Customer Reviews for

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 10262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7744)

4 Star

(1517)

3 Star

(512)

2 Star

(164)

1 Star

(325)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

318 out of 362 people found this review helpful.

Don't let the mythology scare you off

My 9-year-old son chose this book mainly for the cool 'scary' cover. I had scanned through it and warned him that it had a lot of mythology in it and might be tough to follow. What do I know? He devoured the book in two days and loved it. He's eagerly awaiting the n...
My 9-year-old son chose this book mainly for the cool 'scary' cover. I had scanned through it and warned him that it had a lot of mythology in it and might be tough to follow. What do I know? He devoured the book in two days and loved it. He's eagerly awaiting the next in the series.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

The Lightning Thief Review

The Lighting Thief
Rick Rioradan
Hyperion paperbacks
Fantasy

Have you ever had something happen that you can't explain? That is exactly what happened to Percy in The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan when out of nowhere his evil math teacher, Mrs.D...
The Lighting Thief
Rick Rioradan
Hyperion paperbacks
Fantasy

Have you ever had something happen that you can't explain? That is exactly what happened to Percy in The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan when out of nowhere his evil math teacher, Mrs.Dodds, turns into a monster with talons. Soon Percy found out that he is a half blood and his father is Poseidon. This news came just after getting kicked out of school again, and losing his mother to a minitaur. Percy is soon rescued at Camp Half-blood and finds out that Zeus lost his master lightning bolt and is blaming it all on Percy's father Poseidon. Percy is on a quest with his friends to find Zeus's master lighting bolt. Did I mention Percy has to do this in just ten days? Go with Percy and his friends, Annabeth and Grover, through an adventure that you will never forget meeting new creatures and gods along the way.

Percy Jackson is a brave twelve year old that has dyslexia, and is about to get kicked out of school again. Percy is not the most well mannered boy, but he has a great personality and wants to prove to his father that he can retrieve the master bolt with the help of his friends, Annabeth and Grover. Annabeth is a bossy blond who is extremely wise and can occasionally be snobby. She is also a great friend and Percy and Grover can count on her smarts and wits when they need it. Grover is a shy and timid goat boy,who is very brave but his friends still think that he is a coward. Luke, Sally Jackson, Zeus, Ares, Medusa,gods, goddesses, half bloods, and all the other magical creatures are all supporting characters and help the story in their own way.

The Lightning Thief is a book that you will never forget. This book will take you on a exciting journey where you will meet magnificent creatures and gods,that are friendly and some not so friendly. This book is packed with suspense and heart pounding adventure. If you love fantasy and adventure, you'll love The Lightning Thief! It will be an adventure that will keep you reading on your toes and wanting more. I love this book and so will you.

posted by 254389 on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1517 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 76
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Fun for Greek Mythologists!!

    I thought that "The Lightning Thief" was really interesting for me because I didn't know anything about greek mythology and I learned a lot in a really fun way. I liked how the author described the gods like how they would look if they were normal people today. I also read the second book and both books always have kind of a mystery but it all ties together in the end. Percy is a lot like most kids and thinks like most kids too. WHen the prophecy said that he would be betrayed, I knew that he couldn't trust anyone which made it exciting to see who he followed. You have to get a fair amount of ways into the book in order to even get a clue on how he solves the mystery. For me it wasn't very challenging but it was a fun read. Not enough to be obsessed with it but it was good. Overall "The Lightning Thief" was really fun to read.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Lighting thief rules

    I highly reccomend this to readers of all ages. Pervy Jackson goes on a quest that might change his life forever. He battles monsters and gods with his two companions. But is he willing to sacrifice anymore when hid mother is hidden in the Underworld and when he learns his father is the god of the sea? Filled with adventure, all you need is a strong imagination to enjoy this book. Can't get enough? Read the Sea of Monsters the nect book in this exciting series Percy Jackson!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Good book but Ripoff

    I liked the story as did my son however he copied the entire pretense from J.K. Rowling and all the books mirror the same set up and character line as the Harry Potter series.
    Very dissapointing.

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Love this series with a spin on Greek mythology!

    I'm an adult and loved this series. I haven't started reading the other books, but very much enjoyed this first book in the series. I would highly recommend it for kids and young adults, especially if they are fascinated with Greek mythology and even if they aren't, this will make them enjoy the old stories of heroes in a modern day package. Highly recommend for kids of ALL AGES. :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A solid beginning to a FANTASTIC series!

    Every first book for a series has the challenge of introducing characters, plots, settings-- and "The Lightning Thief" does a good job of teaching mythology to kids, teens, and adults-alike (I shared this book with my friend in high school who'd never learned anything about mythology beforehand and she loved it) AND setting up a plot that will have bigger payoffs later as the series matures.

    The Lighting Thief starts off as a seemingly 'young' book, but once you get to "Sea of Monsters", ect. the plot really takes on a lot of surprising twists and turns, all our characters grow up and experience a good bit of character development, and as fun as the Percy Jackson series is, we get some darker back stories and conflicts. Definitely not just for kids!

