Customer Reviews for

Lifted

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hauntingly good

    Wendy Toliver has brought us into the world of fifteen year old Poppy Browne, a transplanted Colorado girl dropped into a Texas town where being in the Bible belt, is looked at as a good thing. Poppy has to deal with trying to fit into a ultra conservative Christian school, and living in a new town that has none of the charm of her old Boulder neighborhood. But in her first few days she meets Bridgette, her assigned school buddy, and Mary jane and Whitney, two of the school's elite and popular crowd. It doesn't take long before Mary Jane and Whitney to grab Poppy and bring her into their world of secrets and drama. See Mary Jane and Whitney have a penchant for stealing, or 'lifting' things from the local stores. Just one look at their closets and you can see that they have way more things than any teenage girl should have. When they bring Poppy into the circle and she starts to steal, she feels a strange thrill, but its quickly replaced by guilt and unease.
    In a twist she is turned in by the one person she never thought would do it...Bridgette and her stealing world implodes, threatening her relationship with her mother and friends. What i like is Poppy is a very strong young character who stands up and faces her judgement, even if its potentially catastrophic. But she also forces her three friends to make amends of their falling out and try to patch things up. And along the way she finds love with a boy that will make the school gossip boards tingle.
    I liked this book a lot because it showed both sides of the line. You have Poppy getting drawn into stealing by her friends, and she has a thrill from it, but then she gets home and feels so guilty and stressed that she can't do school work, or sleep for that matter. It does not romanticize the idea of steeling, rather, it shows it for what it really is and that you might have a thrill and excitement, but it can never last and your conscience will never let that stand.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    So, here's the deal.

    I will present you with a story plot, which I will post in result one. You must post a five-chapter version of that story, the first chapter starting in the third result. Not here, the third result. The winner will recieve a special biological weapon.<br>Begin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Allysom

    This book was simply amazing. Wendy Oliver captures the attention of the reader. I want her to right more. The story line is amazing. AMAZING READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    Just before her sophomore year, Poppy Browne is taken from her normal life in Boulder and unwillingly put into a new town, Pleasant Acres. There, Poppy will be attending Calvary High, a Baptist school that has its fair share of sins and secrets. Right off the bat, Poppy causes quite a stir with her nose piercing and a few snarky comments, which gets her noticed by the popular girls, Whitney and Mary Jane. She's never felt the need to fit in, as back in Colorado she hung out with the tats and pierced crowd. But now she faces a dilemma of which clique to befriend. Should she choose the ever-popular and extremely gorgeous girls, or the "Good News Choir" that features Bridgette Josephs, the all-around overachiever and Poppy's very own Calvary High tour guide? Intrigued by Mary Jane and Whitney, Poppy finds herself getting friendly with the two, wondering how she climbed up the social ladder so quickly. Unfortunately, Poppy will soon discover that being friends with these two girls probably wasn't the best choice to make. Turns out they have an itch for shoplifting. Before she knows it, Poppy is lifted into an entirely foreign world filled with an irresistible and charmingly arrogant preacher's son, old grudges, revenge schemes, and a whole new temptation complete with a rush that is full of expensive merchandise. Can Poppy handle such things as crushes, a best friend's boyfriend issues, and backstabbing, or will she need a quick prayer and some major forgiveness to get her through the year? Wendy Toliver realistically portrays a girl swept into a world of stolen goods where the rush takes control and the actions become impulsive. Poppy, as the central character, gives the novel a lighter feel, with her hilarious outlook on life and love. LIFTED has all the important qualities that make it a good read: it's fun, smart, and extremely addictive, just like the main character and her frowned upon new habit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    It was great!!!!!!!!!!!

    It was an exquisite read. I loved how your character Poppy didn't want to be in the 'popular' group, the popular group just started being nice to her. Amazing! I would definitely recommend this to my book group and many more friends! Thank you for your book! Wendy Toliver, you are an amazing, wondrous author. Again thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    PRAISE FOR LIFTED

    LIFTED was a very good book. i felt very connected to the author and to the characters within this exquisite novel. This is some of the best writing I have read in a while. This is an interesting subject and you made it even better. Thank you Wendy for coming and visiting our class. here is your review:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pick it up (pay for it) and walk away with it!

    Lifted is a story of Poppy Browne, a teen who moves to a new city/state/school and her journey of getting hooked on shoplifting. Wendy Toliver also does an amazing job of bringing her characters and their relationships to life. At first I didn't want to like Poppy's mom for putting so much pressure on her. I did want to like the nice girl, who tries to befriend Poppy and orient her to the school. I didn't want to like girls who shoplift.

    But just like real people, all of these characters are more than just one thing; they aren't simply good or bad, and bad choices don't automatically make you a bad person. Poppy doesn't like all of the choices she's making, but she doesn't know how to stop herself, or who to trust. I honestly don't know if I've ever imagined shoplifting like a drug before, and how this kind of behavior can affect and change a person's life. I think Lifted gives a real and honest portrayal of how easy it can be to make bad choices. Wendy also does a great job of giving Poppy a relateable voice, with a sense of humor. It really endeared me to the character whenever Poppy would say something angsty, right before she shared her truthful feelings with the reader.

    It was SOOOOOO good, I'm still trying to think of anything I can compare it to. I almost cried a couple of times, just because Wendy totally hit the right spot.

    And I'm not going to tell you any more, so I suggest you pick up your own copy and see for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Pick it up (pay for it) and walk away with it

    Lifted is a story of Poppy Browne, a teen who moves to a new city/state/school and her journey of getting hooked on shoplifting. Wendy Toliver also does an amazing job of bringing her characters and their relationships to life. At first I didn't want to like Poppy's mom for putting so much pressure on her. I did want to like the nice girl, who tries to befriend Poppy and orient her to the school. I didn't want to like girls who shoplift.

    But just like real people, all of these characters are more than just one thing; they aren't simply good or bad, and bad choices don't automatically make you a bad person. Poppy doesn't like all of the choices she's making, but she doesn't know how to stop herself, or who to trust. I honestly don't know if I've ever imagined shoplifting like a drug before, and how this kind of behavior can affect and change a person's life. I think Lifted gives a real and honest portrayal of how easy it can be to make bad choices. Wendy also does a great job of giving Poppy a relateable voice, with a sense of humor. It really endeared me to the character whenever Poppy would say something angsty, right before she shared her truthful feelings with the reader.

    It was SOOOOOO good, I'm still trying to think of anything I can compare it to. I almost cried a couple of times, just because Wendy totally hit the right spot.

    And I'm not going to tell you any more, so I suggest you pick up your own copy and see for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1