Customer Reviews for

Light on Snow

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the Finest Books of today

Some reviewers here must have missed all the lovely images and themes in this wonderful book (I listened to the audio cassette). The story starts off with a bang, and is told in the viewpoint of Nicky, the daughter. It develops realistically, as Nicky and her Da...
Some reviewers here must have missed all the lovely images and themes in this wonderful book (I listened to the audio cassette). The story starts off with a bang, and is told in the viewpoint of Nicky, the daughter. It develops realistically, as Nicky and her Dad deal with the situation. Light on Snow can mean so many things - think about it and read it again.

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Take it or leave it

It was an easy read but not nearly as good as The Pilot's Wife. Very anticlimactic.

posted by Buhrowgirl on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    One of the Finest Books of today

    Some reviewers here must have missed all the lovely images and themes in this wonderful book (I listened to the audio cassette). The story starts off with a bang, and is told in the viewpoint of Nicky, the daughter. It develops realistically, as Nicky and her Dad deal with the situation. Light on Snow can mean so many things - think about it and read it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Wonderful

    I recently found Anita Shreve and her books and I have read a few. This one does not disappoint. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Take it or leave it

    It was an easy read but not nearly as good as The Pilot's Wife. Very anticlimactic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Sidesteps the main point

    Although I usually enjoy this author, Light on Snow left me feeling manipulated. Fascinating premise - How could any mother DO that ?! - but this question is made irrelevant as Charlotte is innocent of fault except for naivete. Total copout on Shreve's part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Beautifully Written

    Honest, clean, visual, believable. Good solid writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Much Enjoyment!

    A smart, thoughtful and deeply feeling work. I loved reading this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    So Real

    Anita Shreve has done it again! This suspense filled book kept me reading for hours a day. The whole plot was full of excitement. Anite Shreve did a wonderful job of making the book come to life and making me feel as if I were really there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Not what was expected

    This book ended up being a bit of a let down. It was ok but for the most part I kept reading and reading hoping something big would happen, but it seemed as if it should have been a short story instead of a full novel. It was a long account of what a boring life the father and daughter live offering some emotion but in the end there was no real point to the long story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Spiderkit

    Bye.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Great read

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Unique

    Such a beautifully written and unique book about hope and humanity. Really loved the gorgeous prose and mood of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Lovely

    Story of love, and what it can ultimately cost. One of her best books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Very interesting story

    I feel like I want to know what happens after the end of the story but it is still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Good book

    At first you're not sure where the book is going but it's a good character piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I really loved this book, once I started it, I couldn't put it down...I finished it in just a few hours. I love that it's told from the view of the 12 year old girl and you get to see things as she saw them. I liked that it wasn't a typical plot, you don't often read books about a father and his 12 year old daughter, living alone, sort of in seclusion due to the father's internal conflicts after losing his wife and other daughter, stumbling upon an abandoned child in the woods. I loved getting to know Charlotte's story and seeing how everything played out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Don't waste your time on this one

    This is a poor book written by a good writer. I have read all of this author's books. This one is mundane and boring. The plot is weak and the ending weaker yet. Catherine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    book turner

    i read this a couple years ago and i couldnt put it down i would read it for hours straight. the story is sad and the book keeps you guessing. i deff recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Great Character Story

    This was somewhat of a sad story, but one that a great ending and a good message. Anita Shreve writes so well, that you could just feel the cold of the snow and the winter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Another great Anitaa. Shreve!

    This story is touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    A good book- you will like it!

    This was a good book, you will enjoy it. The story is about twelve year old Nicky and her father. They find a baby in the snow near their house and the mother comes to find them. A good book. I really wanted to be Nicky's friends. Nicky lost her sister an mother when she was young. Nicky is trying to hold it together. I like this author and I will read more books by her. You will like this author! I also like the covers of her books. You won't be disappointed in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6