Customer Reviews for

The Light in the Forest

Average Rating 3.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

okay

this book had alot of adventure. the only thing is was that it was sad. the indian boy got taken away from his tribe. this was sad because he had een with the indians for so long they were his family and no one was gong to take thatr away from him thats for sure.this bo...
this book had alot of adventure. the only thing is was that it was sad. the indian boy got taken away from his tribe. this was sad because he had een with the indians for so long they were his family and no one was gong to take thatr away from him thats for sure.this book is good but i loved the adventure but nt so much the sadeness.

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay book

Some parts are interesting while other parts are very boring. My whole grade had to read this book...during class I found myself not paying attention. The ending is the most interesting part. The beginning for me was hard to understand until later in the book and I got ...
Some parts are interesting while other parts are very boring. My whole grade had to read this book...during class I found myself not paying attention. The ending is the most interesting part. The beginning for me was hard to understand until later in the book and I got most of it. Overall, it's an okay book. I wouldn't really reccomend it for someone, though.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Awesome!

    I am reading this in my GT class in school (6th Grade). I think this is an awesome book so far. I highly recommend this to everyone! This book has incredible literature and so far its has made a change in how I see life or in other words my perspective in life. Conrad Richter as many of you know is an INCREDIBLE author and probably gave the best classic read I have had in a long time so, thank you Conrad! This is a story for ALL ages... but, I would recommend to wait until 10-12 for the reason of some referments such as scalping and tomahawked and other killing words. Otherwise, totally worth buying!!!!! :) PLEASE READ!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Great Read!

    This book is not for you if you like fast moving plots. This book takes it time and really explores the relationship between whites and indians from both prospectives. The writer really makes you think about human relationships between races and family ties on both sides, and proves family ties can be difficult no matter if the people are black, white, red hispanic .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Loved it!

    I loved the book. My whole class read it for a book report. My whole class loved I recommed this book to everybody! it is amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    The kit

    Her blue eyes widen as she stares up at brushdawn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    HollyFrost

    "Until then," she mewed, "may I humbley ask to join ForestClan again?" The black she-cat's frosty-blue eyes closed as she bowed her head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Brushdawn

    His eyes twinkle friendily. "Hello, I am Brushdawn, who might you be?," he gazes down at the kit, smiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Brownfur

    May I be deputy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Leafstar - All

    [Okay. And me either so it's okay anyways.] She padded to her den. <p>
    OOC - I am grounded from my NOOK for a week! I'm sorry :( But I'll be back! Please advertise and keep Forestclan alive until I am back! Thank you all sooo much! <p>
    &hearts , Leafstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Lightening

    He smells flowers. Heads to flower res one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Angel

    Wat does he mean love two people

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Jake

    Falls to the floor. Im going to bed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Kiley to miles

    *holds u up* miles u aint going to die! My friend cant die!! Oh and did u know me and aiden r dating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Megs

    YOU WOULDNT UNDERSTAND *logs off*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Mistypaw

    Freepaw, For what its worth, I think Fawnheart chose the wrong guy." She meows.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Amazing

    This is a wonderfull book, it's very interesting and there is a lot to analyze, i would recommend it to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Wonderful!

    I love this book!It is uterly riviting!!! I couldn't put it down... if you don't like to read get it on tape because you just have to experience the adventure and danger concealed within each precious page. As a writer I must say this has inspired me in my own novels. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    The light in the Forest is a great book!!!

    ~I think The Light in the forest is the best book ever!!!! Eneybody who hasn't read this book should! I really enjoyed reading it and it only took me 5 days to read it soo....... if ur interested take the time read this book trust me you'le really enjoy it!!!!~sincerely shorty~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    All about light in the forest

    'The Light in The Forest' is a book about a young White boy from 18th century America who was born as a "frontier child" but was then stolen by Indians when very young and brought up as an Indian for ten years. His Indian name is True Son, and his white name is John Butler. When he is about 15 years old, he is forced to go back and live with his real White family. He is devastated because he was brought up to hate the Whites, and now he is being forced to live with them and to practice their culture. At first True Son refuses to comply at all with the Whites and tries to escape. After a while, and after spending much time with the Whites though, it seems that True Son is beginning to accept and become used to their culture, and is starting to lose his Indian ways. It looks as if all of the Indian in him has been run over and destroyed, when one night, he finds his old Indian friend / cousin and escapes with him from the Whites to a long journey back home to his old Indian town. It seems now that all the Indian he left behind has been renewed to him and most of what the whites forced into his head is gone when, with little warning, True Son must make a life-altering decision that will decide his fate, and that will decide what culture he is to live with. I really enjoyed this book; it showed the conflict between whites and Indians in 18th century America very well. It was filled with action and adventure, and although short, it still developed the characters and the plot so that you had a broad understanding of what kind of decisions this young man had to make, how it must have been like being bounced from culture to culture (especially in that day), and how hard things must have been in general. This understanding of the character is what keeps you reading and keeps you itching to find out where fate will put John Butler/ True Son. I would recommend this book because of these reasons, and because of the way the author attacked the overlying conflict between Whites and Indians: he spoke of it from both the White's and the Indian's sides. Because of this the reader can understand the conflict from both sides, and can not easily pick a side to support, which made things interesting. Lastly, in my opinion, this book is quite unpredictable, and you can't tell how it will complete itself until the very end, which made the book more fun to read. If you enjoy history, and adventure you will probably enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2002

    pefect book may this is a good source of reading .......

    HI I AM ANNA , I AM GOING TO HS I AM 13 YRS OLD THIS BOOK WAS GIVEN 2 ME WHILE WE WERE DOING A PROJECT THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER ....BYE 4 NOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    Another great Conrad Richter book!

    Richter has a way of transporting you back to the time-frame of this story. The view of the Indians and White Settlers of the same situation is well done by Richter. Enjoyed this easy-to-read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2