Customer Reviews for

The Lightkeeper's Ball (Mercy Falls Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Real Page-Turner

This book had me quickly flipping through the pages. There are so many mysteries introduced one right after the other. I thought I had things figured out but was mistaken at the very end. What is ironic is that two people have the same doubts and same questions they ...
This book had me quickly flipping through the pages. There are so many mysteries introduced one right after the other. I thought I had things figured out but was mistaken at the very end. What is ironic is that two people have the same doubts and same questions they are seeking answers for. Trust is broken by two people by uncontrolled circumstances. You start to think that maybe things just aren't going to work out for Olivia and Harrison. Be prepared to be shocked.

posted by Jenluvz2read on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Idiots!!!

Why in the world would you complain soooo much about how retarded plot spoiler reviews are? Most people rely on those reviews becuase, in case you hadn't noticed, the book overview doesn't give very much info. Not to mention the fact that the reviews that simply say "lo...
Why in the world would you complain soooo much about how retarded plot spoiler reviews are? Most people rely on those reviews becuase, in case you hadn't noticed, the book overview doesn't give very much info. Not to mention the fact that the reviews that simply say "love book- buy it" don't really help if the overview says "book on murder." As far as I'm concerned, let em go ahead and "spoil the book". If you don't like it, DON'T READ THE FREAKIN REVIEW!!!!

posted by wldhrsjen3 on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Entertaining and good look at the early 1900's in California.

    This was an easy read, but very entertaining. I couldn't figure out who was the villian till almost the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    Coble writes a good story. Nice romance without being mushy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    A true mystery! I've read mysteries all my life and seldom have

    A true mystery! I've read mysteries all my life and seldom have I not figured out who the "guility party" was. This one did right up until the author disclosed it. This book will keep you engrossed until the very last page. The Lightkeeper's Ball takes place in the last part of last century. The characters in this story face a variety of challenges from loss of fortune, murder of a loved one, attempted murder of another, suspicions, broken trust in others, romances, faith and doubts...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Littleluluf

    Gr8... :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    anyone wanna talk

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    P

    Z4 1$20

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Dbv.bmmnxnmm ?

    NkhhmmmkreZojzZkhfmjjk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a romantic mystery chartered to become a best-seller and MUST READ!

    Eleanor hated the water. She couldn't even swim and stayed as far away from it as she could. That's why Olivia Stewart could not accept her drowning was an accident. She receives a prophetic letter dated a week before Eleanor's death and feels she must investigate Harrison Bennett, who was to be Eleanor's new husband in an arranged marriage.

    If only Olivia had received her sister's letter a week ago, perhaps she might still be alive. Just what role did Harrison Bennett play in her sister's death?

    Feeling the pinch of her family's financial position brought about by Olivia's father who died in African diamond mine cave in and now her sister accidental death, if she doesn't marry into the proper blue blood family, their fortune secret will be revealed and destroy their reputation among societies elite.

    Aboard a ship bound for the west coast, Olivia finds herself pushed into the dark ocean water by a stranger lurking in the shadows. Plucked from the freezing waters of the ocean by none other than Harrison Bennett, who she hasn't seen since she was a child. Taking on the name, Lady Devonworth, Olivia will use that identity to get to know the real Harrison Bennett, without being swayed by his handsome good looks, wealth, and charm like her sister Eleanor was.

    When a lighthouse home that Olivia was staying in collapses during a violent gale, she feels responsible to help with the rebuilding efforts since the Bureau of Lighthouses is lacking in funding. Especially since becoming friends with the owners, Will and Katie Jesperson and their adorable daughter, Jennie. Olivia decides to host a fundraising ball, "The Lightkeepers Ball" at her fathers mansion, Stewart Hall, that he built 4 years ago in Mercy Falls, California.

    Yet what she learns of the true character of Harrison Bennett will forever alter the course her life is chartered towards and will put her life at risk more than once. Will she too become a victim of some unfortunate accident just like her sister Eleanor?

    I received the book, The Lightkeeper's Ball by Colleen Coble, compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest review and must say I was captivated by the mystery surrounding the death of Eleanor and what it will cost Olivia in the end. This is a must read romantic mystery set among the rocky coast line of the Pacific, where each page with leave you breathless and truly wanting more.

