Customer Reviews for

Like Water for Chocolate

Average Rating 4
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT STORY

A friend recommended this book and eventually loaned me her copy because I had it on my "to buy" list for so long. I read it and was delighted. A family tradition forbids Tita from marrying her beloved Pedro. Well, he wants to stay close to her---so he marries Tita's si...
A friend recommended this book and eventually loaned me her copy because I had it on my "to buy" list for so long. I read it and was delighted. A family tradition forbids Tita from marrying her beloved Pedro. Well, he wants to stay close to her---so he marries Tita's sister Rosaura and the entire family lives under the same roof. Tita is the family cook and she reveals her love for Pedro though her extraordinary cooking. Author Laura Esquirel combines mouth-watering recipes, Mexico during the Revolution, forbidden love, romance, tears, and laughter in this scrumptious "Mexican Cinderella" story. I love this book.

posted by Author_DB_Pacini on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Food Lover's Delight

I was required to read this novel for my summer english class. I probably would of never read this book otherwise. It was an entertaining read and is better than the adapted film version.

posted by Anonymous on August 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    EXCELLENT STORY

    A friend recommended this book and eventually loaned me her copy because I had it on my "to buy" list for so long. I read it and was delighted. A family tradition forbids Tita from marrying her beloved Pedro. Well, he wants to stay close to her---so he marries Tita's sister Rosaura and the entire family lives under the same roof. Tita is the family cook and she reveals her love for Pedro though her extraordinary cooking. Author Laura Esquirel combines mouth-watering recipes, Mexico during the Revolution, forbidden love, romance, tears, and laughter in this scrumptious "Mexican Cinderella" story. I love this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great Read about Mexican Culture

    Like Water Chocolate is a great read for anybody wanting to learn about Mexican culture. It starts off with some background information on the birth of a Mexican girl named Tita during one of the revolutions against the wealthy land owners. Tita at a young age falls in love with Pedro, a boy from her village, and they swear to love each other for ever. When Pedro finds out that Tita cannot marry do to the Mexican tradition of the youngest daughter having to care for her mother until her death, Pedro decides to marry Tita's sister Rosaura so he can be close to Tita. Throughout the story Tita and Pedro find different ways to share their love while life goes on around him. By the end Rosaura dies and Tita's other sister Gertrudis joins the revolution and throughout the story provides Tita with advice and tips on Tita's secret relationship with Pedro. The story has many more climactic events and leads on to the climax of the story and its resolution. The book provides very good insight to the Mexican culture and lets you imagine what it would be like to live in that society. It is laced with many home remedies and recipes that show the way the Mexican people lived back then and make the book a very interesting and give the book a eye-opening power that some books provide on topics of very little knowledge. The book has its downs as well as its ups as parts of the book can go very slowly and some repetition of ideas previously expanded upon can be omitted. This book contains ideas that are considered wrong in our society and can be considered offensive to some woman's rights activist as the youngest daughter has no choice but to live her life in servitude of her mother. A theme that reoccurs throughout the book is to never set aside your love for someone for anything and never let anything stand in your way of love. This book can relate to many Mexicans through the culture of the society and many of the remedies, recipes, and ways of life of the Mexican culture if you account for the changes in the culture that have come through the culture being modernized. All in all this book is a great read and I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to learn about Mexican culture or just those who want to read a great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Warm and comfortable, just like hot chocolate should be.

    Tita may be the protagonist, but John's the one I feel sorriest for in this story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    Like Water for Chocolate is a fun, quick read. It is about a girl named Tita, who is unable to marry because being the youngest daughter, it is family tradition that she spend her life taking care of her mother. She falls in love with a man named Pedro, who marrys her sister in order to stay close to her. The book is filled with recipes and home remedies. The book is part cookbook, love story, and soap opera. If you want a fun quick read this is the book for you. I am now going to go watch the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    My props for Like Water for Chocolate

    In the book Like Water for Chocolate a young woman is prohibited to marry her true love all because of a stupid tradition her mother is trying to endure. Her mother suggested the man to marry her other daughter. The man accepted just to be near his true love. As the years pass by they still feel love for each other but with her mother by her side they can¿t be together. The mother will do anything just to prevent them from being near to each other. If you want to know what will happen between the two lovers find out by reading the book Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel. Will they be together at the end of the book? Will something make their heart change? Will the mother let them be happy? Will the sister try to help them be together? Hmm¿ very interesting right don¿t wait go buy the book or take it out from your local library. This book is so fascinating that you¿ll be done in no time. You¿ll be reading and you won¿t want to stop. Oh and the book even has a few cooking recipes of how to make mole and some other delicious food.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    A good romantic novel!

