Customer Reviews for

The Light (Morpheus Road Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Morpheus Road: The Light

The Light by DJ McHale Is The First Book In The Morpheus Road Trilogy. This Book Is An Awesome Read! I Was Hooked By Chapter 2. The Main Charater Is Marsh. The Book Begins With Marsh Speaking About The Prior Week And What's Happening Now. His Father Goes On A Business T...
The Light by DJ McHale Is The First Book In The Morpheus Road Trilogy. This Book Is An Awesome Read! I Was Hooked By Chapter 2. The Main Charater Is Marsh. The Book Begins With Marsh Speaking About The Prior Week And What's Happening Now. His Father Goes On A Business Trip And His Best Friend Goes Missing. The Story Begins Rather Slow But Picks Up Really Quickly In a Mind-Boggling Race. I'm Still Trying To Find Out What Morpheus Road Is, Although That Information Will Probably Be Revealed When The Other Two Books Are Released. Spooky things Begin Happening in His Home That He Can't Seem To Understand Or Explain. Marshall Invents An Imaginary Character, Gravedigger, Who Comes To Life Before His Eyes. Thrilling Horror Hides In Every Page As Marsh Trys To Find Out Where His Best Friend Coop Has Gone And Why Gravedigger Seems To Be After Him. This Book Is Like Encyclopedia Brown Meets The TV Show Supernatural. The Ending Took Quite A Turn And Was Told From Another Character's Narration, Which Is Awesome! This Book Locked Me In And Kept Me On Edge! I Believe It Will Keep You On Edge Too!

posted by LalyShaney on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An UnenLIGHTening Disappointment

I am a fan of D. J. MacHale; I've read all 10 of his Pendragon books and basically grew up on him. However, I found Morpheus Road: The Light to be highly disappointing. First of all, Marshall Seaver is basically Mark Dimond's twin brother. I loved the Pendragon referenc...
I am a fan of D. J. MacHale; I've read all 10 of his Pendragon books and basically grew up on him. However, I found Morpheus Road: The Light to be highly disappointing. First of all, Marshall Seaver is basically Mark Dimond's twin brother. I loved the Pendragon references, they were clever, but come on, D. J. Invent a new character, please! I could relate all of the characters in this book to ones from Pendragon. Marshall was Mark, Sydney was Loor, Gravedigger was Saint Dane...the comparisons were way too obvious. Secondly, the plot went NOWHERE. N-O-W-H-E-R-E. I was waiting for something interesting to happen the whole time. I understand the idea of "plot twists" or "new directions," but that does not mean throw in random things just for the sake of being creative. Many of the sub-scenes made no sense in Marshall's character development (which, incidentally, there was none of). My personal favorite line went something like this: "Everything that had happened didn't matter anymore." Mind you, this was on page 300-something, near the book's end. Basically, it was D. J.'s way of saying that the whole first book doesn't really matter; he just felt like taking you for a ride. Fun stuff, D. J. Next time, please focus on plot and character development like you did in Pendragon. Thanks!

posted by 3466427 on July 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    An UnenLIGHTening Disappointment

    I am a fan of D. J. MacHale; I've read all 10 of his Pendragon books and basically grew up on him. However, I found Morpheus Road: The Light to be highly disappointing. First of all, Marshall Seaver is basically Mark Dimond's twin brother. I loved the Pendragon references, they were clever, but come on, D. J. Invent a new character, please! I could relate all of the characters in this book to ones from Pendragon. Marshall was Mark, Sydney was Loor, Gravedigger was Saint Dane...the comparisons were way too obvious. Secondly, the plot went NOWHERE. N-O-W-H-E-R-E. I was waiting for something interesting to happen the whole time. I understand the idea of "plot twists" or "new directions," but that does not mean throw in random things just for the sake of being creative. Many of the sub-scenes made no sense in Marshall's character development (which, incidentally, there was none of). My personal favorite line went something like this: "Everything that had happened didn't matter anymore." Mind you, this was on page 300-something, near the book's end. Basically, it was D. J.'s way of saying that the whole first book doesn't really matter; he just felt like taking you for a ride. Fun stuff, D. J. Next time, please focus on plot and character development like you did in Pendragon. Thanks!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Morpheus Road: The Light

    The Light by DJ McHale Is The First Book In The Morpheus Road Trilogy. This Book Is An Awesome Read! I Was Hooked By Chapter 2. The Main Charater Is Marsh. The Book Begins With Marsh Speaking About The Prior Week And What's Happening Now. His Father Goes On A Business Trip And His Best Friend Goes Missing. The Story Begins Rather Slow But Picks Up Really Quickly In a Mind-Boggling Race. I'm Still Trying To Find Out What Morpheus Road Is, Although That Information Will Probably Be Revealed When The Other Two Books Are Released. Spooky things Begin Happening in His Home That He Can't Seem To Understand Or Explain. Marshall Invents An Imaginary Character, Gravedigger, Who Comes To Life Before His Eyes. Thrilling Horror Hides In Every Page As Marsh Trys To Find Out Where His Best Friend Coop Has Gone And Why Gravedigger Seems To Be After Him. This Book Is Like Encyclopedia Brown Meets The TV Show Supernatural. The Ending Took Quite A Turn And Was Told From Another Character's Narration, Which Is Awesome! This Book Locked Me In And Kept Me On Edge! I Believe It Will Keep You On Edge Too!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Slow start

