Customer Reviews for

The Lightkeeper's Ball (Mercy Falls Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Real Page-Turner

This book had me quickly flipping through the pages. There are so many mysteries introduced one right after the other. I thought I had things figured out but was mistaken at the very end. What is ironic is that two people have the same doubts and same questions they ...
This book had me quickly flipping through the pages. There are so many mysteries introduced one right after the other. I thought I had things figured out but was mistaken at the very end. What is ironic is that two people have the same doubts and same questions they are seeking answers for. Trust is broken by two people by uncontrolled circumstances. You start to think that maybe things just aren't going to work out for Olivia and Harrison. Be prepared to be shocked.

posted by Jenluvz2read on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Idiots!!!

Why in the world would you complain soooo much about how retarded plot spoiler reviews are? Most people rely on those reviews becuase, in case you hadn't noticed, the book overview doesn't give very much info. Not to mention the fact that the reviews that simply say "lo...
Why in the world would you complain soooo much about how retarded plot spoiler reviews are? Most people rely on those reviews becuase, in case you hadn't noticed, the book overview doesn't give very much info. Not to mention the fact that the reviews that simply say "love book- buy it" don't really help if the overview says "book on murder." As far as I'm concerned, let em go ahead and "spoil the book". If you don't like it, DON'T READ THE FREAKIN REVIEW!!!!

posted by wldhrsjen3 on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Real Page-Turner

    This book had me quickly flipping through the pages. There are so many mysteries introduced one right after the other. I thought I had things figured out but was mistaken at the very end. What is ironic is that two people have the same doubts and same questions they are seeking answers for. Trust is broken by two people by uncontrolled circumstances. You start to think that maybe things just aren't going to work out for Olivia and Harrison. Be prepared to be shocked.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. It had a wonderful combination of s

    LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. It had a wonderful combination of suspense,
    romance, faith and courage. I have enjoyed the other two in series
    however loved this one the most.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Collen Coble has done it again!

    Colleen Coble's third venture into historical romance and mystery in the California coastal town of Mercy Falls is as intriguing and entrancing as her first two ventures. I tend to read Ms. Coble's novels straight through without putting them down and have yet to be disappointed by any of them. I have thoroughly enjoyed each one of the 'Lightkeeper's ...' series.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    If you love mystery, suspense, love stories with clean language this is your book. If you love time period books, this is your book. This book kept me interested, the characters were well thought out, and the story flowed well.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Colleen has done it again.what an exciting fast pace book! It will keep you guessing right until the end. Thought I had it at one time, but was wrong. Olivia is one tough Lady! Don't want to give things away, but you wonder how New York socialite Olivia Stewart survives.
    This book is a great page turner! Loved the Historical aspects of this story....using Haley's Comet. You also add in aeroplanes, disasters, and murder! Great descriptions of the 1910's era!
    What a great movie this book would make. This is the third book in the series, but it can be read alone with no problem.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another hit from Colleen Coble!

    Can an arranged marriage bring love? The year is 1910, and Olivia Stewart's sister, Eleanor, has gone off to marry a wealthy man in hopes of securing her family's future. But, when Eleanor drowns before she is married, that obligation falls on Olivia. With her father and sister dying under mysterious circumstances, Olivia needs to be careful, especially after almost drowning herself. Harrison Bennett is the wealthy man Eleanor was supposed to marry, and the one who rescued Olivia from drowning, but what is he really like? Did he have anything to do with the deaths of her father or sister? Olivia sets out to discover the answers, finding love along the way, even planning the "Lightkeeper's Ball" to help replace things damaged by a horrible storm. What will become of Harrison and Olivia? Will she find the answers she is looking for?

    Colleen Coble has once again drawn me into a story with a compelling storyline and wonderful characters. There are many twists and turns along the way, but I found them realistic and fun to follow. I loved the "frontier" feel of the book, with early trains, boats, and planes. This is a great book to read alone or in a group because you will want to talk about it with others. Thank you to Book Sneeze for my copy and the opportunity to write a review. I recommend it to all.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    A Definite Page Turner!!!

