BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lighthouse Nights

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Simply amazing

Dark yet heart warmingly beautiful, LIGHTHOUSE NIGHTS takes readers on a journey that leaves them breathless. Five stars. Absolutely FLAWLESS.

posted by 14001635 on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was okay. I found it lacking a certain amount of depth. Also

It was okay. I found it lacking a certain amount of depth. Also, one has to suspend reality a bit to really get into the story. I think that the teenage audience would probably be really fond of this story.

posted by 18343530 on November 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Simply amazing

    Dark yet heart warmingly beautiful, LIGHTHOUSE NIGHTS takes readers on a journey that leaves them breathless. Five stars. Absolutely FLAWLESS.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    Demanding a Sequel!!

    This book gets a 5 because yet again, Jake Vander Ark has managed to leave me speechless. When I read the synopsis for this book, I thought to myself,"There is no possible way he can swing this story and not have it turn out badly! The subject is so taboo, that everyone avoids it or slams it. People will never be receptive to this type of thing." I thought that surely I was going to have a hard time swallowing this book, and admittedly, it was a rather hard read for me at first. For as long as I can remember, Suicide has been a dirty word, and I'm sure it always will be. It happens all the time but we try to rationalize it away because it makes us uncomfortable and we want to forget. It has personally touched me in many a different way and I was afraid that my personal views were going to prejudice my opinion of the book. Turns out that it didn't. This book didn't glorify suicide, it just made you look at it in a different light. A realistic light. One that doesn't try to sway you. It just is what it is. I commend JVA for taking on something so touchy. He walked us through quite a few different perspectives in the course of this book and they all were relatively spot on. For instance, I had to choke down the douchebaggery that was Trevor, the psychopath, and remind myself that he was fictitious. He seriously needed to see the inside of a gas chamber. Just sayin'! Jules - that poor girl - was horribly broken and insecure. She was the typical battered woman who hung on to a dream that was never going to come true. Trevor preyed on her just like all the others he victimized. Constantly kept her down and doubting herself and he used her love for him as a bargaining tool. It was disgusting and so realistic. I didn't really like Jules till the middle of the book. She was an enabler and had little to no respect for human life. She was self destructive until she met Gabe. Gabe was her respite. A place for her to be free of all the stress and death in her life - a place to blossom. I'd venture to say he was the only good thing in her life, ever. Gabe saved her and she destroyed him. She did redeem herself later on however and I just fell in love with her. Gabe was probably my favorite character in the book. Even when he face dove into prickville, I still loved him. I don't think that he could have been a greater character, honestly. :) As for the book as a whole, I LOVED every single minute of it! So dark and sinister and just twisted - it was almost like an adult Alice in Wonderland but instead of chasing the white rabbit, they were chasing the lives of others. It makes me shiver just thinking about it! I strongly encourage EVERYONE to pick up this book and be open to not only the story, but to the people within it. You just may know an Emma or John or Blake and this book could be the reason you listen, when you might otherwise have not. Just think about that!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved this story!! After I got past the lack of con

    I absolutely loved this story!! After I got past the lack of conventional capitalization, I was drawn in and hooked.

    This story is written in a way that is unique, twisted, and dark in its examination of suicide, as compared to the few young adult books that only scratch the surface, or focus on one voice at a time. It doesn't condemn suicide as you would expect from a young adult novel, nor does it glorify it. This story simply approaches it differently - providing a more realistic view.

    We are treated to multiple voices in this story, that all work together to flesh out details that a limited POV would be unable to provide readers. These three characters, along with a few minor characters, were so fully developed for such a short story, which was very impressive and satisfying.

    A dark read that will give you chills and simultaneously tug on your heart strings, I highly recommend this story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Amazing

    Twisted page turner! I had to read it twice in a row it was so good. Once you get past the lack of capitalization, it is the best book I have ever read. I am 21. Perfect for this age range. I recommend this book to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book! It was my first time ever reading

    I absolutely loved this book! It was my first time ever reading Jake Vander Ark but after reading Lighthouse Nights, I am so thrilled to read more by him! I was entranced by the entire plot as well as the detail that he goes in as he creates the characters. I can honestly say at no point could I predict the outcome of the book. 5 stars! Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Well written, alive

    I was tempted to delete this book right from the start, seeing as there are no capital letters at beginnings of sentences as well as heading proper nouns, but the first words just draw you in. So well written, it thoroughly compensates for the speck of error.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Dark

    What a wonderful read!

    It is a dark subject but the author makes up for it with memorable characters.

    I do hope to read MORE from him.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    I am amazed at the high level of character development in such a

    I am amazed at the high level of character development in such a short book. It was an absolute page turned with a pretty unique storyline. It's funny, I just finished a 300 page novel before I read this that I really couldn't care less what happened to the characters because they were faceless, by chance I read a 117 page book and become completely absorbed into the characters. Although the grammar here and there could use some work in this book, it really was refreshing to read something you just can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Omg amazing

    I loved this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    IMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!

    folled ya

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1