Customer Reviews for

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 10685 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8084)

4 Star

(1550)

3 Star

(533)

2 Star

(178)

1 Star

(340)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

354 out of 403 people found this review helpful.

Don't let the mythology scare you off

My 9-year-old son chose this book mainly for the cool 'scary' cover. I had scanned through it and warned him that it had a lot of mythology in it and might be tough to follow. What do I know? He devoured the book in two days and loved it. He's eagerly awaiting the n...
My 9-year-old son chose this book mainly for the cool 'scary' cover. I had scanned through it and warned him that it had a lot of mythology in it and might be tough to follow. What do I know? He devoured the book in two days and loved it. He's eagerly awaiting the next in the series.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

The Lightning Thief Review

The Lighting Thief
Rick Rioradan
Hyperion paperbacks
Fantasy

Have you ever had something happen that you can't explain? That is exactly what happened to Percy in The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan when out of nowhere his evil math teacher, Mrs.D...
The Lighting Thief
Rick Rioradan
Hyperion paperbacks
Fantasy

Have you ever had something happen that you can't explain? That is exactly what happened to Percy in The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan when out of nowhere his evil math teacher, Mrs.Dodds, turns into a monster with talons. Soon Percy found out that he is a half blood and his father is Poseidon. This news came just after getting kicked out of school again, and losing his mother to a minitaur. Percy is soon rescued at Camp Half-blood and finds out that Zeus lost his master lightning bolt and is blaming it all on Percy's father Poseidon. Percy is on a quest with his friends to find Zeus's master lighting bolt. Did I mention Percy has to do this in just ten days? Go with Percy and his friends, Annabeth and Grover, through an adventure that you will never forget meeting new creatures and gods along the way.

Percy Jackson is a brave twelve year old that has dyslexia, and is about to get kicked out of school again. Percy is not the most well mannered boy, but he has a great personality and wants to prove to his father that he can retrieve the master bolt with the help of his friends, Annabeth and Grover. Annabeth is a bossy blond who is extremely wise and can occasionally be snobby. She is also a great friend and Percy and Grover can count on her smarts and wits when they need it. Grover is a shy and timid goat boy,who is very brave but his friends still think that he is a coward. Luke, Sally Jackson, Zeus, Ares, Medusa,gods, goddesses, half bloods, and all the other magical creatures are all supporting characters and help the story in their own way.

The Lightning Thief is a book that you will never forget. This book will take you on a exciting journey where you will meet magnificent creatures and gods,that are friendly and some not so friendly. This book is packed with suspense and heart pounding adventure. If you love fantasy and adventure, you'll love The Lightning Thief! It will be an adventure that will keep you reading on your toes and wanting more. I love this book and so will you.

posted by 254389 on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 10775 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 539
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Simple books, but a thrilling read nonetheless

    When I first picked up this book, I thought it would be your run of the mill fantasy series----with swords,bows,magic---blah,blah----seen that before. But when I found out that this was about Greek Mythology----I got a little interested. Then when I zipped through the first chapter(the book is real simple to read----a first grader could read it and understand it I think)I began to get a little more interested. Then, I went on to the next chapter, then the next, then the next! Until about an hour and a half later the book and been conquered and I shut it. I must say, though it was a simple and no challenge to read---- the book was good and enjoyable....FIVE STARS!!!!!!

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Fun for Greek Mythologists!!

    I thought that "The Lightning Thief" was really interesting for me because I didn't know anything about greek mythology and I learned a lot in a really fun way. I liked how the author described the gods like how they would look if they were normal people today. I also read the second book and both books always have kind of a mystery but it all ties together in the end. Percy is a lot like most kids and thinks like most kids too. WHen the prophecy said that he would be betrayed, I knew that he couldn't trust anyone which made it exciting to see who he followed. You have to get a fair amount of ways into the book in order to even get a clue on how he solves the mystery. For me it wasn't very challenging but it was a fun read. Not enough to be obsessed with it but it was good. Overall "The Lightning Thief" was really fun to read.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Best Book Ever made/written

    Gggggggggggrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr my device won't let me say 5 stars!
    Anyways, best book ever made/written. You will get through it I know it!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    OKAY BOOK. I WAS CURIOUS.

    PROBABLY BETTER AS A MOVIE.

    12 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    i love reading about greek myths

    this book is so funny. rick riordan's voice popped out at you while reading this, you couldn't help but laugh out loud. People gave me weird looks, but thats okay. rick riodan somehow pulled greek myths and put them into an ordianry boy's life. I believe it's now a Rebecca Caudill, and I loved this book. I'm just waiting for the fifth one to come out.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Only read if you know about Greek Mythology

    This book is great, but only for those of us who know a bit about Greek mythology. If you have not heard of Medusa, Ares, Cerberus, Posiden, or Orpheus, this book is probably not for you. If you have, I recomend it!

