Customer Reviews for

A Light to My Path

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful!!! Heartwarming!!!

This book was a surprise. As an African American I have always avoided books about slavery. The thought that if I would have been born 148 years earlier that could have been me. I can not even watch movies about slavery because the pain and hardships my ancesters endure...
This book was a surprise. As an African American I have always avoided books about slavery. The thought that if I would have been born 148 years earlier that could have been me. I can not even watch movies about slavery because the pain and hardships my ancesters endured is hardbreaking but this book captured me. The series started out with the civil war through the eyes of the confederates, next through the eyes of the union and finally the eyes of the slaves. Powerful! It also made it clear why the slaves survived and the union won......it was because God was in charge. Bravo on a job well done. It also showed that God's love is colorblind.

posted by 6302909 on April 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hi

Go to no death third result to buy me. Create my name and apperence. Do what you want to me. Im fine with force ***.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Wonderful!!! Heartwarming!!!

    This book was a surprise. As an African American I have always avoided books about slavery. The thought that if I would have been born 148 years earlier that could have been me. I can not even watch movies about slavery because the pain and hardships my ancesters endured is hardbreaking but this book captured me. The series started out with the civil war through the eyes of the confederates, next through the eyes of the union and finally the eyes of the slaves. Powerful! It also made it clear why the slaves survived and the union won......it was because God was in charge. Bravo on a job well done. It also showed that God's love is colorblind.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A character driven tale

    In 1862 South Carolina, Confederate soldiers warn Missy Claire that 6000 Yanks are marching towards her Plantation and arming slaves. Missy is angry and panicking as she orders her slaves but talks down to them as if they are cattle or pets, which is how she sees them. Field slave Grady informs house slave Kitty that he plans to run away and would like her, the woman he loves, to come with him to freedom. Kitty hesitates as she has lost the ability to make decisions having spent her life having her massahs tell her what to do........................ As Kitty struggles whether to run off with Grady or stay with Missy, she reflects back to the early 1850s when she as a child met her young mistress. Kitty, called Anna, back then, had some kittens that Missy wanted, but her mother said no that anything owned by a darkie is diseased. So Missy tells her mom that she wants the darkie as her kitty. Since then Kitty has always done whatever her owner tells her to do, but now with war everywhere can Anna be resurrected from the dead?..................... This deep look at the lives of slaves and to a lesser degree their owners in the decade just before and during the Civil War is an insightful historical tale. Readers will be stunned by the incredible characterizations inside of a world turned upside down for so many people. The story line rotates between Anna-Kitty and Grady, but fans observe how others in their circle read. Fans of the Antebellum South will want to read the latest Refiner¿s Fire tale as Lyn Austin hits on all cylinders with a fantastic novel...................... Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    Amazing Addition to an amazing series

    I've read alot of Civil War novels and I have to say that this is one of my favorites. I read it along with a couple of friends of mine who HATE reading with a passion and they couldn't put it down. The characters are wonderfully developed and you feel their pain and their joy throughout the different challenges they face. Also, I like the way the characters in the other books were incorporated and the main character replays some of the same events just from a totally different point of view. Great Read!!! I recommend it to anyone who loves historical fiction.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    To leader

    One of your members told to advitise here hope fully you will have new rps

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Powerful and moving. An excellent read.

    Powerful and moving. An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Must read

    Great series,one of the best i very read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Excellent  Read!!!  Excellent Series!!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Excellent  Read!!!  Excellent Series!!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Great story!!!

    Great characters!! Wonderful christian message. I couldn't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS EVER

    This is the first time I have ever reviewed a book , I liked the book that much. Every book in this series tears at your heartstrings and really makes you think about what is important in life. I have read thousands of books and this tops my list no questions. It is definitely worth the money. The way she ties in all the books and characters is an added bonus ! My new favorite author !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Zelda

    Thank u very much im 10 ok she smiled at saere hello

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Saere

    Hides in Zelda's shirt, scared of everyone else

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Chloe

    She pulls up a fluffy magenta thing up. It was connected to a light pink pony, with a magentq tail and mane. It had blue eyes, and a blue balloon, and two yellow balloons on her flank. "Pinkie Pie Pony!"

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Sparkleheart to dragonear

    Meet me at my slavery books and take me out o the cage to excersize

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Emberclaw

    Hry

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Silvermoonstar

    "We wanted to."

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Warriorkit

    Ok. Teach me.........

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    BAZINGA!!

    Sheldon's AWESOME! But Raj is my favorite character - me and him, we're both from India! Best country in the world!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    River

    Darkfire lets go *she pushes him out of the clearing

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Hellfang

    Everyones at school or scared to come on.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Amberpelt

    I need a mate

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3