    This book was my first romantic novel and I enjoyed it a lot. I really liked the drama between Tita and her sister Rosaura. Each chapter has a different recipe. Throughout the chapters, I found out stories behind each recipe and why they are so special. Tita's mother will not let her marry her true love. So all through the story, there is conflict between Tita and Mama Elena. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes reading romantic stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    my favorite love story

    I have read this book several times and seen the movie with English subtitles a couple of times. It is a wonderful fanciful love story that has several twists and turns. Chapters are short so easy to pick up and put down Just bought it for my daughter to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Love this book. It has a lascivious turn to it. highly recommend

    Love this book. It has a lascivious turn to it. highly recommend reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Like Water for Chocolate

    Tita is the youngest daughter in her family, a fantastic cook, and in love with Pedro. But, when Pedro comes to ask for her hand in marriage, her mother tells her no because as the youngest daughter, Tita must take care of her mother until she dies. This causes coldness to enter Tita's body which affects everything she does, especially when her sister marries Pedro. Her cooking takes on new consequences to the consumer as it takes on Tita's emotions. Her life is one of heartache and loss, yet one with happy moments as well. Come, enjoy the romance, recipes, and intriguing story, and discover Tita's fate.

    I loved how the chapters each began with a recipe, causing my mind to be filled with the sights, sounds, and smells of the kitchen. The story gives us the rational to food preparation and procedures as well, making it easy to see how emotions would affect the outcome. This is a fun read for book lovers everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    it transports you to their world great story.

    i loved this book great story it takes you inside and it allows you to imagine eveything thats happening in the book. the only thing i did not like was the ending a bit sad to my liking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Delicious and Nourishing

    This novel is endearing and unique--Not really fantasy although--more literary fiction imbued with magical realism set in on a Mexican ranch near the border in the early 20th century. Tita is denied permission to marry her love Pedro because a family tradition demands as youngest daughter it is her fate and duty never to marry but instead care for her mother until she dies. The cruel Mama Elena then marries off her middle daughter, Rosauro, to Pedro. Tita expresses the yearning, desire, her anger and despair of her thwarted love through her food, with whimsical consequences.

    Each chapter begins with recipes exotic and everyday, and begins with the description of how to prepare the food. Somehow the writer conveys the romance and love of food--from the sweet, nurturing tastes we associate with childhood to the bitter ones of happiness crushed under the heel of family authority and propriety. The language is simple--has the feel of a child's tale even if with very adult content. It's part of what gives the story a fairy tale feel--an evil (step)mother, three sisters with different fates--and magic a plenty. Despite this being a tale of star-crossed romance and family jealousies, the different kinds of love ultimately make this a sweet, delicious concoction--one fast consumed but nourishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    An Interesting Read

    I have heard so much about this book, so I was very happy when my book club decided to review it. Though it did not quite live up to my expectations, it was definitely an interesting read. The recipes were quite interesting, though not likely things you would try to make at home. The recipes give one an appreciation for the type of "every day" knowledge that is lost to younger generations who have but to push a button to order things that they need. This is not a book I would describe as universally "romantic"- at least not in my opinion. I often found myself disliking the protagonist's love interest, Pedro, and did not find many of his (what I viewed as) cowardly antics to inspire my like or sympathy. So, I viewed this book more as a rendering of a complicated relationship specific to the characters and time period involved. With that said, the author's story-telling style is quite compelling. I enjoyed the fairy-tale/tall-tale moments within the novel. This is not a book with any overarching lesson or moral; but as an easy, entertaining read it is worth picking up and reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    In this book I really enjoyed how they always tied the cooking into what was happening in the story. Even though their tradition stopped Tita from marrying it didnt stop her from loving.It was a good book and I would reccomened it to someone who likes Romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    reviewer

    i loved the book. the vocabulary is not difficult to understand and it is a very interesting book about hispanic hertiage. the understanding it has on our society today is that Mama Elena wouldnt let Tita get married because she was the youngest daughter and that isnt the way it is today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    Fun!

