Customer Reviews for

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 10418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7877)

4 Star

(1528)

3 Star

(519)

2 Star

(166)

1 Star

(328)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

333 out of 378 people found this review helpful.

Don't let the mythology scare you off

My 9-year-old son chose this book mainly for the cool 'scary' cover. I had scanned through it and warned him that it had a lot of mythology in it and might be tough to follow. What do I know? He devoured the book in two days and loved it. He's eagerly awaiting the n...
My 9-year-old son chose this book mainly for the cool 'scary' cover. I had scanned through it and warned him that it had a lot of mythology in it and might be tough to follow. What do I know? He devoured the book in two days and loved it. He's eagerly awaiting the next in the series.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

The Lightning Thief Review

The Lighting Thief
Rick Rioradan
Hyperion paperbacks
Fantasy

Have you ever had something happen that you can't explain? That is exactly what happened to Percy in The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan when out of nowhere his evil math teacher, Mrs.D...
The Lighting Thief
Rick Rioradan
Hyperion paperbacks
Fantasy

Have you ever had something happen that you can't explain? That is exactly what happened to Percy in The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan when out of nowhere his evil math teacher, Mrs.Dodds, turns into a monster with talons. Soon Percy found out that he is a half blood and his father is Poseidon. This news came just after getting kicked out of school again, and losing his mother to a minitaur. Percy is soon rescued at Camp Half-blood and finds out that Zeus lost his master lightning bolt and is blaming it all on Percy's father Poseidon. Percy is on a quest with his friends to find Zeus's master lighting bolt. Did I mention Percy has to do this in just ten days? Go with Percy and his friends, Annabeth and Grover, through an adventure that you will never forget meeting new creatures and gods along the way.

Percy Jackson is a brave twelve year old that has dyslexia, and is about to get kicked out of school again. Percy is not the most well mannered boy, but he has a great personality and wants to prove to his father that he can retrieve the master bolt with the help of his friends, Annabeth and Grover. Annabeth is a bossy blond who is extremely wise and can occasionally be snobby. She is also a great friend and Percy and Grover can count on her smarts and wits when they need it. Grover is a shy and timid goat boy,who is very brave but his friends still think that he is a coward. Luke, Sally Jackson, Zeus, Ares, Medusa,gods, goddesses, half bloods, and all the other magical creatures are all supporting characters and help the story in their own way.

The Lightning Thief is a book that you will never forget. This book will take you on a exciting journey where you will meet magnificent creatures and gods,that are friendly and some not so friendly. This book is packed with suspense and heart pounding adventure. If you love fantasy and adventure, you'll love The Lightning Thief! It will be an adventure that will keep you reading on your toes and wanting more. I love this book and so will you.

posted by 254389 on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 7877 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 394
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    Don't let the mythology scare you off

    My 9-year-old son chose this book mainly for the cool 'scary' cover. I had scanned through it and warned him that it had a lot of mythology in it and might be tough to follow. What do I know? He devoured the book in two days and loved it. He's eagerly awaiting the next in the series.

    333 out of 378 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The whole series should be a movie

    Great story with colorful characters. Liked it a lot and days later I still hadn't forgotten it. Have recommended it to everyone.

    215 out of 279 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    This is one of my favourite books by Rick Riordan. So hard to put down.

    166 out of 216 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Brings Greek Mythology to Life

    I picked up this series because every once in a while I enjoy the child's fantasy instead of adult fiction. Also, I enjoy helping my friends who are teachers find new material to help keep students interesting in reading. I did not know what to expect, although I knew the book was brought to life on film. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The inventive aspect of bringing greek mythology to modern day living is ingenious. Having taken a year of mythology in school, it was wonderful to see a new way of getting young people interested a type of history that does not seem to be explored much. Not only will these books excite young readers to keep with the books, but also the books might just interest the reader enough to look into ancient history. My only drawback is there are ancient stories mentioned in the books and sometimes not explained. (Meaning outside reading will need to occur). Although these stories are not central in any way to the books, it is nice to know the history. I had to refresh my memory on a few points. Great to read with your children if you read chapter books. Overall, great reading for old and young alike.

    161 out of 192 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An epic adventure!

    A story filled with plenty of Greek mythology. The story moves along at a great pace and does explain itself well enough for younger readers who may not know who "Chiron" or "Poseidon" but has enough humor for the adult that may be reading this book too. Although the book is nearly 400 pages it moves fast and leaves you ready for the second book.

    95 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    Lightening Thief Review

    This is my favorite book right now and I like especially how it has an exhilarating twist every chapter. This book makes you anticipate, exited, happy, nervous , and even learn about ancient Greeks. When I was reading this book I was immediately sucked in from the first paragraph I read. I thought that the author of this book did a really good job keeping the reader wanting to know how Percy (the main character) was going to get out of the situation that he was in. The solutions to all the problems the face are usually crazy which makes you extremely excited and amazed with what they do. Then after every situation the characters fix they run into another one right away. When I was reading this book I was never bored for a second. The story line is very cool and I loved all the characters. The author does a great job of makeing you feal all the pain and happieness that all of the characters have to go through. I am very picky with what books I think are good and this one was absolutely perfect for me in every way and now I am defiantly going to read the whole series.

