BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Life's a Beach

Average Rating 3
( 1525 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(239)

4 Star

(358)

3 Star

(492)

2 Star

(246)

1 Star

(190)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

G ood Thrilling

Very good exciting something new on every page

posted by 8420989 on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Light reading

This is a good book for a beach, or on a plane, or somewhere where you'd like to read a book that's not too involved.

posted by Madriver on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Awful - Didn't Make It 100 Pages

    I was looking for some light reading after reading three mysteries in a row. Got this one free on my Nook. Thank goodness it was free. I swear the positive reviews must have been written by the author's friends and family members. This book was awful!

    I made it just about 100 pages before I gave up. That's almost half-way through the book, and there had yet to be a plot. The characters were overdeveloped. It's like the author had to come up with some inane character representation for each of them. Most annoying was the father who spoke like a 1920's gangster. He drove me nuts from the beginning.

    I think I understand what Ms. Cook was trying to do with this book, but she missed the mark big time. Don't waste your time. If you want something fun to read this summer, read Janet Evonovich.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Ummmm.....No!

    I can say Cook is capable of writing good everyday comedy, but she's so invested in writing these cutesy lines she's not looking at the bigger picture--the plot. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Couldn't get past the writing

    Couldn't bear this book. I tried several times to get into it because I was in the mood to read something fluffy and fun, but the writing drove me away. The characters were boring, one dimensional, often even unbelievable. I didn't like how the author told us everything about the characters instead of letting us discover their traits through observation of the actions and behaviors. That's lazy writing. I finally gave up after 30 or so pages, when I realized it was making me angry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Maybe later

    Not a bad read....but a slow not really gripping one. Maybe I will come back to this ons later. So hard to find other authors I can get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Boring

    Couldn't even get through this book. It was soooooooo boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Do not read. A big, big time waster.

    The stupidist book that I have ever read in my life. Nothing happend.Don't waste your time like I did. I would not have given this book any stars except, you have to in order for this to post.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Childish

    If you like adults who behave like children, you'll like this book. I don't and I didn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not great... ok for free

    This book was so so... I don't think any of the characters really had any depth, she tried to make the father quirky but she didn't pull it off. Nothing pulled me in to make me care what happened to anyone and the sisters were just to self centered to even have a relationship with each other I don't know why they even spoke to each other because they did not care about one another and couldn't even be there for each other. I kept waiting for something to happen that would make me like them or care.. or really just waiting for something interesting to happen at all.

    I'm glad it was free, if someone gave it to you and you didn't have anything else it would be good to pass time but I wouldn't recommend spending money on it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Boring!

    Good thing this was a free read! Horrible plot, decent writing skills and overall a generally boring book. Coulnd't wait to finish it to move on to another book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hmmm

    Glad+this+one+was+feww.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Waste+Of+My+Time+

    I+am+happy+to+say+that+I+didn%27t+waste+my+money%2C+just+my+time+in+reading+this+book%21+The+dialouge+with+the+main+charater+and+her+father+got+rather+old+rather+quickly.+One+didn%27t+really+know+if+the+man+was+senile+or+a+bad+actor+in+a+Humphry+Bogart+movie.++Really+wouldn%27t+give+it+a+star%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Boring.....

    So+boring%2C+no+real+plot.++Characters+not+well+developed+at+all.++Glad+it+was+free%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    Free%21

    Glad+it+was+free.+Ultralight+reading+with+shallow+characters+and+minimal+plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Forget it!

    Teenager might enjoy it. Written at a high school short story assignment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Worst Book Ever

    Read this for a book club I am part of and it literally put me in a bad mood it was so bad. There was no plot, the characters had absolutely no meaning. Main character just whined and gave me a headache. This really is the worst book I've ever read. Don't waste your money!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10