Customer Reviews for

Light in August

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book!

My first time reading a Faulkner novel but it will not be the last. This book is just so wonderful. Lots of symbolism. I would say this book is not for the impatient reader, but it makes you realize how some author's
are really light weights. I would most surely r...
My first time reading a Faulkner novel but it will not be the last. This book is just so wonderful. Lots of symbolism. I would say this book is not for the impatient reader, but it makes you realize how some author's
are really light weights. I would most surely recommend this for book discussions. I really enjoyed being in the old South!

posted by bookwormcf on September 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I made it out alive

I picked this book out to read for a term paper because I'd heard many positive things about Faulkner and how enduring and amazing his writing was. We had months to read the book, so I didn't rush through it. I tried to enjoy the novel. Note the key word of 'tried.' ...
I picked this book out to read for a term paper because I'd heard many positive things about Faulkner and how enduring and amazing his writing was. We had months to read the book, so I didn't rush through it. I tried to enjoy the novel. Note the key word of 'tried.' There is nothing to this book but Faulkner making up adjectives and turning the book's most violent figure into a victim, at some points seeming to beg for pity for his character. A lot of points seem kind of random. The book itself isn't hard to follow, but either Faulkner shouldn't be hailed as a master or this book should not be hailed as a masterpiece. Given the choice I would avoid this book at all costs, and when I finally finished the novel I felt as though I'd been saved from drowning. The rest of my class seemed to enjoy their books and even their papers thoroughly. I will not be reading anything written by Faulkner for at least many, many years.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Wonderful book!

    My first time reading a Faulkner novel but it will not be the last. This book is just so wonderful. Lots of symbolism. I would say this book is not for the impatient reader, but it makes you realize how some author's
    are really light weights. I would most surely recommend this for book discussions. I really enjoyed being in the old South!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    I made it out alive

    I picked this book out to read for a term paper because I'd heard many positive things about Faulkner and how enduring and amazing his writing was. We had months to read the book, so I didn't rush through it. I tried to enjoy the novel. Note the key word of 'tried.' There is nothing to this book but Faulkner making up adjectives and turning the book's most violent figure into a victim, at some points seeming to beg for pity for his character. A lot of points seem kind of random. The book itself isn't hard to follow, but either Faulkner shouldn't be hailed as a master or this book should not be hailed as a masterpiece. Given the choice I would avoid this book at all costs, and when I finally finished the novel I felt as though I'd been saved from drowning. The rest of my class seemed to enjoy their books and even their papers thoroughly. I will not be reading anything written by Faulkner for at least many, many years.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    OVERRATTED

    I thought this book sucked. It is 507 pages long and on one short paragraph on page 471 you find out what the light in August is. Also he constantly uses the 'N' word!This was one of the most boring books I have ever read. Faulkner went on and on talking about nothing! Except a girl and her baby's daddy. This is the worst classic I have ever read. It was just four good short stories combined together in one uninteresting book.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    not his finest, but still excellent

    Though complex, this is a very approachable book, far from the modernist experimentation on books lik As I Lay Dying or The Sound and the Fury. A book about race but the character has so little black blood that he can easily pass. Yet his profound secret makes him restless and violent accepted by neither blacks nor whites. The other story in this novel is that of a strong young Alabama woman pregnant and abandoned by her one night stand. Faulkner creates a strong female heroine unencumbered by either the social dogma of unwed pregnancy or her gender in a time when society would assign her the role ou outcast. Although their stories overlap only in the father of the baby, their stories combine to show a changing South the violence to come from those who hold to the established structure of Southern culture and the forces that will destroy this culture quiet soon. Well worth reading both for those well acquainted with Faulkner and for those waiting to fall in love with his page-long sentences, his profound descriptions, and his heartbreaking picture of a flawed yet beautiful time that will soon end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Not so horribly bad

    To be honest, when I entered into my sophomore year at High School I didn't understand the meaning of a "difficult read" until I met Hawthorne and Faulkner. This book is definitely not for the "faint at heart" because it is a difficult read. What I liked about it was that it actually made me think and the complexity of the characters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Light in August: Hardly a 'light' summer read

    Light in August is in no way for the faint at heart. It is threaded with very deep characters and often the direct themes can be hard to see. For all of its complexity, it recounts a thought provoking tale of a deep southern society scandalous, racist, yet full of austerity. Anyway, as a student, I would highly recommend reading this with editorial notes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    Long-winded

    For all his genius and skill, Faulkner's prose in _Light_ is largely repetitive and tiresome. The flashes of insight and beauty that occur in this book are astonishing, but too few and far between, with a great deal of padding filling out most of the book. The characters are memorable and well-rounded, and Faulkner tells a good story, but I was skimming over many of his (purposefully?) convoluted, inscrutable sentences.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Equal opportunity Faulkner

    The first Faulkner book I ever read was The Sound and the Fury. The cover said he was brilliant, and my creative writing teacher at that time argued much to the same. That book confused the bejeezus out of me, and I had to read a review, mch like this one, to find out what the book was actually about. Light in August is such a delight, in that it is easy to follow (for a Faulkner novel, anyway) and expresses so well, and so cosmically the inner workings of the human psyche, from abuse and religious zeal, to naivete and the kind of hope that drags one pregant woman across countless miles to find the man responsible. Full of murder, comedy (slight, anyway) and pitch perfect illuminating prose, Light in August is probably one of the most approachable Faulkner books, and certainly one of the most redeeming. It'l break your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2003

    Great Work

    This is my first Faulkner book that I have ever read. I really enjoyed this book. I feel that it teaches you alot about what the times were like when this book was written. Many people that I know who have read this book told me that I would really enjoy it. I did not beleive them at first, but after I got into that book I really could not put it down. Best work that I have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    GOOD BOOK BAD BINDING

    Faulkner captures the isolation, lonliness, and confusion of the south, post civil, war by embodying them in each of his main characters. I STRONGLY recommend this enlightening book. My only complaint was the binding of the book fell apart within a two months of purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    Best Faulkner Novel

    I have just finished the Light in August and I felt this is the best Faulkner novel that I have read. This is a great book for someone that likes to read and not stop. I felt that you were always waiting for what would happen next. I will warn you that be aware of the chapters about a quarter of the way through where you go back to Joe Christmas as a child. I got a little confused but it will only take you a few pages to get back on track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2000

    ugh!

    Okay, maybe the symbolism escapes me or something, but this book isn't that good!! I read it for a class over the summer and it really isn't good!! sorry if you like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    Faulkner nails it

    This is the Faulkner for anyone who threw The Sound and the Fury across the room in disgust. What a genuine creation this novel is -- its bluntness would shock and astonish modern readers if they would only read it. Joe Christmas is one of the most subtly wrought Christ figures in literature. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2