Customer Reviews for

The Light in the Forest

Average Rating 3
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

okay

this book had alot of adventure. the only thing is was that it was sad. the indian boy got taken away from his tribe. this was sad because he had een with the indians for so long they were his family and no one was gong to take thatr away from him thats for sure.this bo...
this book had alot of adventure. the only thing is was that it was sad. the indian boy got taken away from his tribe. this was sad because he had een with the indians for so long they were his family and no one was gong to take thatr away from him thats for sure.this book is good but i loved the adventure but nt so much the sadeness.

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay book

Some parts are interesting while other parts are very boring. My whole grade had to read this book...during class I found myself not paying attention. The ending is the most interesting part. The beginning for me was hard to understand until later in the book and I got ...
Some parts are interesting while other parts are very boring. My whole grade had to read this book...during class I found myself not paying attention. The ending is the most interesting part. The beginning for me was hard to understand until later in the book and I got most of it. Overall, it's an okay book. I wouldn't really reccomend it for someone, though.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    okay

    this book had alot of adventure. the only thing is was that it was sad. the indian boy got taken away from his tribe. this was sad because he had een with the indians for so long they were his family and no one was gong to take thatr away from him thats for sure.this book is good but i loved the adventure but nt so much the sadeness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Okay book

    Some parts are interesting while other parts are very boring. My whole grade had to read this book...during class I found myself not paying attention. The ending is the most interesting part. The beginning for me was hard to understand until later in the book and I got most of it. Overall, it's an okay book. I wouldn't really reccomend it for someone, though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Awesome!

    I am reading this in my GT class in school (6th Grade). I think this is an awesome book so far. I highly recommend this to everyone! This book has incredible literature and so far its has made a change in how I see life or in other words my perspective in life. Conrad Richter as many of you know is an INCREDIBLE author and probably gave the best classic read I have had in a long time so, thank you Conrad! This is a story for ALL ages... but, I would recommend to wait until 10-12 for the reason of some referments such as scalping and tomahawked and other killing words. Otherwise, totally worth buying!!!!! :) PLEASE READ!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Great Read!

    This book is not for you if you like fast moving plots. This book takes it time and really explores the relationship between whites and indians from both prospectives. The writer really makes you think about human relationships between races and family ties on both sides, and proves family ties can be difficult no matter if the people are black, white, red hispanic .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Intresting, the beggining was hard to understand and had no plot

    Intresting, the beggining was hard to understand and had no plot what so ever. The middle to ABOUT the end the book wasn't hlf bad. At the ending the protagonist does the right thing and suffers for it . At the end he is kicked out of his indian tribe and disowned by his fake family and now he is in the wild somewhere probaly to get eaten by a bear very soon! This book is a DO NOT BUY. This could be a stocking stuffer for someone you dispise or a christmas grab bag gift. I would probaly have read a book about lamas taking a dump!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    It would be a good book for little kids.

    This book was about a boy named John Cameron Butler.John is a white boy.His adopted father is a great Indian warrior.He named his adopted son,True Son.True son grew up to think,feel,and fight like a true indian.When True Son turned fifteen he had to go back to the white man.He loved to be an indian.He didnt wont to go back.This would be a great book to read to little kids about whites and Indians.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Decent Book

    This book was a pretty good book ,but the middle seems like it goes on forever. The books ending was realy suprising. Overall this is a real good book for a person who like adventure such as my self. The book is a book any body that like a good imagination should read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    Good book

    I had to read this for an English assignment, and surprisingly I actually liked it! The book lets you into the feelings between the whites and the Indians. I would have never thought about reading this if it weren't for my project. This book is great if you want to know about what the realtionship was like between the Indians and whites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    My review

    It is a very good book with well devoloped characters. It is a good historical fiction book for almost all ages. The story is about a 15 year old Indian captive that is returned to his white family. The main character is well devoloped and you can really get a good idea on how he feels and reacts to different situations without becoming too predictible. Conrad Richter keeps a good plot line and setting. The only thing that I found to be a little bit confusing is the way some of the sentences are written. They sometimes seem to end before he is done actully explaining. He keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. The overall story is well written and devoloped. It is a good historical fiction book that shows how it must of felt for the true captives that were being taken away from their families.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    Horrible

    I had to unfortunately read this book for an English assignment. The plot made no sense and the characters were just plain stupid. Suffice to say this book is a waste of your time and money. I highly recommend to NOT BUY THIS BOOK!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    okay

    My whole grade has to read this book. At first i thought it was interesting but, the middle gets a little too descriptive and boring. During the end it gets real good and emotional. Thats where the climax is... :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Loved it!

    I loved the book. My whole class read it for a book report. My whole class loved I recommed this book to everybody! it is amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    Worth re-reading

    I read this book many years ago and, while in the process of doing some historical research, I was reminded of the family that was highlighted in this book. If you like early American history of much of Pennsylvania, this book is well worth reading again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Lightening

    He smells flowers. Heads to flower res one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Miles

    Yrp ......*slips past u and rund to res 30

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Angel

    Wat does he mean love two people

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Jake

    Falls to the floor. Im going to bed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Kiley to miles

    *holds u up* miles u aint going to die! My friend cant die!! Oh and did u know me and aiden r dating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Megs

    YOU WOULDNT UNDERSTAND *logs off*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Mistypaw

    Freepaw, For what its worth, I think Fawnheart chose the wrong guy." She meows.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5