    This is book three in the Mercy Falls series of books by Colleen Coble, with The Lightkeeper's Daughter and the Lighthouse Bride preceding this one. If you love a bit a mystery to your romance novels, then you will definitely want to pick this one up. It's great as a stand alone or to read as part of the whole series. This one definitely charted a 5 out of 5 stars!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Olivia Stewart has always had her name, in fact she was often wondering if her name was the only thing that attracted her friends to her, and she was sure that was why most men wanted to court her. Marrying a Stewart was a boost to any man's business and life. So when her father suddenly died, and the money dried up, she didn't really know why, but knew that her mother was pushing her to make a good marriage. Olivia just wanted to marry for love. When her sister who was engaged to Harrison Bennett was found drowned in Mercy Falls California, Olivia knew that something was wrong. Eleanor was scared to death of water and would have never willingly went into water, no matter how distressed she was.
    Traveling to California under her title, Lady Devonworth, Olivia wanted the anonymity to explore and investigate why her sister suddenly died, she also wanted to meet and get to know Harrison Bennett, since her mother was pushing her to marry him in her sister's stead. What she didn't know was whether or not she could trust him. Another thing she did not count on was being attracted to him. After arriving in California, several odd accidents to herself, leaves Olivia wondering who is trying to kill her, and why did her sister believe that their father was not dead. There is something wrong and Olivia must get to the bottom of it all, before she is killed.
    I absolutely enjoyed this book, I read it while sitting in a waiting room, and was so disappointed when the person I was waiting for came out before I finished the last chapter, I had to read it the minute I arrived home. Definitely a great suspenseful story! I was so shocked when I got to the end finding out who was behind it all. Great story! 304 pages US $14.99 5 stars.

    This book was provided for review purposes by TBB Media, no payment was received for this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action and Mystery Infused w/ Romance, Edge of Your Seat to the End

    After reading The Lightkeeper's Daughter I was in love with both the residents of Mercy Falls and the town itself (for the most part anyway). Coble's villains in all three books did their job well and the red herrings planted along the way were so enticing and believable that I never suspected till the final clues revealed the identity. Since these books all take place in Mercy Falls and occur in chronological order it is best to read them all in order since some recurring characters are introduced early on. However as standalones each title functions independently. Due to not having the first book available for a quick refresher reading this third title I was able to assess it as a standalone despite having read its precursors. Olivia Stewart has just lost both a father and a sister the latter death announcement to Olivia and her mother opens the story. The suspicious circumstances lead both to believe an accident or suicide are neither one plausible. Since the only remaining option is foul play someone must determine the truth. Since her father's partner in a diamond mining operation overseas insists that they will only be given rights to half the production of a second mine if his son marries into the family, Olivia is instructed she must marry her dead sister's intended for the sake of the family finances. Olivia is adamantly opposed to a marriage of convenience and being desired only for her status or wealth. As such she decides to visit Mercy Falls incognito to not only find out what really occurred the day she lost her sister but to observe the man everyone wished her to marry. Along the way to solving this primary mystery Coble throws a few more wrenches into the works which may all somehow intertwine yet several of them still mislead our heroine and her friends. Though this novel is a romance at its heart, Coble has woven a plot free of many predictable devices commonly found in this genre. Interspersing a fair amount of mystery and suspense not only keep the story "flying" but hook the reader into a book they won't want to put down. The faith elements are incorporated naturally into the character development and not thrown in the reader's face. On top of all the rest Coble manages to incorporate enough action scenarios with the natural flow of the plot that these stories are far from a typically sweet but relatively stagnant romance novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Great read!

    The cover for this book is so pretty-the dress on the front cover is gorgeous-and it's actually one of the reasons I decided to choose this book. I really enjoyed reading it as well. The characters were great, the setting was easy to get into, and the plot was intriguing. The first chapter or two seemed a little slow, but the rest of the story's pace is fast, and the mystery is wrapped through all of it. I really like the historical facts that were added in, but not in a "show not tell" way, and added to the story. I would definitely say this one is a good read, especially for anyone who likes to read historical fiction and mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Mystery and Romance

    The Lightkeeper's Ball by Colleen Coble is set in 1910, an evolutionary time in America. Olivia Stewart, an heiress, travels to Mercy Falls, California, disguised as Lady Devonworth from New York, to uncover the identity of her sister Eleanor's killer. She suspects the murderer is Harrison Bennett, Eleanor's fiance through an arranged marriage by their fathers. Through twists and turns, clue by clue, the author leads the reader to the truth.

    Although this novel is the third in the Mercy Falls Series, it stands alone. It is labeled as a Christian Romance, but I believe it should also be listed as mystery and suspense. I enjoyed the history of this book and the many situations lived by these characters which include the earthquake and Great Fire of San Francisco, the invention of the aeroplane, automobile, women's rights and the personal struggle of freedom and reputation, African diamond mining, and the attempt of the wealthiest Americans to maintain a lifestyle they could no longer afford.

    As I read this book, there were several points I thought I had Eleanor's murder solved. The next chapter's clues revealed my suspicions were incorrect. A great mystery writer has the talent and ability to bring the reader to the end of the story to reveal every detail and not before. Colleen Coble is such a writer. If you enjoy mystery intertwined with romance, you will want to read The Lightkeeper's Ball by this talented writer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Lightkeepers Ball

