Customer Reviews for

Like Water for Chocolate

Average Rating 4
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT STORY

A friend recommended this book and eventually loaned me her copy because I had it on my "to buy" list for so long. I read it and was delighted. A family tradition forbids Tita from marrying her beloved Pedro. Well, he wants to stay close to her---so he marries Tita's si...
A friend recommended this book and eventually loaned me her copy because I had it on my "to buy" list for so long. I read it and was delighted. A family tradition forbids Tita from marrying her beloved Pedro. Well, he wants to stay close to her---so he marries Tita's sister Rosaura and the entire family lives under the same roof. Tita is the family cook and she reveals her love for Pedro though her extraordinary cooking. Author Laura Esquirel combines mouth-watering recipes, Mexico during the Revolution, forbidden love, romance, tears, and laughter in this scrumptious "Mexican Cinderella" story. I love this book.

posted by Author_DB_Pacini on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Food Lover's Delight

I was required to read this novel for my summer english class. I probably would of never read this book otherwise. It was an entertaining read and is better than the adapted film version.

posted by Anonymous on August 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Best book ever

    I recomend this book to anybody I used to hate reading but after I read this book it changed me

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    great

    this book captures you imagination. it's a great example of mexican/ hispanic culture and traditions

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    EXCELLENT

    I could not put this book down. It tells a great story about love and life and keeps you intrigued till the very end. With wonderful characters, you can't go wrong with this novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    WONDERFUL BOOK & WONDERFUL MOVIE!

    I LOVED this book & have bought many copies to give away to my friends. Every time the movie comes on TV, I watch it. It is such a beautiful story interspersed with recipes made with love. This story has everything you could ever want in a book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    EXCELLANT BOOK

    I had to pick a book for one of my classes for whne I was a senior. Out of all the books I had to choose, I picked "Like Water for Chocolate." It sounded interested and learned that is was the BEST book I have ever read. I couldn't put it down. I finished it in like 3 hours, but kept re-reading it until my report was due. The book is over-whelming. I have recommend it to everyone I know and they too have loved it. BEST BOOK EVER!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    Passion In the Kitchen

    The wonderfully told story of Tita, repressed by her mother for her eternal love of Pedro, as the caretaker of her family. She expresses her innermost desires and feelings through miraculous and sensuous recipies. If you love a story with heart and passion, this is an excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Read this wonderful book !

    It is a mixture of truth, magic and passion. A brilliant story. I have recommeded this book to many and it never disappoints. It is original and fresh and ignites a new way of looking at love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2000

    One of the best books, in english and spanish!

    This book is such a wonderful way of introducing the different and harsh cultures of hispanic cultures that once were. I was very excited to see that it was also in spanish, it's a wonderful 'crossover' book and I couldn't put it down for a second!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel is an exceptional dra

    Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel is an exceptional drama and romance, that takes place in Mexico during the Mexican revolution. The novel also includes recipes and remedies that tie into the book beautifully. The story is about the "cursed" Tita, who is trapped in a restricting family tradition. The tradition is that the youngest girl in the family has to take care of her mother until she dies, meaning Tita is forbidden to get married and have children. However, TIta and a young man named Pedro fall in love, and the only way they can be close to each other is for Pedro to marry Tita's sister, Rosaura. Tita and Pedro’s forbidden love draws the reader in with its drama and secretiveness. A weakness in the text would probably be that Pedro is not a likable character, even though he is supposed to be, and in fact, at the end of the novel you totally despise him. Tita's mother, Mama Elena, is probably the most evil person ever in a book, she is terrible to Tita, and extremely restricting, later you find out that this is due to her dark, hidden past. Most of the time TIta is by herself in the kitchen, where she is the happiest, creating her famous and delicious dishes, that make your mouth water just reading about it. I don't recommend reading this book on an empty stomach. Throughout the text Tita tries to brake the family tradition that holds her and the future generations of their family back by breaking the rules that were strictly set by Mama Elena. The book includes some magical realism that perfectly enhances the plot and makes the novel more entertaining to read with unexpected plot twists on every page. Throughout the book you go from adoring a character to completely despising then while reading one paragraph. As you read you cringe when Tita makes mistakes, almost cry when a character dies, and laugh when Tita makes a witty joke. The end of the novel ties all the loose ends of the story together and reveals a major detail that is an aha moment for the reader. The author, Esquivel, did a wonderful job at portraying Latin American culture in a charming and enjoyable way that is relatable to the reader. I personally did not think I was going to enjoy this book, however when I started reading it I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Like Water for Chocolate is a book that should be picked up and

    Like Water for Chocolate is a book that should be picked up and re-read every few years just to remember how beautiful language and one's imagination can be. The flavors and culture of Mexico springs off the page and invade your senses while you read Laura Esquivel's words.




    I remember loving this book the first time I read it 20 years ago and fell back in love with it just recently when rediscovering it during a trip to Mexico. 




    I'm placing this book back on my shelf to read again in another few years.




    Victoria Allman
    Author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Best book ever

    I first read this book in the 8th grade and have read it 100 times since then, its a perfect compilation of hispanic women's roles, responsibilities, passions, fears, anxieties, desires, and fantasies in the old days while making you hungry with Laura's clever way of meshing traditional and dilectable recipes into the story. 5 stars all the way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Azul

    Yeah my grandma always says i was like this an she put on the movie for me and i was like wow..... i saw the movie just havent read the book.... debating weather to gt the english or spanish version.... i can read both......

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Good Read

    Awesome read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Fun read

    Such colorful writing, very fun to read. Will have a hard time finding a book to read after this one :) even more fun to explain to others. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Vivid writing

    I love how the author was able to really capture the moments in this book. Each sentence is filled with meaning and helps you really understand the characters. I enjoyed reading this, especially the cooking and recipe parts of the book. They had the most character and were very enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Beautiful Novel

    This novel almost bought me to tears. It had so much depth to it, and secret messages left for the reader to decode. I reccomened this book to all book lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Lovely

    This story was so sweet and full of passion, love, and just the right amount of fantasy. I highly reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Must Read!

    One of the best books I have read on Mexican culture. It is a novel about lover, sexuality, and food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Like Water For Chocolate

    This imaginative, heart-warming story is sure to captivate any reader. Once I began reading this book, I kept reading through the entire weekend until the book was finished! It is one of the most passionate stories I have ever encountered but is also brilliantly mixed with a gentle humor. The author portrays a beautifully descriptive story of love, magic and the trials and tribulations of family life in a small Mexican town; and did I mention food? I would recommend this book to any age, however there are some rather intimate details in some parts (but done imaginatively and tastefully). It is a touching story that will reach out to young women especially, but any person who reads this book will not be left disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    for cuisine lovers

    i read this book in spanish, but i bet is also pretty good in english, laura esquivel its an excellent writer , the character of the women in this story, the scents, the flavors and the mexican ciusine, will turn you head over heals in love with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7