Customer Reviews for

Light on Snow

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the Finest Books of today

Some reviewers here must have missed all the lovely images and themes in this wonderful book (I listened to the audio cassette). The story starts off with a bang, and is told in the viewpoint of Nicky, the daughter. It develops realistically, as Nicky and her Da...
Some reviewers here must have missed all the lovely images and themes in this wonderful book (I listened to the audio cassette). The story starts off with a bang, and is told in the viewpoint of Nicky, the daughter. It develops realistically, as Nicky and her Dad deal with the situation. Light on Snow can mean so many things - think about it and read it again.

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Take it or leave it

It was an easy read but not nearly as good as The Pilot's Wife. Very anticlimactic.

posted by Buhrowgirl on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Sidesteps the main point

    Although I usually enjoy this author, Light on Snow left me feeling manipulated. Fascinating premise - How could any mother DO that ?! - but this question is made irrelevant as Charlotte is innocent of fault except for naivete. Total copout on Shreve's part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was like reading a Lifetime Movie Novel

    The story is good but incredibly depression. A Father and Daughter, while taking their usual hike near their home, in the snow, in freezing temperatures, they find a newborn baby still with a cord, wrapped in a sleeping bag. The mother of the baby then shows up again after a few hours and they harbor her for 48 hours. The daughter is the typical 12 year old who knows nothing of consequences of adult decisions and makes it hard not to want to strangle her during her protests. Ultimately, it ends and it "appears" all will go well but I was disappointed that the author would stop her story right when we were trying to recover from the depression throughout the book.

    The other book I read from her was Body Surfing which also was a let down cuz of the lack of end to the story but I thought I'd give her another chance. I was wrong.

    The book isn't awful but it wasn't good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Don't waste your time!

    Juvenile at best¿this was a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    Wanted more...

    I was a bit disappointed after finishing Light on Snow. I thought the story was weak and unimpactful compared to some of her other novels that I've read. It is good for a casual read, but I would definately not call it 'enticing.' I expected a bit more out of Shreve, but also understand the importance of an author to create different 'types' of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Great beginning

    I began reading this book in the store and got hooked! It grabbed me when the baby was found in the snow. However the middle and the end dragged on and on. I finished it because I thought there would be a good finish, but their was not. I thought there should have been a revelation about Nicky's mom passing away since the author kept reverting back to the past. Anyway I am giving this book 2 stars because it got boring about half way through and lacked a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    Not one of Shreve's best

    I was really excited about reading this book because I have loved all of Anita Shreve's previous titles. But, this one was very slow starting and I just couldn't get into it. Eventually, I had to just stop reading it. Maybe it got better as it went.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    Agree with Snow Job reviewer

    I've enjoyed almost all of Anita Shreve's books but who wrote this book? I buy her books in big part just to read her prose which in this book is lacking and the story is lame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    Very disappointing

    I am a huge Anita Shreve fan and have read all of her books. I was eagerly awaiting this one, but I have to say I was very disappointed. It seemed as if she just slapped this book together without any thought whatsoever. I don't recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Written for a young audience

    I am an avid fan of Anita Shreve, but this book was a disappointment to me. It seems as if it would be most appropriate for a much younger reader. I think younger teens might enjoy it. I was amazed at the lack of character development, and when I opened the book and saw the huge font, I realized this was going to be a different experience than others of Shreve's offerings. I really liked 'The Weight of Water,' but I was never a fan of 'The Pilot's Wife.' I think Shreve is a very good writer, but her books are of uneven quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Disappointing ending

    So far, I haven't been a big fan of Anita Shreve, but while I was reading this book, I was thinking, this is a good book. At the end, however, I was disappointed. I feel like it ended very abruptly. I don't feel like there was closure of any kind. I feel like the author just stopped. I think that there were several issues that I still needed resolved. I really believe that it would have been a great book if it had a complete ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1