Customer Reviews for

Life's a Beach

Average Rating 3
( 1521 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(357)

3 Star

(492)

2 Star

(245)

1 Star

(189)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

G ood Thrilling

Very good exciting something new on every page

posted by 8420989 on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Light reading

This is a good book for a beach, or on a plane, or somewhere where you'd like to read a book that's not too involved.

posted by Madriver on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1527 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 77
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    G ood Thrilling

    Very good exciting something new on every page

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Light reading

    This is a good book for a beach, or on a plane, or somewhere where you'd like to read a book that's not too involved.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Couldn't stop

    I have read several of her novels and loved them so I knew I wouldn't be disappointed. Light and fluffy perfect for a Sunday afternoon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    A story with a woman who is trying to find her true passion while figuring out what her future will hold. The cast of characters was hilarious and entertaining - her family made the book even more enjoyable. As I have stated before, I have a sister and I enjoy reading about sister relationships - these two made me laugh out loud because I saw me and my sister a few years down the road in their shoes. As the sister obsessed about her upcoming birthday, I giggled as I may obsess about things in my life.

    A love triangle which I always enjoy made this book a page turner. Sometimes I am sure which guy I want her to end up with and then I would flip a few pages and I was stumped - I had no clue which one would be the best in the end. Between the artsy glassbower and the methodical electrician from the movie set, I just couldn't decide who best fit her. As the story unfolded, I am glad the end came as it did and how it happened.

    It may have beach in the title, but that isn't the only reason why I put this book into my beach read list. A light and easy great read that I would recommend to pack in your beach bag. NOTE - I don't have a clue why it was titled as such, didn't quite fit the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    This is a wonderfully light hearted read.

    What a wonderfully well-written funny book. I couldn't put it down and laughed so hard in places that this book got recommended to anyone listening while I was reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Laugh out loud

    My first Claire Cook book and I enjoyed every page. Fun and quirky. Not as predictable as I assumed with unusual characters and some downright laugh-out-loud lines.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    boring fluff

    I was really looking forward to reading this on my beach vacation, but I was disappointed. I wanted beach fluff, but this was not it. I think the cover and title is very deceptive and does not foretell the book's plot. I like fluff occassionally, but this was not even good fluff. I will stick with Janet Evanovich when i want that(highly recommend her!). The characters were irritating and didn't seem very real, especially the dad. It really was just kind of boring. I kept putting it down, forced myself to finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    OK Read

    This is a good pool side, beach kinda book. Something light and easy that takes you away without getting too far into it that you can't think straight when you put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Just a real life story...

    Was a simple story without any highs or lows. Was a good read but uneventful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    The plot?

    The book is very light reading and not much of a plot. There's not anything that grabs you to make this a page turner. It seems as though the author was grasping for straws by some of the ideas she has put into the book. I got to the last 30 pages and wondered what the point of the story was. It's not something I would purchase and thankfully I got it as one of the free books for Nook. My book club is going to read Summer Blowout which is also by this author and I'm not sure if I'll purchase that either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Awful - Didn't Make It 100 Pages

    I was looking for some light reading after reading three mysteries in a row. Got this one free on my Nook. Thank goodness it was free. I swear the positive reviews must have been written by the author's friends and family members. This book was awful!

    I made it just about 100 pages before I gave up. That's almost half-way through the book, and there had yet to be a plot. The characters were overdeveloped. It's like the author had to come up with some inane character representation for each of them. Most annoying was the father who spoke like a 1920's gangster. He drove me nuts from the beginning.

    I think I understand what Ms. Cook was trying to do with this book, but she missed the mark big time. Don't waste your time. If you want something fun to read this summer, read Janet Evonovich.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    AMAZING

    It's been a long time since I laughed this much reading a book. Each character is unique and lovable, even the infamous Allison Flagg. Riley stole the show from his aunt, but allowed her to find her true self at the end. and the user's guide to the fun, feisty and fabulous, OMG! Well done, a true masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Fantastic

    I+really+enjoyed+this+book.+The+characters+are+quirky+yet+believable.+The+relationships+between+the+main+character+and+her+family+were+hilarious+yet+loving.+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Alright light read

    A good light reader for anyone who doesn't want to think too hard about what is being read. The resolution felt too fast with no real warning but I wanted to know what happened regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Ummmm.....No!

    I can say Cook is capable of writing good everyday comedy, but she's so invested in writing these cutesy lines she's not looking at the bigger picture--the plot. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Not my type...

    I was bored to death reading this book. Too slow for me, the plot was simply boring and no excitement at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Just Ok

    While there were a few laughs in this book it was just an ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Didn't enjoy

    I tried for several chapters to get into this book and it just couldn't keep my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Quick read great ending

    Interesting story with many possibilities leaving you guessing until the abrupt end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Glad I got it for free! The book had potential but never seemed

    Glad I got it for free!

    The book had potential but never seemed to go any where, but in circles. I found the characters to be rather flat & the only one that seemed interesting was the dad. I am not sure why she even got back with her boyfriend as he seemed to be as uninterested in her as she was in him. The other guy in the movies seemed more interested in her & was willing to go after her. Oh well it was a free book when I got it, I wouldn't pay for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1527 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 77