    Normally, this is not the type of book I would pick up and read. Now that I have, I am glad that I took the time to investigate and give the book a chance. The Lightkeeper's Ball is a phenomenal read. It has everything you would want in a book... a historical angle interwoven in mystery, romance and a "I did not see that coming" conclusion to the story. I ended up starting the book at 6 p.m. and did not put it down until I finished it. I am excited that I found a new author and genre of books to read. I would definitely recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Why do these idiot people read the long review when they know it

    Why do these idiot people read the long review when they know it will give away the plot? And then complain
    about it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Idiots!!!

    Why in the world would you complain soooo much about how retarded plot spoiler reviews are? Most people rely on those reviews becuase, in case you hadn't noticed, the book overview doesn't give very much info. Not to mention the fact that the reviews that simply say "love book- buy it" don't really help if the overview says "book on murder." As far as I'm concerned, let em go ahead and "spoil the book". If you don't like it, DON'T READ THE FREAKIN REVIEW!!!!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    The Lightkeeper's Ball by Colleen coble

    Olivia Stewart goes west to California because of the mysterious death of her sister. She was engaged to Harrison Bennett. Olivia is expected to marry Harrison Bennett who she believes killed her sister. Olivia goes to Mercy Falls as Lady Devonworth. She has many near death experiences. There is someone who is determined for her not to find the truth about her sister. She hates and fears Bennett but she finds he is not the man she thought he was and falls in love with him. What happened to her sister and what will happen when she finds her true identity at the Lightkeeper's Ball?

    I recommend this book.



    Thomas Nelson provided me with a copy of this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Another religious Daily Find

    Here we go again.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gorgeous Cover and Fantastic Book!

    This book not only has one of the most gorgeous covers I have seen in awhile, it also has one of the best plot lines of the books I've read so far this year. I love Colleen's style, the way she develops her characters so beautifully, puts them in a setting that is so realistic that I feel like I'm there and then she artfully weaves story lines around the characters as she melds everything together. In this particular case Olivia is a strong heroine that wants justice for her sister and sets out to make things right and find out who murdered her. The very man she holds responsible creates a puzzle for her as she starts to doubt his guilt (and then slowly falls in love with him). She finds that she is in grave danger herself and whoever murdered her sister isn't done yet. What a great book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Good book to read

    I enjoyed reading this book. A good mystery that keeps you reading to the end. By the way, if you don't like spoiler reviews, don't read them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    L

    To those of you smarting off saying dont read the plot spoilers.... its a little hard when you sight read and you have to scroll thru the loooooong posts telling every detail. You inevitably end up seeing something no matter how hard you try not to. To solve the problem, STOP THE PLOT SPOILERS THEN NOONE WILL SEE THEM!. Problem solved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Love blended with mystery and suspense

    It took me a long time to start it, but when I started, I couldn't keep off myself from reading it! It is very easy to follow, but very exciting too.
    "The Lightkeeper's Ball" by Colleen Coble is the third book of the series and it's a romance blended with mystery and suspense. You can see how the hate between the young man and woman turns into very strong love (although this happens somehow quickly). While sharing the deep emotions of the two young people, you also feel the horror, because there is a bad guy who consistently tries to kill this woman for the sake of revenge and money. And of course the love always wins as the woman is saved by her lover, her hero every time she is in danger. I like that it's hard to guess the bad guy. There are many options, but none of them comes true, the real one is a surprise!
    This is not a pure romance, but it has some religious points. The book emphasizes the strength in faith and God, but not too densely. When viewed from this aspect, we can say the book is also about the journey of the protagonists in search of themselves, their personalities. Also, whenever Olivia is in danger, she learns that God hears her voice, which can be interpreted as the miracle of the God.
    I truly recommend this book. Now, I'm very curious about the other books of the author.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Right amounts of mystery, suspense and romance