    PS. much better than the movie...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    GREAT!

    This book was great! I think it would be good if you are really into mythology. This book is about Percy Jackson a half-blood the son of Posideon. Percy must find Zeus' lightning bolt before the solctice. Read to find out what happens to Percy throught this great book by Rick Riordan.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A great story for all that wish to read it

    Percy Jackson is an average kid who just happens to get kicked out of Yancy Academy. Or is he? <BR/><BR/>Throughout the story (and series), Percy and his newfound friends encounter many things that are most definitely not average,such as the overwhelming prospect that the olympians (Greek gods and goddesses) are real.<BR/><BR/>Rick Riordan writes with a style that makes this series not as farfetched as it may sound = it actually sounds plausible to a modern audience.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    DK the man

    This is a awesome book that is kinda exagerated at the part where their is greek monsters and the heros that makes no sense. But, i still think this is a awesome book because this book doesn't stop at 1st series, it keeps going on

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    More from recommenders:

    This time, Percy is really on, but I feel that he is behind time. The very insolent remarks remind me of a juvinille delinquint, which infact he is, but with each non-oppressive remark, a certain undeniable annoyance remains. I know others feel the same way. By reading other reviews, I feel people have some conscious , whether they realize it or not. Perhaps in the future, people will be able to understand this.

    I am what is considered an avid reader. I read many adult books, and after reading a really sophisticated book, such juvinile things earn little to no praise frome, bear this in mid. That is all ask.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    What an Amazing Book

    When i was younger a lot of people were reading this book and so i decided to read it. I started it when ibwas in fourth grade and then never had the chance to finish. But the parts i read were very interesting and made me read even more. Now i still remember the adventures Percy goes through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Bl

    Pretty good book. I would recomend this book to anyone looking for a good exciting book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    This is a good read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. The characters, pace and Greek Mythos were expertly written!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ome of my favorites wery intersting

    When I read this book I felt I was in Percy's world. Everything he did it was as if I was there.this is just a sensational book that you canot put down you feel like always going BACK TO HIS WORLD FINDING OUT MORE AND MORE . YOU FEEL LIKE RUSHINGTO END TO SEE WHAT ANSWERS IT HOLDS.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    The Lightning Thief

    This is an amazing stroy for both those who love mythology and those who don't know anything about mythology. If you are familiar with mythology, it is interesting to see how each of the different mythological characters are portrayed in this book. If you don't know anything about mythology, it is a great book to read to get people more interested in finding out the story behind some of the characters.Its a great mixture of adventure and suspense about what is going to happen next. The whole time I was reading this book I was wishing I could read faster so that I could find out what happens. Although this story is written for a younger audience, it can easily be enjoyed by adult readers as well. This is the only book that I have read in this series, but I definatly want to buy the rest of the books to find out what other mythological creatures Riordan will write about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    So I wasn't sure if I was going to like this but it was actually a very good book. No the writing wasn't the best but who really reads for writing? I read for the story and it was a very captivating story. I never really slows down so it makes you want to keep reading until it's finished! The characters are amusing and you can see Percy grow and mature throughout the book. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book

    The book was chosen as a compare and contrast with the recent release of the movie, Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. The book far outshines the movie in both character development and story line. The book is the first in a series of tales involving Percy Jackson, a demigod, son of Poseidon, and the adventures of his clan of fellow demigods. The series of subsequent books were as well written and kept the readers' attention. The series is geared towards the teenage reader and was reccommended by friends. It is a very good book for starting readers into chapter books and series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The l]Lightning theif is definately for anyone!

    I'm kinda into greek mythology so when i heard about this book i had to read it. It really gives you a new perspective on things big and small. I really enjoyed the entire story, it's characters, and the adventures physically and emotionally. Anyone into action, adventure, greek mythology, or even just likes to read books! will very much enjoy read a book and seris of Percy Jackson and the Olympians The Lightning Theif.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absorbing Action

    My 6th grade students enjoy this book quick a lot. Riordan weaves a tale packed with action and supernatural personality. The characters are playful and the plot marches along from movie-style scene to scene.

    This is a good match for young readers that struggle to find exciting action-oriented books. It keeps them absorbed and visualizing every page. That said, it may not challenge the stronger readers in the 10-14 age range.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Adventurous!

    An epic adventure with Percy and his friends! I'm a huge fan of Greek Mythology, especially of Poseidon! So this was really had mt attention from end to beginning. I only wished it came as an eBook for my nook =(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read

    I've always been interested in Greek mythology, so this book caught my eye really quick! The story is extremely simple, which is not suprising since it is written for middle schoolers. But, it was a fun and fast read. My only issues were the ease in which the problems were solved and the mythology presented in the book. For example, why would a 6th grader be able to take out a minotaur so easily? And then beat Ares, the God of War, in a battle? There was also a lot of mythology introduced in this book, with little explanation behind it. I knew most if because I've studied Greek mythology in high school and in college. But, how much of this would the average middle schooler know? Still, a very fun way to introduce mythology to young readers! I'll continue on with the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1517 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 76