    89 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    keeps my son reading

    i have such a hard time getting my 13 year old son to read books, he loved this book and begged for the rest of the series, he read 3 of the books in a week. any book that keeps my son interested is rated a 10 by me.

    72 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    This series is amazing

    I first started reading this because my libarian recommmended it to me. I completely feel in love with the book and characters. It's funny, exciting and very thirilling. I have fininshed the third book and starting on the fourth. I recommend this series to everyone.

    63 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One Amazing Book!!!

    I love The Lightning Theif! I read it for school and it was so spectacular. You can't put it down. It's histarical and thrill after thrill. A must read! Spectacular book. Percy is awesome, if he was real i would be in love with him. =](but i love him anyway) This book is spectacular!!!!

    56 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book Ever!!!!

    The adventure starts from page one where your picked up for an adventurous ride through the stories. Fun for all ages. The mystery unravels as you read through the series.

    54 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    Best Book Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    it is ... awesome

    37 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    And I thought the movie was good!

    I saw the movie first, mostly because I wasn't aware there was a book. When I finally decided to read the book.... All I can say is WOW. The book makes the movie seem absolutely pathetic, and I'm actually glad I saw the movie first. If I'd seen the movie first, I would have HATED it. The book is completely different and it is infinitely better. I'd HIGHLY recommend it.

    32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Percy Jackson Series

    I read Harry Potter and the Twilight series and was looking for something new. A parent suggested this series. I absolutely loved it. It's fast paced, action packed, and the characters are very likable. As soon as I finished this one, I had to go out and buy all the rest. I am waiting for the last installment which comes out in May.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    Great adventure for both young and not so young.

    I have enjoyed reading this along with my son who is 12yrs old. He has gone through the complete set with out putting it down. The adventure that Percy goes on and the life changes he faces are wonderful. My son feels connected to him. This would be a great book for any tween who needs some adventure in thier lives.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!

    I'd been looking at this book for a while, and just hadn't gotten around to reading it, and then one day I finally picked it up...I got through it in two days. I really, really liked this book, and plan on reading the rest of the series. The characters in the story and funny and original, and the author has come up with a story that is new and exciting. You learn a lot from the book, it's interesting, and it introduces Greek Mythology is a way that is both fun and entertaining. A great read. I highly recommend.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Best book in the world.

    BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD. WHO EVER DOESN'T BUY THIS IS MISSING OUT BIG TIME. =D if you guys agree,or have heard of my cousin, The Nook Book Rater press yes. XD Happy Reading people!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Movie

    The movie was terrible.......the book was way bettr

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Great! Comming from someone you ist the 'Biggest Reader'!

    best book ever loved it so much that i read it all day non stop and my mom had to take it away from me! I am obssesd with this book YOU MUST READ IT

    16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed this book very much and the fact that it used Greek mythology. I learned many things from reading this book such as the fact that names CAN be powerful. Very powerful. Percy learned that while he was batting the Minotaur, which he defeated. And as a momento of that he got part of one of the Minotaur's horn. I also learned that danger can be lurking around every corner. I also learned from this book that you never know if someone is actually who they say they are. I learned that you don't want to make really important people mad. They can do things that can hurt you. Severely. I also learned that flying in an airplane is SERIOUSLY dangerous. I mean, I already knew that flying was dangerous, but when you have lightning flashing and striking the plane, that is the dangerous part. I also learned that the friends you have, you should keep close to you, because you never know if you may need their help later on in life. The bigger the crowd, the stronger you are. Unless your friends are bad in "arguments". I also learned that some friends can betray you if you have your back is turned. I also learned that everything is not as it seems meaning humans can't see everything, we can only see what our eyes let us see. I also learned that you never know who your allies are and who your enemies are. So choose them wisely. I also learned that even though you might have family members that you rarely see, they still care about you, and you should care about them back. That's how family works. Percy Jackson also learned these things in the book.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Simple books, but a thrilling read nonetheless

    When I first picked up this book, I thought it would be your run of the mill fantasy series----with swords,bows,magic---blah,blah----seen that before. But when I found out that this was about Greek Mythology----I got a little interested. Then when I zipped through the first chapter(the book is real simple to read----a first grader could read it and understand it I think)I began to get a little more interested. Then, I went on to the next chapter, then the next, then the next! Until about an hour and a half later the book and been conquered and I shut it. I must say, though it was a simple and no challenge to read---- the book was good and enjoyable....FIVE STARS!!!!!!

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 7877 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 394