BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Light in the Window (Mitford Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    A Very Bright Star

    First, I'd like to say that I found no 'cafeteria Christianity' in this book. The story was enjoyable and had very meaningful substance, something I think we all need to read more of. This particular story shows that there is a purpose for everything, even though we don't always realize it right away! The book is eloquently written by a wonderful wordsmith. This writer highly recommends! At least to me, the essence that reverberated in my mind depicted a 'contending for the faith' in the sojourn of life. The undertone inherent within the pages carried much weight in my humble opinion. Anyone who is a genuine seeker of meaning in their life, this is your stop. If you are a joyless searcher for joy, then I invite you to read this novel and find some.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    Don't Miss the Point

    Jan Karon's books by her own words are 'bathed in prayer' because the main reason she writes is to show a life where God is included as a main character to every line. If you miss that point, you have missed the whole point as far as I am concerned. I find her books warm, caring and most of all true to the scriptures they try to employ in their plot. Re-read with that in mind, if you missed the point the first time

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Love This Book

    I received the first book in this series as a Birthday gift. I really enjoyed reading pleasantly surprised the characters are warm and extremely funny. Looking forward to Book 3. This is a Christian writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FAMILIARITY BREEDS PLEASURE

    John McDonough is Father Tim. He has narrated all of the Mitford series books and is a treasure. As many know, quite often the scenes center on his fictional church or the choir. A veteran of the Glimmerglass Opera Company, he sings the hymns himself which is an extra treat for listeners. When one voice actor has read all of the titles in a series, that performer has created a strong connection to listeners. Thus, just as listening to another story of Mitford is enhanced by its familiarity so hearing John McDonough's narration stirs feelings of comfort and recognition. McDonough describes his first reading of a book as being ' like the first listening of a piece of music.' 'You have to be completely free,' he said. . 'As you read and think about the piece, you hear voices, and it starts to take on life.' How fortunate for all of us! In this, the second installment of the popular series, Father Tim has just returned from a vacation - his first in over a dozen years. While he enjoyed the respite he is a bit anxious to come home and see his neighbor, Cynthia Coppersmith, a woman with whom he thought he had an understanding. He's perplexed by what he perceives as her coolness and a bit agitated when a widow in his congregation sets her sights on him. The church has undertaken the building of a care center and an unexpected visitor arrives, evidently for an extended stay. Life goes on in Mitford as listeners renew acquaintances with some of the townspeople and once again are charmed by the fictional community. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    Great Book...

    For someone to say this book is boring because the lead characters are romantically interested and 'in their 80s, which is gross' - well that comment is gross because it's immature and silly. First of all, they're in their 60s - and life isn't over at 60. Yes, the whole book has a romantic tone to it, because the book and indeed the series, is about a simpler life, where smaller things are paid attention to and important. This book is a refreshing change; from someone like myself who loves thrillers, mysteries, sci fi, I also appreciate the slower pace and simplicity that this book offers, which does not equate with 'not interesting'. The characters are well portrayed and comforting. It's not going to be everyone's cup of tea, certainly, but I think many people find that Karon's simpler Mitford has its nooks and crannies to explore, and amusing small-town drama that is just as important to these characters as ours is to us. Great book for those who like a gentler tone every now and then - or all the time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    I Love Mitford!

    I have read 5 out of 9 books in this series. When I finish the last book the first thing I will do is rush out and buy the entire series. Then I will never buy another book in my life (except for a few books on my NOOK) because there will be no room in my bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this series.

    This series is off my beaten path and I think that's why I'm enjoying it so much.I love getting to know all the people.Nice relaxing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    I loved it!

    I thought this book was very sweet and endearing. It is a perfect companion to the first book. I was so glad to see all of the returning characters as well as some new ones. I cannot imagine giving this book a bad review because I had not read the first one and did not recognize the characters as some others have done. A book from a series should not have to reintroduce everyone again. That is sort of the point of a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    2nd of Mitford Series

    A Light in the Window is the second book out of the four in the Mitford Series. I really didn¿t like this book because I didn¿t understand it. I didn¿t read the first one is probably the main reason why I didn¿t understand it. A lot of people say Jan Karon is a good author. Mitford is the town where the story takes place. Father Tim is having troubles in this novel. His neighbor Cynthia is a children¿s book author and goes to New York for a seminar. They like each other but Cynthia wants to get married and that scares Tim. They play love games and it is gross because they are in their 80¿s. They should have gotten married in their 30¿s instead of waiting for something to happen later on in their lives. The book is a lengthy 413 pages so you start to lose interest somewhere around when Father Tim¿s long lost cousin Meg from Ireland comes in. She is a waste of time in the novel, all she does is sit in Father Tim¿s quest room all locked up doing nothing at all. She is not an interesting or important character, she just takes up a lot of time and pages in this novel. Dooley is a little boy that was introduced in the first novel and grows up in this novel. This novel really has no humor or mystery. It is a typical romance story. I think people should ONLY read this novel if they have read and understood the first of the four, since this is a continuation from the first. If you like romance books then you should read this one. I f you read the first one and this one too, you should read the other two. I¿m more of a mystery type of person. A Light in the Window was boring to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Like Coming Home

    Reading Jan Karon's work is like coming home to a firelit cabin, wrapping yourself up in a worn quilt and letting go of all of the cares of the world. Positive, uplifting and inspiring. She is a gift from God and I love the Mitford series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Very Disappointing

    I found this book to drag on and on...and the format was very choppy. The number of characters was over done. I have read Cold Sassy Tree and it was a warm trip back in time. I normally read mysteries, but felt that this would be a wonderful break because of the reviews by others. Not so for me. After 4 tries I was finally able to finish the book. It was so painfully boring...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2001

    a 12 year old ametuer writer and book fanatic

    I absolutely loved this book! I love the pastoral setting and i especially love the chapter 'More than Music' with Timothy and Cynthia's letters to each other. I think it gives the book a personal touch. I love Miss Sadie. She reminds me of my great grandmother who died 3 years ago. If you havent read this book, read it. If you already have, read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    Another Great Jan Karon book.

    If you love the Mitford series as much as I do, you will, no doubt, love this wonderful book. Karon hits us with a double whammy of humor and not so humorous situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2000

    A 'Homey' Read

    Entering the town of Mitford made me want to have a cup of tea and start a fire. For those of you wanting a break from a cruel world, enter Karon's beautiful Mitford with quirky characters that touch your heart and make you never want to leave. This is a sweet, loving novel...something you don't read very often anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3