Customer Reviews for

The Likeness (Dublin Murder Squad Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Gripping, Througout

Since I enjoy knowing as little as possible before reading a story, I will not give away anything about plot or characters.

I knew absolutely nothing about this novel before reading it (I chose it because it came up on my "Amazon recommendations" list) and *loved* it...
Since I enjoy knowing as little as possible before reading a story, I will not give away anything about plot or characters.

I knew absolutely nothing about this novel before reading it (I chose it because it came up on my "Amazon recommendations" list) and *loved* it. What a terrific idea for a thriller. I haven't felt so afraid while reading a book since I was a kid, and that was thrilling in itself. (Incidentally, I rarely experience books described by reviewers as "frightening" or "riveting" as such.)

At the very beginning, while a couple of characters were being established, the dialogue was not my favorite - a bit reminiscent of Jodi Picoult or other bestselling authors - but the story completely held my attention, and I think the dialogue would certainly play well were the manuscript converted into a screenplay. As soon as the initial characters were a bit fleshed out, I liked the dialogue much better. I loved the characters and grew attached to many of them. Also, unlike many mysteries with promising beginnings, which too often speed up and fall apart at the end, the pacing was pitch perfect.

Kudos to Tana French. I heartily recommend this novel.

posted by MJinPA on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment

I really liked her first book and was excited to get this second one but boy was I like BORED!! I kept thinking, read a few more pages and maybe it will get better but it didn't then I was stuck having to finish it or lay it down. Way Way too wordy.

posted by paperbacksforme on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    I did not think this book compared favorably to In the Woods. Th

    I did not think this book compared favorably to In the Woods. The story takes a long time to get going, and the premise is so profoundly implausible that it takes a tremendous suspension of disbelief to roll with it. The reason for the detective's affinity for the primary group of suspects in this murder case is never entirely clear, and the detective herself is neither interesting nor particularly likable. (A likable main character isn't  essential to a good story, but an interesting one is.) One of the secondary characters in this book, Frank Mackey, is sufficiently offputting that I have no interest in reading the third book in this series, where he is the central character.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    A snip snip here, a snip snip there

    Ms. French's second novel was definitely tighter than her first, giving the reader less plot lines to try to follow, and tying most of the drama up in the end (something In The Woods did not do). Was I hoping for some of those loose threads to be picked up in this follow up? Absolutely. But I was quickly wrapped up in the new drama following Cassie Maddox and the mystery of Lexie.
    The Likeness is not the most believable of detective stories, but the author does a good job weaving a tale that helps convince you that a total stranger could replace a person if they looked enough alike. The characters were rich and interesting, mysterious and suspicious. It is generally a good story, and at times I was completely absorbed in the writing. Unfortunately there were too many times when the writing was simply too repetitive, when Ms. French is too obviously playing cat and mouse with the reader, when the conclusion is evident and you just want her to move on and finish the mess.
    I couldn't help thinking that The Likeness would have been brilliant with 100 less pages, 3 less characters, and 2 less dead ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    too long

    goes on and on without saying anything about plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    well written - not believable

    Another well crafted mystery novel by Ms. French but the concept is truly beyond belief. If you can get past the impossible basic premise of the book, you'll enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Very wordy......

    I liked this story line, although not that believable in this litigious society.

    I felt that Ms. French's writing could have been stronger with 85 fewer pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Interesting

    Well written but disturbing. Not a feel good story, one of those mysteries that makes you uncomfortable. Writing is good, characters are well drawn but sad people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    The Likeness: eBook vs "Physical" Book Pricing

    I am anxious to learn more about this new author, but why is the "physical" book -- with all the inherent printing and related costs -- available via B&N for $10.00 while the eBook from B&N costs $12.99? That doesn't seem to make sense. And it actually discourages use of the Nook, which is a shame with such a promising new product. I will likely wait to learn more about Ms. French unless the pricing of physical versus eBooks is more logical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    much better than her other books

    I liked this book a lot. Tana French's last book that I read, In the Woods disappointed me horribly at the end and I was nervous this was going to be the same way. I was actually pleasantly surprised because throughout the book I really had no idea where it was going. I find that she can be a little wordy and although you know a lot about certain characters she talks to much about stuff that either happened in other books or at other times and aren't explained in the book you are reading. This is frustrating to me as it's not really part of a series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2