Customer Reviews for

A Light in the Attic: Special Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    gift for beginning reader

    I bought this book for a relative in first grade who had just started to read. I figured that most of the poems would be above her reading level, but they would be fun to listen to and would inspire her to learn to read them herself. It was received with great enthusiasm.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    review

    I think a light in the attic is a great poetry book and Shel Silverstein is an awesome poet. His books are great for kids and really bring out your imagination. Shel¿s poems have many lessons in them but he shows them in a funny ways. For example in the poem ladies first there is a little girl that wants to be first at every thing then every one gets kidnapped and is going to be eaten by a cannibal named Fry-em up Dan and the little girl runs up and says ladies first. The lesson in this poem is to not always want to be first. My favorite poem is ¿Homework Machine¿ I think its funny how the kids spend so much time making a machine and when they try it doesn¿t work I think his illustrations go great with his poems. His illustrations show the funny things you would think of after reading his poem, for example in the poem ¿Wild Strawberries¿ his picture has a strawberry with big pointy teeth. I think A Light in the Attic and all the rest of Shel¿s poetry books and would recommend them to everybody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    A Light in the Attic

    A Light in the Attic is a great poetry book for young kids. It has great pictures to help young readers understand the poem. Poems by Shel Silverstein portray hidden messages and tell great stories. She uses a lot of ironic, clever ideas to describe what is happening in his poems. A good example of this is a poem called ¿Hammock¿ that tells the reader how a boy¿s grandma sends him a hammock and the good lord sends the breeze, but he only has on tree. The poem ¿Stop Thief¿ he uses the title of the poem so literally in the illustration about the poem. The picture shows amazed when somebody stole his knees, but he can¿t chase the guy who stole hi knees because he¿s afraid hi feet and legs just won¿t connect. The poem ¿Surprise¿ is about everywhere his grandpa goes he sends a different animal. Like his grandpa goes to Myrtle Beach and the boy gets a turtle. My favorite poem is called ¿Hiccup Cure¿ I like this poem because it says you have to do all this crazy stuff to get rid of the hiccups. When the person is done telling him what to do he still has the hiccups. While reading this poem I made a connection because I know a lot of people that get the hiccups and they bug them so much. I think kids will like this book even more if they have to do a report on it. All of Shel¿s books are so hard to put down because you get so hooked on the first poem you just keep reading and reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I purchased this book for my 9 year old grand-daughter. She loves poetry, and this is the 2nd book by Shel Silverstein that she owns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     Shel Silverstein is the best poem writer I have ever read.If yo

     Shel Silverstein is the best poem writer I have ever read.If you read
     A Light in the Attic you will just want to keep on reading.
    Not only does he have a way with words but also with pictures. His pictures are all had drawn with just a pencil and go with the poems.
     A lot of his poems connected to me and my experiences in life, but are also very fun and interesting to read.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    So many of these I don't remember. But remember reading all the

    So many of these I don't remember. But remember reading all the same. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Wonderful poems. Short structure with deep impact. This poem is

    Wonderful poems. Short structure with deep impact. This poem is good for reading to the children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Ever pleasing

    I first gave one of Shel Silverstein's books of goofy kid poems to my young nieces many years ago. What I liked about the poems was they often featured a bit of sedition, about kids that wanted to eat the wrong food or run away from home or pick their nose, etc. Other poems were about goofy people. Others were just silly or absurdist. Kids love this stuff! Now I am working on the next generation and I give these books to the children of nieces, etc. The books continue to be big hits. Read the poems to/with kids, and just listen to the squeals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    A great classroom book.

    I remember my teachers in school reading story after story from this book from preschool all the way up until middle school. Some of my fondest elementary school memories are from this book. Everyone can find a story that they can relate to in this book. It is a treasure to have around and definitley worth passing down to the younger generations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Awesome book!! You should read it too.

    A Light in the Attic is the first poetry book I ever read. I really enjoyed it!! All the poems were full of expression and very, very thoughtful! Shel Silverstein is not only a great writer but also a great cartoonist, the book is full of amazing and very funny drawings. It was very difficult to decide which poem was my favorite, I seemed to love them all. Kids my age(8)should never miss a book like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Super Awesome and Fun!

    The poems of A Light in the Attic are a lot of fun. Some of them are laugh-outlout funny. My favorite poem is "Shaking" because it is about making a milkshake by shaking a cow. I think kids and adults of all ages would really love this fun poetry collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Loved it

    If you have to read poetry book then read A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein. It is funny, hilarious and different. It is like reading a joke book but in poetry. Each poem in the book tells a story or a point but with a funny twist to it. Like the babysitter who thinks she has to sit upon a baby. Another poem is Prayer for a Selfish Child where the author changes a nightly prayer to that of a selfish child praying for his toys to break so he doesn't have to share with others. My favorite poem is Turtle. It is about a turtle that doesn't eat and doest move. I won't say the end or why but you will definitely laugh. So if you want to laugh and think and have to read a poetry book this is your answer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    You must read this book! Great for all ages.

    A Light in the Attic Book Review

    I really like this book for many reasons. It was funny because the author sometimes used words that are not in the dictionary. The author exaggerates when he writes the poems and makes them sound silly. I also liked it because he used words like "Exactlywatt" and "GooLoo". Reading some of the poems makes you imagine and wonder if it did happen or could happen. Some of the poems do not make sense, like " missing your knees" or "having green chest hair". My favorite poem was "How not to have to dry the dishes" it rhymes in a creative way. I recommend this poem book to everyone of all ages.

    Hope you like it!

    Emily Billoch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Daniel

    I think that book is funny and understandable for children. I think that Shel Silverstein is one of the best authors for children's poems. The poems always made me want to keep reading. The book also made me want to read more of his books. Everytime I am bored I always read those poems. My favorite poem is somethings missing. I like it because the funny part is that he has no underwear that's what I like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    highly recommended for children

    I thought the poetry book A Light in the Attic was funny. It was funny because of the words and actions, and I really liked that some poems rhymed a little. The poem Something Missing is about a boy that thinks he is ready but forgets his pants at home. I learned to never forget anything at home and to always double check everything. For sure I will never forget my pants at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    A Great Book for Everyone

    I love this book and I enjoyed reading it. My favorite poem was Spelling Bee. I think it is funny. I liked the drawings, specially the Spelling Bee one. The book was great and funny. There were all kinds of poems in the book. Another poem that I really liked was Stop Thief because it said someone stole his knees which is impossible. I do recommend that you buy this book and keep it safe, so you can read it whenever you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    I like it!

    I read A Light in the Attic, by Shel Silverstein. I am 8 years old and I liked the book a lot. It was funny and very interesting. The poems were short and with lots of illustrations. All the poems were very good. There were some that I did not understand at the beginning but then I was able to understand them. I enjoyed this book and I thank my teacher for asking us to read poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Very funny, enthusiastic book to read

    A light in the Attic takes children to an adventurous new world. It helps kids to understand the meaning of the word Poem. It also helps children to learn how to rhyme word by word. Every poem has a different kind of theme for kids. My favorite part of the book is learning new words. When a new word came to my mind from the book, I was so intrigued to find out what the meaning was so I can understand the poem.

    I love the book and I hope others that read it likes it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Favorite

    This has always been one of my favorite "children's" books. I really don't think that it's just for kids. Grown-ups can enjoy it too. Personally, highly recommended more than the other two in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    For grown-ups too!

    I actually bought this book for my fiance. He had mentioned liking it as a child and it was a pleasant surprise for him on Christmas. It's a classic and a book we'll save to give to our kids one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6