Customer Reviews for

Lightning Strikes (Hudson Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Poor editing skills

    Whoever ghost wrote the last half of this book made so many grammatical errors I almost stopped reading it. Just awful, every line started to have errors. Using 'me' for 'the'. Very hard to read after awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Im om the third one now and i rwally dont want to spoil it!! So ima guna bite my tounge OoO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Rain

    It is shocking what Rain has to go through in the ghetto with her loving family. She has to grow up quickly than other girls her age because she has to take care of herself and her younger sister Beni Arnold. One day her mother tells her a secret that she has kept from Rain her entire life and Rain wishes that her mother had never told her the secret. Rains life totally changes because she has to go live with the wealthy Hudson family, and at first her grandmother does not like her because she is black! Rain starts to attend a very expensive school with other rich white kids and thats were she discovers her true talent, also thats when she falls in love with a boy named Corbette Adams who plays a role in the school play as George Gibbs and Rain plays the role as Emily Webb. The night after the school play the sparks begin to fly between Rain and Corbette! When the night has ended Rain regrets what she has done with Corbette because when they go back to school he treats her differently as if he got what he already wanted. When Rain thought things could never get worse something so tragic happens and it breaks Rains heart! The relationship between Rain and her grandmother is bonded so tightly Rain realizes it does not matter were she came from its the person she is, that her grandmother will always love her because she has the Hudson blood running through her veins!

    Hopefully someone who has NEVER read V.C. Andrews book ibrecommend that you read the Hudson series first and if you like the series you should read the rest of her amazing books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Moonstar

    I wonder if he thinks about me anymore... thi is not th first time a mat has forgotten about me. Soaringgull...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    good

    well u deffnatally haff 2 read the whol searies 2 understan its a great searies about a young girl who lived in the getto times were diffucult and her sister was murdered by a gang and after that her momther said the heck with this and told rain the truth about rains real mother...read the books 4 the rest :) ull like them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Perfect

    Rain is finally recognized by her grandmother and is sent abroad to England to a prestigious school of arts. Rain isn't allowed to tell the people that she's living with that she is related to them. Rain meets a guy, falls in love, then has her heart broken. The usual, but this book had so much substance because Rain is such a strong character. The ending of the books leaves you really want to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    Great book!

    I loved this book! It was awesome and a bit scary all at once. Once I began reading it, I could not put it down. I had been waiting on this second book in the series, because after I read 'Rain' I was hooked. I most definitely reccommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    I just can't get enough...

    Omg... i jus began reading V.C Andrews books a few months ago and I began with Rain, omg it was incrediable, n Lighting Strike was amazing, so well written, V.C. Andrews knows how to set a mood, and create the setting as if you were the one in the book. A truly incrediable writter i can't wait to read the 3rd book in this series.... Andrews your great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    THIS BOOK WILL STRIKE YOU

    This was so shocking and breathtaking I was so upset when her grandmother died that was only person who really believed in her. It made me feel real bad for Rain when her own mom doesn't love her, she just pretends like she doesn't exist. But this book will surprise you in every different way you will feel the same emotions that the characters are feeling. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    EXCELLENT

    RAIN WAS A GOOD START OF ANOTHER ONE OF V.C ANDREWS EXCITING SERIOUS. I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THE NEXT BOOK (WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES). I CAN HARDLY WAIT TO READ THE ENTIRE SERIES. THIS IS THE FIRST SERIOUS I EVER READ BY V.C. ANDREWS THAT INVOLVED AN AFRICAN AMERICAN. I AM ELATED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    I love this book

    This book was very good. Everytime that there is another book that comes after one in a series, they only get better and better. This one grabs your attention and it just makes you want to tear up when the character does. It's like automatic, she crys and so do you and when she laughs, so do you. It is awesome!!!! I like that V.C.Andrews is the best author ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2002

    its good

    ok...i never ever read books..but i bought this book on a trip cause i was extremely bored! but once i start reading it i couldn't put it down..i'm a slow reader so it took me 2 weeks to read it..it was kinda scary sometimes..gave me a little goosebumps..but its all good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    If you enjoyed the first Hudson book (Rain), you'll surley enjoy the sequals behind it! There is never a dull moment in this book.

    Thrills, chills and romance are all combined in 'When Lightning Strikes.' But Rain is still losing her dignity day by day and becomming a little whore by spreading her legs and not using her mind and just being plain stupid by letting the lil' gay azz Singing white boy have some of her puzzy and plus the other Rich white boy in VA and even her own 'brother'. When is this dumb Ho goin 2 learn say NO? I bet she is going to catch some Vaginal disease. She might as well become a prostitute rather than an actress. The thing about her is that she tries to make herself look all innocent and perfect but she is FAAAARR from that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2001

    I was hooked!!

    After the first book 'Rain' I just had to read the next one. I thought this book was excellent. I couldn't put it down. You can't read just one book; you have to read the whole series. I mean, you just get hooked and can't get enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    One of the Best

    Lightning Strikes is a great book. I've read the entire Hudson series and I loved them all, this is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    Lightning Strikes (Hudson Series #2)

    I loved this book, I love the way it was written. It was full of events and they were always happening, it was a very energetic book. She found so many events wrapped up in her words. You really need to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    Lightning Strikes (Hudson Series #2)

    This book was wonderful, i loved it! The whole thing with 'great-uncle Richard, was kind of weird in a way. I cant believe he got those girl pregnant. And i forgot...who was it that died at the end?? Ive tried to remeber, but i cant. Oh well i guess...this book was very interesting and very well written. I loved this book, and i dont like to read much... but anything by V.C. Andrews...will make you want to read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2001

    Outstanding

    This book was one of the best books i have read so far in V.C.Andrews. It is amazing how she captures such events in her words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2000

    First Flight???I don't think so.

    I enjoyed this book. As always a real page-turner. But.....did anyone else catch that glaring continuity error between the first book and this one? Near the end of 'Rain', Rain was rushed to the airport to fly to the side of her beloved, dying Mama. At the beginning of this book she was flying (FIRST TIME TO FLY!) to England. Do we have yet another ghost writer and did he/she not even bother to read the first book? However, after i got past this i found Rain's adventures in England quite exciting. I hope she is able to return in the future. Maybe she could go by boat next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    vc andrews has done it again

    i read the book in one day. i couldnt put it down. when i was done I immediatly signed on at barnes and nobles online to get the next book and was dissapointed to find that 'Eye of the storm' wouldnt be published until Nov. 2000. that was 2 mos ago. well its here now and i cant wait to recieve my copy. im ordering today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3