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book - A Must Read!

    The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan In the book, Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, Percy Jackson is the protagonist. He is the son of Poseidon. Percy causes trouble and gets blamed for things he doesn't do as well. Annabeth is also a protagonist in the story. She is the daughter of Athena and Percy's very brave friend. Luke is the antagonist. In the beginning he is Percy's friend, but he later turns on him. He plans to rebuild Kronos and overthrow Olympus. The plot of the story is Luke stealing Zeus' lightning bolt and blaming Percy. Luke frames Percy by putting the lightning bolt in his backpack for Percy's quest to the underworld. In the underworld, Hades thinks that Percy stole his healm of darkness so Hades tries to kill him. Percy escapes. Ares gets into a fight with Percy, and the prize for the winner is the helm of darkness. The setting is in New York, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, and Florida in present day. The meaning of the story is to be brave and have faith. I liked this story because it was about mythology. It relates to the real world because some people still believe in it and it relates to our lives because you have to open your eyes to see the world.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a sixth grade student at glendale Az

    The title of my book is The Lightening Theif by Rick Riodan. The main characters of my book are Percy,Grover,and Anaebeth. Percy is about to get kicked out of another school but he doesn't know that his father is the greek god of water Poesiden hes getting framed for stealing Zues master bolt.Grover is half man half goat his dream is to go serach for his god but he needs his searchers liscens but he failed his quest.Aneabeths dream is to go to the real world away from camp half blood.Like I said Percys father is getting framed for stealing Zues master bolt. So he sets out on a quest to find the master bolt.The setting is in Manhattan also Mount Olympus an ancient Greece the time is modern and in the past. The theme of the book is Greek. I loved the book it had all my favorites comedy,action,and a little romance. Well i can relate to having a smelly gabe in my familymy brother Mario. Also ive lost a relative like Percy.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love These Books!!!

    The Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series is amazing. I love these books, especially the first one, although The Battle of the Labryinth is my personal favorite. I was so surprised at how hillarious and creative these books were. They are absolutely amazing. They are not very long and they are pretty easy reads. Read this book!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    MY STORY FRANKY

    LAST NIGHT I HAD A DREAM IT STARTED LIKE THIS: I WAS IN MY LIVING ROOM AND POSIDEN JUST COMES IN FOLLOWED BY ZEUS I WAS FREAKING OUT BECAUSE I THOUGHT THEY WERE GOING TO KILL ME BUT THEY HUGGED ME THE END ( PICK THIS AS THE WINNER AND ILL GIVE U MY LIFE SAVINGS)

    10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    AMAZING BOOK

    I think this book is the best! There is even a movie for it! Sense im in fourth grade i am reading it were on chapter maybe 16 or 17!!! Anyway best book i ever readthats my opinion! Tap YES IF U LIKED or LOVED IT. Tap NO IF U DIDN'T LIKE IT . You'll love it!!!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    AMAZING!!!

    This book is the first of my favorite series ever!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    this is a thrilling mind blowing adventure

    When you pick it up you can't put it down! It's the best book I've ever read. It has alot of details about all the greek gods. I've never read a book this thrilling.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Greek mythology comes to life!

    This is a fantastic book, but I'd suggest brushing up on your mythology first. I really, really, REALLY loved it and read them all in a week. It's really fast paced and keeps moving.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief by Rick Rioden is truly a

    Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief by Rick Rioden is truly an amazing tale. If you have, like I have, considered reading the Percy Jackson series but haven’t you very well need to. The story takes place in eleven year old Percy Jackson’s point of view. When Percy Jackson finds his best friend is really a satyr and his real father is really Greek God Poseidon things get crazy! You will not stop laughing, gasping, and rereading!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    To the review below me

    The movie sucks compared to the book. This is one of the best books ever!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    The whole Series

    The Percy Jackson series is the best series in the world,Rick Roardan is the best kids writer ever.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    My Opinion

    The Percy Jackson series is the best.These amazing books are best of the best.In my opinion the last book is the best.There are so many books in the world,but only The Percy Jackson series is worth reading over and over.You can never get sick of these amazing books!!!!!!!!!! :)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Great book!

    I was referred to the book by a friend after reading a Dan Brown series. I was thoroughly surprised by how entranced I became while reading this book. The movie that was "based" off this book was nothing like the book. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in quest books or or Greek gods.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    this book and series rock!!!

    my teacher recommended it to me and i couldn't put it down i read it in 3 days and I got detention for it but I didn't care. it has a great story and its funny.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 10775 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 539