Customer Reviews for

The Light of Eidon (Legends of the Guardian-King Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Light of Eidon

When I first checked this book out of my library, I honestly didn't think I'd really enjoy it and maybe even find it boring, but once I started it, I couldn't put it down (even at a football game)!!! I definitely recommend this book! I can't wait to read the rest of the...
When I first checked this book out of my library, I honestly didn't think I'd really enjoy it and maybe even find it boring, but once I started it, I couldn't put it down (even at a football game)!!! I definitely recommend this book! I can't wait to read the rest of the series!!! :D

posted by book_nerdSN on November 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Prince for sale

Prince Abramm is betrayed by his family, his religious leaders, and (he thinks) by God when he discovers a political plot to murder his brothers and place him on the throne as a puppet king. Sold as a slave and made to fight as a gladiator, Abramm must kill to survive,...
Prince Abramm is betrayed by his family, his religious leaders, and (he thinks) by God when he discovers a political plot to murder his brothers and place him on the throne as a puppet king. Sold as a slave and made to fight as a gladiator, Abramm must kill to survive, battling himself as well. His sister, and others are searching for him, but does he want to return? Abramm's portion of the story is pretty good, although his soul-agonizing gets a bit old. I really like his companion's character and found him quite interesting. The love interest is trivial and stupid tho - she really should have been left out or her role needed to be dramatically larger. The same goes for his sister. A large portion of the story follows her journey to locate her brother, but nothing essential to the story-line ever happens with her. You could cut both female characters completely, and the story would be essentially the same. Perhaps the sister's efforts will have significance in the next book. Otherwise an interesting book, but nowhere near as good as Arena. I would give it 3.5 stars.

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Light of Eidon

    When I first checked this book out of my library, I honestly didn't think I'd really enjoy it and maybe even find it boring, but once I started it, I couldn't put it down (even at a football game)!!! I definitely recommend this book! I can't wait to read the rest of the series!!! :D

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Two Thumbs Up

    This is definitely a great read for any Christian. The parallels between this series and the Christian faith are great just as long as you don't mind a little fantasy mixed in.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I was looking for a NOOKbook that I own in paperback to compare the experience. I was hoping to find ARENA by Karen Hancock to initiate my NOOk, but this was almost as good. Only a few spacing format issues. The book it's self was as amazing and imaginative as I remembered it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2003

    An Adventure Story About Hope

    Light of Eidon is a story about a prince, who is fifth in line to the throne, decides to take the vows of a monk, but events unfold that force him into slavery to compete in the win or die games of the Gladiators. Scrawny and committed to never picking up a weapon of war, Abramm is not expected to survive the galley ride over there, let alone the games themselves. In an attempt to die with honor, Abramm is determined to do the best he can and prove them all wrong, but he finds that this comes at the sacrifice of his faith. But should he care since Eidon had abandoned him? Karen Hancock doesn't just tell a tale, she takes Abramm on a search for truth. She skillfully creates an unknown world and gives it the history and culture needed to draw the reader into the world she created. Light of Eidon has the heart of JRR Tolkien, the flare of Terry Brooks, the adventure of Tom Clancy, and the sense of destiny of the Star Wars saga. Light of Eidon speaks to anyone who has faced a seemingly hopeless situation, where God feels the universe away, and those who do evil seem to have all the control. Hancock has a fresh approach to the age-old question: 'Where is God when evil prevails?'

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    I'm a Conservative 60+ yr old and I recommend this Book!

    I have just finished the entire Legends of the Guardian-King series and the stories are wonderful. It is easy to see God at work in the lives of the characters. There was nothing I objected to in any of the books.

    I Highly Recommend these books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Percy

    Its fine and ya jay bad place to choose to go. Sorry bre. Sorry annabeth. Gos back to camp

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Jay

    Im sorry percy please dont ignore me it was a s.h.i.t.y move to do

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Carlie

    When you guys were done getting ready and you guys were calling each other pretty and handsome. ^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    ten out of five!!!!!!

    I LOVED this book!!!! all of the twists and turns kept me on my toes the whole way through!!! the author wrote this amazingly... I felt like I was with the characters in the battles and in the narrow escapes!!!!! definitely a book that I will read again!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Intriguing!

    This is one series that is hard to put down! Enjoyed it very much! One that I can read over and over and not tire of!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    Light Of Eidon

    I absolutely love this book. It is one of my favorite of all times. It is a great story with a great allegorical message. Anyone who likes christian fantasy this is a must read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    A really good story!

    Karen Hancock writes a great allegory full of truth. I'll definitely read this whole series again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Avery

    I threw them off a cliff

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Rain

    Ooooooooh.........that time.....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Silena

    There isnt one im just sick of my sis haley if u wanna know why go to book below this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    CALL ME 1800-CONNOR IS AWESOME

    *a picture gats taped to the window from outside* XD (aka.... just make the phone ring in my cabin) XD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Skyler to bree

    Y no smoking? Hades cabin ppl smoke. I smoke when i go all oracle *points to the tiny amount of green fumes billowing rom her face hole (my new fav words)* FACE HOLES

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Annabeth

    Reads

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    Great Message

    I don't usually like fantasy but this book was well written and it held my interest. The message was very good as well. I will read the other books in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Great series!

    I stumbled on this title looking for a good new series to read. I'm thankful I did! The struggle Abramm goes through is so relatable to almost everyone- Christian or not. Its clean too- no bad language or super steamy sex scenes. Christians will appreciate the paraells of our faith, while both Christians and non- Christians alike can appreciate the fantasy, character development, world building, and plot complexity. I highly reccomend this book and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5