Customer Reviews for

Like Water for Chocolate

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Common is a great lyricist.

    I love his work, rhymes that are so complex and not simple. My favorite track on here is Sixth Sense. I played this song plenty of times. I recommend you buy this CD; you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Respectful, Deep, Spiritual

    I really think that this was a very good album. The only thing that I thought was needed was a real party battle rap beat. He could have had one at least, but I still like the album, I like half of the album. I like the political and real rap that he protrays, the more I listen to him the more I like him. I wish I could rock some t's with his name on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Soooooo good

    Of course, Common is amazing! Thank god there are some artists like him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Illest

    Common is just the next stage in music and the future of hiphop. Do not underestimate this mans creativity. One day itll all make sense was the third step but now it is time for every body to hear what he has to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic! Common has solidified his place among the legends of hip-hop!

    I've been following ever since ''Breaker 1/9'' and what can I say he just keeps stepping up.LWFC is one of the best hip-hop records I've heard period. Can't wait for the new he has dropping next year. I hear it's going gonna something the hip-hop in general ain't ready for. If you don't have this album go out and get it ASAP. LONG LIVE THE COM!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    From wifey to hip hop heads

    Don't need to skip through any track. A complete masterpiece. Common seems to get better everytime. One of the most slept on MC's of all time. Common got Soul-Soul by the Pound-Pound. Watch out for the new artist Bilal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cultural Hip Hop

    One thing I admire about this cat is his consistency of keeping his music authenic HIP HOP he's strong enough not to the be lured into the shallow depth of exhausted commercial materialism.His new album is more musically creative than his prevous works, its sounds our relaxing and melodic it's a good investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SEVEN STARS BECAUSE THE GROOVE IN THIS IS UNIQUE AND COMPLETE!!!!!!!

    ''This album is as complete as the number 7. I especially enjoyed the track entitled ''The Light''. Whenever I feel a little down and depressed, this song really lifts me up on a natural high.''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    He is Great!!!

    Well i think common is going to be a big music star because he is just so good.I love that song call 'the light' when i hear it, it just makes me feel so great.I give him four stars and two thumbs up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A true hip-hop gem

    In a day and age where hip-hop has become a definite force in the mainstream of society, so-called hip-hop acts come a dime a dozen. Not to often comes an artist that has a full understanding of hip-hop, society, and life in general. Common Sense however is one of the few, the proud. Common has once again defied the mainstream odds and released an album that has more feeling and emotion than most albums have in the last year combined. Like Water For Chocolate is truly a hip-hop masterpiece as was the overlooked One Day It Will All Make Sense. Hip-hop, needing a guiding light to navigate it's way back to it's true essence and art form, Common should definetly be the commander of the vessel. Like Water For Chocolate is one of the best albums in recent memory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this album feels real good

    if you need a cd to relax too, hang out, clean, chill, think, anything!!!!this cd is it..one of the best i've heard for awhile!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS IS THE SURE SHOT

    Common has managed to raise the standards on this his fourth album, Like Water For Chocolate. Like Water has a more of a different sound than his previous recordings, but is definitey fresh. This is one of the best hip hop albums of the year, surely to bang in high tech systems to walk mans from Chicago to Japan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This IS rap for real! Something you feel!

    Incredible! If you are a lover of good music, this album more than reaches it's expectations. Common is the obvious talent here but there are so many beautifully talented artists contributing to this album. The end result is an album rich in sound consisting of jazz(Roy Hargrove), hip hop(Mos Def and Slum Village), awareness(a tribute to Assata Shakur) and soul(D'Angelo). The production is handled mainly by the Soulquarians which features ?uestlove from the Roots, pianist James Poysner and Jay Dee of Slum Village and their influence is perfect for Common's message. Common has reached monumental status even though record sales won't reflect it(that will change if we start supporting real talented artists!) Common's message rings true: despite a world infested with platinum iced out fantasies and paper chases worldwide, true freedom and peace is only achieved through loving life, self and god. Thank you Common. You are not afraid of growth, challange or experimenting and I identify with you so much. I hope that the industry as well as the hip hop world appreciates your efforts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Coomon's Talent Uncommon in the Hip Hop World

    This album is truly one of the most anticipated releases of the year. I look forward to hearing each and every track as soon as it is released. Peace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A LONG TIME COMING

    Common has managed to step it up another level on his fourth album, Like Water for Chocolate. He has shown tremendous growth and he deals with subjects ranging from alcoholism, robbery, and revolutionary Assata Shakur. Common tackles these subjects with intensity. The cameos are excellent also. Common also changes his production on this album. He works with the Roots, Ummah, and DJ Premier, all blessing Common with hot beats. Do your self a favor and cop this album. Common definitely deserves to go platinum. PEACE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1