    This book is delightful! It's mystical, fun, and fascinating as it teaches Mexican culture and tradition through a brilliantly original story! This was my first Esquivel read- I'm a fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Like Water for Chocolate

    This book is a great tale of love and how it can either sweeten or sour a soul.The main character, Tita,is a irresistable character. You cannot help but get wrapped up in her struggle to be with the one man she deeply loves. With one obstacle after another you cannot help but wonder will she ever find happyness? With the wonderful mix of humor and sorrow, Laura Esquivel has managed to write a wonderfully balanced book. Most definently a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    This was a interesting book to read.

    I liked this book because it realy inspired me. It remind me of my relationship. I also loved the way she cooked meals on how she fills that day. When Tita was fixing the wedding cake for her sister's wedding. She put something in the cake to make people sick.She was upset and not filling goodat the same time.I was happy for her because she got what she wanted from Pedr. Tita had a baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Great Read

    Like Water for Chocolate is a romantic, exciting, rich story full of Mexican culture and atmosphere. This story tells of a traditional Mexican family in the late 1800s. It follows Tita, who is the youngest daughter of Mama Elena. Mama Elena¿ s love is cooking. Tita follows in her mother¿s footsteps and discovers that her passion is also food and becoming a chef. Each chapter is a different month, and each month begins with a new recipe. The events that occur in each chapter reflect each recipe. One tradition for each Mexican family states that the youngest of the family is forbidden to marry. This means that Tita must live and take care of her mother. This becomes a problem when Tita falls in love, but her mother still forbids her to marry. Because of Mama Elena¿s fear of Tita breaking tradition, she forces Tita¿s older sister to marry Tita¿s love interest. This angers Tita and begins to prove that her cooking abilities are anything but ordinary, maybe even magical. Like Water for Chocolate is an amazing story. Laura Esquivel shows pure writing talent and ability. It is funny, romantic, sad, and everything necessary for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    If you enjoy romance novels, you will enjoy this book.

    I liked this book, but i am not really into romance novels, if you enjoy romance novels i think you will love Like Water for Chocolate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    A poignant read that will touch all

    The Novel Like Water for Chocolate is a book quite like no other. The setting takes place in Mexico during the Revolution. Many references to battles are depicted throughout the novel. This book contains alot of unnatural events, magical realism, and an astounding plot. The protagonist in this book is Tita De La Garza, a confused mexican female seeking a true and profound love. Since Tita is the youngest of three sisters, her binding, eternal fate is to take care of her mother until the day she dies. Tita's only outlet for her anger and frustration is in the kitchen, where she concocts an array of traditional recipes. At the beginning of every chapter, Tita cooks a meal for the upcoming occasion. Often, the food turns out based on Tita's current mood. When Tita made the Chaballa Wedding Cake for her sister Rosaura's marriage to her swwetheart Pedro, Tita cried bitter tears into the icing. At the reception, all the guests fell ill, reminisced on sad emotions, and regurgitated. This is a clear example of Magical Realism. Tita's sweetheart Pedro only married Rosaura, Tita's sister so he could become closer to his love by living under the same roof. But their love just wasn't meant to be. Under Mama Elena ( Tita's mother) the two could never spend time together, or even have the brief satisfaction of being left in the same room alone. Gertrudis, Tita's middle sister was an illegitimate love child, yet this secret is not revealed until later on in the book. Gertrudis is a symbol of sex and promiscuity. Eventually, Tita again finds love, but is stricken between the choice of whom to be with. Pedro, or her latest suitor John? To find out the startling conclusion, purchase this book! What will become of Tita? Will she have sexual relations with any of these men, despite Mexican tradition? What will become of her fate? And her sisters? Well what are you waiting for?...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4