Customer Reviews for

The Light Fantastic (Discworld Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The odd man out.

    The Light Fantastic is a bit of an odd man out in Terry Pratchett's Discworld series in that it's the only one that really should be read in order. Most of this fantastic series can be read as a stand alone, in whatever order one feels (odd in and of itself for such a large series). The light Fantastic is the followup to Pratchett's Discworld debut The Color of Magic, in which our erstwhile hero Rincewind continues his journey with the Discworlds first tourist, the indomitable Two Flower. It is every bit as offbeat, witty and strangely poignant as the first, and certainly a good start to one of the most interesting fantasy worlds ever created. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm on a mission to read all the discworld books!

    I love this book. Terry Pratchett is a never ending well of fanatsy and creativity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    This book continues on with Rincewind and Twoflower's journey, and you find out how much of a "Wizzard" Rincewind truly is. Rincewind continues on his desperate attempts to keep the idiot Twoflower from getting them all killed, and along the way they meet some new friends and even more enemies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It was the 1st fantasy comedy I ever read

    This is a fun, warm, and fuzzy book. Too short for my liking, but hey! Terry is the man. I prefer the disc world series of old to the more complicated stuff he writes these days...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    GREAT BOOK!

    I would recommend this book to anybody. The Luggage is probably the most creative thing Pratchett has ever menchened. ROCK ON DEATH!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2000

    Not quite the usual

    I have the same probems with this book as with the previous one. It did not have quite the fun value or the length of current installments. Plus editing had some major mistakes. And I really really disliked the Spells' reset button Intervention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    The sequel you wanted

    If you've read The Color of Magic this is the sequel you want. A great continuation of a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    It is Terry Pratchett

    How can you go wrong? Best series ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    BATTLE AREANA

    For true warriors we havent thought of a name yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Sequel is as Good as the First

    This sequel to Color of Magic ends a great introdcution to the Discworld series, perticularily the tale of Rincewind, the less than apt wizard. There are quite a number of laugh out loud moment, without the allegory found in the later novels. After some time away from this book, I am glad to say that Sir Prattchet holds up after the years have passed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good!!! Highly Recommended!

    The discworld series is wonderful!! It rivals Harry Potter because of how funny they are!! Read all 39 of them!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2000

    Early Edition

    The Light Fantastic is a very good story written by Pratchett in the early days of Discworld. I first read the book when i was twelve, and at the time hadnt understood all the jokes and plot(Considering I hadnt read The Color of Magic), Yet to read both now was very satisfying and feel that the original Discworld novels are the best, even though parts such as the Dragons, and the monster warp reality a little inconsistently.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5