medical resident Gina Freeman and charge nurse Nora Halloran', and saves his life. The second emergency is Jonah Weiss, the son of the chief of surgery, who was hit by a car, but he dies. One day on the job and she is suspended pending a review of Jonah¿s death. However, when the autopsy implies a homicide occurs, Lydia decides to investigate after consulting with her team, who agrees with her assessment. More deaths follow as Lydia continues her unofficial inquiries. --- LIFELINES is an exciting medical thriller that provides readers with an insightful look at standard operating procedures and protocol in an inner city emergency room. The whodunit is fun to follow and a side of medical romance between Lydia and medic Trey Garrison enhance the trauma of working ER graveyard shift. Except for those with an aversion to blood, readers will appreciate this entreating tale, but those considering the medical field as a vocation will reconsider. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    An Outstanding book

    I could not put this book down for anything. It had me sitting at the edge of me seat! I can't wait for the next book to come out, and I hope that CJ will write more books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An action packed read.

    In Lifelines we meet four strong ladies who work at Angels of Mercy Medical Center in Pittsburgh. Lydia Fiore, the ER attending physician whose first day on the job may be here last when she fails to save the life of the Chief of Surgery's son who was struck by a car. Nora Halloran, the charge nurse whose relationship with her boyfriend is falling apart but Nora seems oblivious to that fact. Amanda Mason, the med student with aspirations of being a pediatrician who refuses to accept the fact that she's showing symptoms of a major illness. And perfectionist Gina Freeman, the resident who comes from a wealthy family but works to give something back. <BR/><BR/>Initially turned off by Dr. Fiore's tough exterior Nora, Amanda and Gina befriend Lydia when they realize what an excellent doctor she is. When Gina and Lydia are attacked outside of a restaurant Lydia realizes the death of the Chief of Surgery's son was no accident and Gina calls in her boyfriend, Detective Boyle, to begin investigating the murder and clear Lydia's name. <BR/><BR/>The plot is definitely planned as the first of the series. Lifelines is really the story of Dr. Fiore. The storylines of the three other women are set up but not wrapped up so you're left with major cliffhangers in regards to their stories. <BR/><BR/>I really enjoyed this one as it was fast-paced and action packed throughout the whole book. Having read this right after two books which both have medical aspects to them (the slower paced Irreplaceable by Stephen Lovely and the outrageous, but still awesome, Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell) this one was more up my alley as it was a suspense story just a little romance thrown in. To quote other reviewers, reading this is like watching your favorite episode of ER or Grey's Anatomy. I will definitely be reading book two, Warning Signs and I recommend this one for all medical thriller/romantic suspense lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    Great Book!!

    This book has everything: non-stop action, romance, mystery, great characters and if that's not enough it's well written and easy to read. Reminds me of t.v.'s "ER", Lifetimes "Strong Medicine", etc. Can't wait for the next book in series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was amazed at how quickly I became engrossed in the story. If you like medical suspense, this is the book for you. A 100% page turner.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Outstanding

    I am ready to purchase CJ's next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Page turner

    I recieved this book yesterday, began reading it around 6pm and just finished it today on my lunch break. GREAT book!!! I only put it down when I could no longer hold my eyes open.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    Who knew a hospital could be such a dangeous place?

    For me, thrillers mean entertainment. I don't expect to learn much between the action, so when I do, it's a special read. That's the case with CJ Lyon's debut LIFELINES. An ER doctor herself, Lyons'insider expertise creates a complex hospital world starring strong women in desperate situations who must save themselves as well as those around them. Readers will revel in the chaos of emergency medicine as Lydia Fiore must play detective as well as doctor or her first day on the job might be her last. Before she can stop a madman, whose motive may be subtle but whose weapons are not, she must find someone to trust. And for Lydia, whose inner pain is deeply rooted, that might be the hardest cure to find. A hospital never sleeps and neither does this plot. It's clear Lyons can write more than prescriptions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Recommended, especially for hospital story fans.

    Very enjoyable read with good storylines and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Terrific read for all

    This series is one of my favorites. As a second year medical student I could only imagine the life of my MS3 year that the character Amanda is going through in the first book. Now as a fourth year student, I have a better appreciation for all the characters, especially Amanda. Not only is the story thrilling, it is also comical, dramatic, and true to numerous aspects of life in the medical field.

    It is a terrific read for all - from teenagers to adults, and medical and non-medical people alike. I even introduced the series to my roommate who read the first three books in a matter of days! I cannot wait to finish out the series with book 4.

    It's a page turner that may keep you up until 4am; don't say I didn't warn you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    This series is perfect for Greys anatomy fans

    I loved the book and how it gives incite to each characters life, was intense at the end. This is a great series for someone that is a Grey's anatomy fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A book version of Grey's Anatomy

    Great read-it was like reading an episode of Grey's Anatomy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great start for a series!

    If you like Grey's Anatomy or the early seasons of ER you'll love this medical series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Great Medical thriller *****

    What a page turner! Great suspense plus a love connection. I was impressed in the accuracy of the medical codes and maneuvers of the medical staff. Well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    ER fans will be happy!

    I met CJ Lyons at a convention and she mentioned her books. I bought lifelines and couldn't put it down! I was a good tale with all the medical drama we all fell in love with in ER. The story gets better with each book! The story fllowed well and you identified with the characters, and could easily "see" what was happening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Very good

    I really enjoyed reading this book and have started the second one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    This is an excellent read!

    I do not normally like medical dramas but Lifelines has totally changed my mind. CJ Lyons has written a gripping, thrilling read. This book is so well written, it is like having a movie play in your mind. You can see everything exactly as she describes it.

    I have bought every book in this series. Buy them, you WILL like them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2