Customer Reviews for

Like Sisters on the Homefront

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational

    I found this book to be very moving and touching. The life Gayle had was not easy by any means but she did what she had to. She grew to love her family when she wasn't expecting that at all. From the overall book I think she grown up alot by the end of the book. I couldn't put it down once I started and the ending was good as well. Everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    the book like sisters on the homefront

    it was a really good book.it talks about abortions and things of that nature.it also talks about teen kids making kids and keepin them.the girl gayle is 14 with a baby boy and her mom sent her to stay with her uncle luther.i like it but it dont really have the information im looking for in a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    Great Book

    Last year in seventh grade, I picked up this book and I just couldn't lay it down. Everything about the book is solid and real. I like the true to life main character who tells it how she feels. This book is a favortie of mines and I reccomend it to anyone who likes a good book too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    ELizabeth VIttini from A.B.G.S Middle school in Hempstead n.y

    this book it very good for teenager and Gayle relized what she did before and at the end of the story she change herself.Teenager please read this book you will learn alot for your future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    Just a great book

    At first I was not going to read this book but when I started the first sentence I knew I would never be able to put it down. I know it by heart. 'The first time Gayle slammed the bathroom door, her mother let it go.' dosen't it make you want to keep on going

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Don't be too fast to pop up pregnant.

    Something the book is about is a pregnant girl who already has a baby and now she is having another one at the age of 14.Her mother starts to get tired of her and she sends them to her Uncle's house to stay and now Gayle sees the hard way life can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    KrazyWhite

    I loved this book. I thought it was funny and kool. The character Gayle is a real fast talking girl who lives a fast live but i couldnt denie not liking her. She was not the usual goody 14 year old girls that you read on books. She was realistic as it comes. A slap in the face that says all things arent always picture perfect but you make best with what you got. The author in this book did an excellent job and i cant wait to read more of her stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    the book with a message.

    this book sisters on the homefront is truly a good read it teaches all young girls who want to live the fast life and think that nothing can happen to them to think again because before you know it you can make a mistake that you will not be able to change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    Marvelous!!!!!!!

    This book is outstanding! I read this book when I was 14 and was very shocked! I thought twice about having children! Wonderful book! I recommend this for teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    This Book is for pre and teeenagers. Who Have sex on there mind.

    This book was great i loved it, i even gave it to my friend and now others wanna read it to. I justed loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    I live down souf.

    I was reading this book for the second time and it disappeared. Two weeks later, everyone in my homeroom had read it. SO had one of the guys in the class' sister. It's sort of tattered now, but if it got that many people to read it, it has to be good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    EYE OPENER

    I tell you that there is not another book like this one. This book is one of a kind. All young girls who are having sex should read this book. It opens the eyes of all girls I know it opened mine. Now I think twice about having sex. I know no girl would like to be kicked out of your home and having to move somewhere where the neighbors house is like a mile away. Where is your freedom. I would want to go some place that I can get my act together and praise the lord. So I want be going to hell. But the book was like so good this totaly one of a kind no one or nothing can match this. this book just reaches the soul of young girls every where. Makes you think twice about some of the choices you make in life I would like to thank Mrs. Rita Williams for wtitting such an awsome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2002

    Shan's Review

    I really enjoyed this book. I could relate to Gayle in the book with her teenage feeling and troubles. It was interesting to see how she progressed after she moved to her relatives house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2002

    Very Inspirational!

    This book is truly a treasure. The bonds that Gayle devolops with her family are very touching and true to the experiences of many teens. I love how Gayle slowly realizes the history and of her family and the importance it has on her own life. Mrs. Williams- Garcia did a wonderful job with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    This is a great book.

    I relly enjoy this book it relly put's me in the eye's on some of these young children have'n baby's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2001

    Oppsites Attract

    This was a great book. I never wanted to put it down. I am now 14 and I read the book when I was 12 and still remember it. I think everyone should read it. It shows the struggle to be forced to grow up. When unexpected events happpen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    very moving

    i thoght that this book was very inspiring and moving and inspiring...should remind us all that we can get a second chance and help others get theirs too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2001

    For young adults

    I think this book is and inspiring book, for all young teenagers from 13-18. It really is the best book for young adults as well. I think there should be a movie. I found this book, very very interesting and you should try it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1