    Eleanor Stewart leaves her home in New York to marry Harrison Bennett, but when her mother gets word that Eleanor is dead, a drowning no less, Olivia, Eleanor's sister thinks something isn't right, her sister was afraid of water so why would she have drowned. She thinks the fiance might have had something to do with it and decides to take hop a ship to Mercy Falls to get some answers. When she is pushed off the ship before arriving at Mercy Falls she begins to think someone is out to get her. The man that saves her turns out to be Harrison Bennett, but he has no idea who she is because she is using the families formal English title of Lady Devonworth. As the story unfolds its obvious that Olivia's life is in jeopardy, can she figure out the truth before its to late?
    The author weaves together suspense, romance, action and mystery along with several plot twists which held my attention until the final pages as I tried to guess who-dun-it. While there is a definite christian message it isn't preachy or overwhelming.
    While I enjoyed the mystery in this story, but the historical flavor of the book was what drew me to the story, that and the beautiful cover. Sometimes you can judge a book by the cover, and this one is a real winner!
    Even though this is the third book in the Mercy Falls series it can easily be read as a stand alone work, I didn't read the first two and had no problems jumping right into this story!

    rating 5/5
    I was provided a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Romance, Mystery, Suspense

    I chose this book because I thought it would be your typical historical fiction; I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the pages held so much more than that.
    When Olivia Stewart learns that her sister has died after moving across the country to marry, she sets out on a journey to Mercy Falls, CA to see where her sister lived and died. What she finds when she gets there is beyond anything she imagined; as she learns details about the circumstances surrounding her sister's death she begins to question whether it was an accident, suicide or murder. As she spends more time with her late sister's fiancé she becomes more and more confused about what happened. Little by little she learns more about her family, her sister's death and family member she never knew existed. Will she ever find out the truth? And will she give in to true love.
    The Lightkeeper's Ball is a tale of romance, suspense and mystery that keeps the reader fully engaged in the story and eager to turn the next page. Just when I thought I had it all figured out, a new piece of information was revealed that totally threw me for a loop. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading other books in the Mercy Falls series.
    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Delightful Read!

    I've never heard of the author Colleen Coble until I picked up this book and I'm very happy I did. She is a fantastic author! This book, The Lightkeeper's Ball, has a little bit of everything, romance, mystery, suspense, and action. Colleen Coble weaves these elements and history together so nicely that it was very hard for me to put this book down. Colleen Coble gives much attention to detail and I was never left feeling if certain events did or could really have happened. Even though this book is the third in the Mercy Falls series it was still easy to read and get into the characters even though I haven't read the previous two books, which I will be doing now!

    After Olivia's sister dies she must decide whether to take her sister's place in society. Before doing so she travels to Mercy Falls to investigate the suspicions surrounding her sister's death. She meets her sister's fiancé, Harrison, and discovers that her sister's death was no accident. While at the ball Olivia discovers secrets about her sister and will Harrison discover who Olivia really is? And could her really love her?

    This was a delightful book to read and I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a historical/mystery romance novel to read.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <[...]> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <[...]> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    The Lightkeeper's Ball by Colleen Coble

    Hi there! I just got a new book from booksneeze- "The Lightkeeper's Ball" by Colleen Coble. I want to tell you something though before I get started- because of some long legal thing, I'm under no legal obligation to give this a positive review. Translation: I don't have to say I like it. So whatever I say is how I really feel. Now, let's begin. I like Colleen Coble's work- I only own her book "Anathema", which as my first novel by her, and it was fantastic. So my expectations for this was very high. "The Lightkeeper's Ball" meets all of them and then some. This book, the third installment of her "Mercy Falls" series, is about young heiress Olivia Stewert. Her family is one of the wealthiest families in the country- or they were. Now their wealth is almost gone and the security of the families future lies on the daughter's ability to marry well. Whis is where Olivia and her sister, Eleanor, step in. But under mysterious circumstances, Eleanor dies and it's up to Olivia alone to restore her family. She is chosen to marry, but she flees to Mercy Falls under a long-forgotten family name to find out more before marrying. There she finds out more than she bargained for. When Mercy Falls host a charity ball, secrets will be spilled and truths will be revealed. What lies in store for Olivia and her fiancee? You'll have to read more and find out. I would recommend this book to any historic or romantic fanatic:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging historical mystery

    In 1910, the Stewart family is one of the upper crust Four Hundred who own New York City High Society. Olivia Stewart rejects the notion of a marriage of social convenience, but knows she needs an excuse to escape the pressure from her family. Her alibi is not what she would have wanted, as her sister Eleanor died in Mercy Falls, California.

    Olivia heads to Northern California to investigate the death of her sibling; her only suspect is Eleanor's fiancé Harrison Bennett. Accidents begin to hamper her progress starting with nearly drowning in San Francisco Bay; her rescuer is Harrison. As she begins to believe someone is trying to kill her, she changes her mind that Harrison is a killer. He, in turn, has good cause not to trust a Stewart though he is attracted to the sister of his late fiancée at a time when Olivia turns to Harrison to keep her safe.

    The third Mercy Falls romantic suspense (see Lightkeeper's Bride and The Lightkeeper's Daughter) is an engaging historical mystery as Olivia wonders whether the man she has fallen in love with killed her sister and wants to murder her too though he did save her life several times. The story line is fast-paced while enabling armchair readers to feel they are in northern California a century ago. Although the killer's motive seems extremely weak, readers will enjoy Colleen Coble's entertaining early twentieth century tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3