    Marshall Seaver (anyone but me hearing the Growing Pains theme song in their heads when the name Seaver is mentioned?) is an ordinary good guy type of sixteen-year-old; he's the Luke Skywalker to his best friend Cooper Foley's Han Solo. Cooper's a troublemaker who's mostly interested in chasing girls, while Marsh is a kid at heart, and still interested in building rocket ships and reading graphic novels. The only girl who captures Marsh's attention is Cooper's older sister Sydney, a beautiful high-achieving ice princess who won't give him the time of day.

    Marshall is an everyman character, but two things about him stand out: 1. his mother was killed in a earthquake overseas while she was photographing an ancient temple, and 2. He's an amateur artist who draws only one character: Gravedigger, a grim reaper character who resembles a skeleton and carries around a double-edged pick. When Marsh breaks an artifact his mother sent him, and Cooper suddenly disappears, a whole world of trouble opens up and Marsh will never be a normal kid again.

    DJ MacHale's credits include a lot of television writing, and it shows in his story, which has snappy dialogue and interesting visual images. Unfortunately, this first book in the series feels more like a pilot episode in a new TV show--I just don't think enough actually happens to sustain an entire book. It gets a slow start, with Marshall getting about a dozen hints that something's not quite right in his world before anything significant occurs. He hears strange noises, sees gusts of wind in his kitchen, gets mysterious phone calls, and sees a manifestation of his character Gravedigger, all as part of the setup before the true action begins. I think all the warning signs could have been condensed without losing much of the impact.

    I won't be continuing this series, but the author's writing style in engrossing enough that I'm definitely going to check out his Pendragon books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Beast

    Great book!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved this book. It was one of my favorite books ever! I would stay up late at night reading and my mom would yell at me to go to sleep. This book is a page turning thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Once you start reading you cant stop. When you get to the end, you just wamt more and wish that it didnt stop there.........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Hospital

    This book slowed my heart rate down. Its that good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is amazing and sad

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Addicted

    Master of suspense D.J. MacHale is back after his ny times best selling series Pendragon. When Marshall Seaver's best friend Cooper goes missing, the haunting begins. Is it his imagination or somethong far more sinister? When fate slams unlikely friends Marsh and Sydney (Cooper's "ice witch" older sister) together, the begin the hunt for the truth of what really happened to Cooper on that lake in Thistledown, but are they going to like the truth?i never said they would. But the real question is will they survive the hauntings that are steadily getting deadlyer as well as more frequent?Find out the truth in this epic hunt, complete with cover to cover suspense. (Warning; does cuss, so not for ages 10 and under) wether you are a loyal dj fan or not, this book is the right choice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was very interesting and suspenseful. I really loved it. I wish they could've gave a little more details about some of the characters in the book, but other than that, it was a fantastic book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    The light

    As yiure guarenteed to love marsh for his integrity to figure everything out for friendship, cooper is an equally as loveablr narrator. He makes more mistakes and can be sort of stupid. As a reader this is often times more relateable than having a perfect main character who is more intelligent than their reader. As much as mchale doesnt do a fantastic job in creating main characters different from those in his other sieries (SYLOs tucker peirce and Morpheus roads marshall seaver) his characters are very entertaining in their endeavors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Great read

    cool and suspencefull

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Captivating, This story will keep you turning the page for more

    The overall mystery of this book will keep you reading so as to get answers. The macabre touch is tantalizing with it raising so many questions and possibilities, but doesnt scare you that much. Most of the questions asked will be answered in the next book. Be sure to read the rest of the series! You wont regret it!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    AMAZING

    This is SUCH a freaking amazing book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    This series is definitely one of my favorite series of all time.

    This series is definitely one of my favorite series of all time.  The writing was very tasteful for a children's novel and was very fast paced and thrilling.  Each chapter kept me wanting more.  I don't care if this is in the kid's section of the book store.  So is Harry Potter, so therefore, I'm telling all of my adult friends about how great this series is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Ff

    Chrj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    By Amazing

    Really good and scary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    This amazing, page turning book, will have you on the edge of yo

    This amazing, page turning book, will have you on the edge of your seat. I basically fell out of mine, yes, it was that good! This book is full of twist and turns that will leave you wanting more. The ending is magnificent, and is told from another characters point of view. The main character is Marshall Seaver, a regular 16 year old good boy. And he has a potential love interest in his best friends sister, Sydney. The two go on a ride full of surprises as a creature from Marshall's journal comes alive right in front of his eyes. Its name? Gravedigger. Marshall tries to find out what is going on, and find Cooper. All while this "creature" is chasing him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Woooooohooooo

    Great amazing exlent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Sab

    She sat alone on her bed thinking, she felt her pulse and went to her berewing table. she started to make a potion. But this one glowed bubbly green she got she summoned a spark of lightning and it started to smoke. She put a cork on the vial a spun it around a couole times

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    The best

    Best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5