    Olivia Stewart's mother is getting her to marry Harrison Bennett for financial reasons. The Stewart family used to be wealthy and distinguish but unknown to many, their wealth is nearly gone. Now, they are dependent on Olivia's marriage for financial security but there's a problem. Olivia's sister, Eleanor, was engaged to Harrison before she died. There are rumors that her death was no accident, that it was brought about by either suicide or murder. Olivia intends to unravel the mystery of her sister's death before committing to marrying Harrison, the man who she thinks might hold the key to the mystery. There were right amounts of mystery, suspense and romance in The Lightkeeper's Ball to keep a reader continually turning the pages. Colleen Coble cleverly weaves the story in such a way no one will suspect or guess who the murderer is and readers will never know the truth behind the murder mystery until the final chapters. The Lightkeeper's Ball is the third book in the Mercy Falls Series and it can be read as a stand-alone. There is hardly any hint that this book is part of a series and nothing in the story relies on previous incidents from the other two books. I thought that it was strange that Harrison could propose to Olivia without knowing her first name. Men don't propose to women with just knowing their titles but not their first names! Also, Olivia was dodging many of his personal questions and it's a wonder that he could propose to a woman who did not trust him with certain necessary personal information. Overall, I had a fun time reading The Lightkeeper's Ball. I like the way the story alternates between focusing on Olivia and Harrison. It was good to be able to read their different perspectives and thoughts on the various situations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent continuation of the Mercy Falls Series.

    Another excellent book in the Mercy Falls series that Colleen Coble has made famous. Her books never disappoint her readers. They only add to their love of reading her spiritually based books. As with most of our lives, if we turn to God in times of praise as well of times of problems that we need helped with, our life's' pressures are eased tremendously. Mercy Falls is in a picturesque seaside location in California. It has a lighthouse that has safely guided many ships from the rock bound coast. When a storm completely disables the lighthouse by ruination, that particular area becomes a huge danger to ships that are expecting the Mercy Falls Lighthouse, manned by Will and Katie Jesperson, to show them the way around the dangerous rocks, unaware that the lighthouse was out of commission. Olivia Stewart is a member of the rich and famous Stewart family but few knew that the family was having a financial crisis with the money becoming scarce. Olivia's sister, Eleanor Stewart, had been engaged to Harrison Bennett, also a member of a wealthy family, but she was found dead and the cause of death was thought to be suicide. But the Stewart Family, especially her sister Olivia, did not agree with the cause of death. Olivia traveled to the Mercy Falls area to attempt to find the real cause of her sister's death. An attempt was made on Olivia's life making her all the more sure that Eleanor did not commit suicide. Olivia made herself known as Lady Devonworth thinking that she might get better assistance if they all knew of her as someone not in the Stewart Family. When the lighthouse was destroyed, Lady Devonworth made plans for a masquerade ball to raise money for the much needed lighthouse. She found a letter telling her mother that Harrison Bennett was a dangerous man and to stay away from him at all costs. Naturally Olivia (Lady Devonworth) met Harrison and as time went on she could not see how this man could kill anyone. She became cautious but there seemed to be a flame there between Olivia and Harrison. Several other attempts were made on several lives including Olivia's. There are several twists and turns that only enhance the story that take the reader deeper into the mystery-taking place in the area. One part of the story has Harrison taking Lady Devonworth flying in his aeroplane that crashes because of some sabotage on the fuel line. They are both safe except for some cuts and bruises and a badly sprained ankle for Lady Devonworth. They crashed far away from civilization so they had to find a safe spot to stay the night, which, of course Olivia knew would tarnish her reputation being alone overnight with Harrison. All this did was make the two of them fall in love more deeply. They are rescued and yes, the lady's reputation was tarnished even though they both knew nothing went on inappropriate. But Olivia still could not tell Harrison who she was in fear that he would bolt from her life. I don't want to ruin the plots and sub-plots in this magnificent story. You must read it to thoroughly enjoy this new book of Colleen's. I highly recommend it. It has romance, mystery, cunning acts by several you don't expect them from, and a wonderful trip to the past with some great characters.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2015

    Lighthouse series

    If you would like a mystery that is Christian based this series is for you. I was kept reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Awesome!

    This is a GREAT book! Recommended for all ages. Although I have read the other books in this series, I got to say this one is my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    First off, I absolutely LOVE the cover. Seriously. Whenever ther

    First off, I absolutely LOVE the cover. Seriously. Whenever there’s a discussion about pretty covers, this one comes to my mind first. I did a Cover Focus on it awhile back too! And it contains a great story. There were a few scenes that I can only describe as heart-melting – so sweet, and I loved them. Mystery and excitement abound in this book, making it a page-turner the whole way through! It’s a memorable read – I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5