Customer Reviews for

The Likeness (Dublin Murder Squad Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 310 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Gripping, Througout

Since I enjoy knowing as little as possible before reading a story, I will not give away anything about plot or characters.

I knew absolutely nothing about this novel before reading it (I chose it because it came up on my "Amazon recommendations" list) and *loved* it...
Since I enjoy knowing as little as possible before reading a story, I will not give away anything about plot or characters.

I knew absolutely nothing about this novel before reading it (I chose it because it came up on my "Amazon recommendations" list) and *loved* it. What a terrific idea for a thriller. I haven't felt so afraid while reading a book since I was a kid, and that was thrilling in itself. (Incidentally, I rarely experience books described by reviewers as "frightening" or "riveting" as such.)

At the very beginning, while a couple of characters were being established, the dialogue was not my favorite - a bit reminiscent of Jodi Picoult or other bestselling authors - but the story completely held my attention, and I think the dialogue would certainly play well were the manuscript converted into a screenplay. As soon as the initial characters were a bit fleshed out, I liked the dialogue much better. I loved the characters and grew attached to many of them. Also, unlike many mysteries with promising beginnings, which too often speed up and fall apart at the end, the pacing was pitch perfect.

Kudos to Tana French. I heartily recommend this novel.

posted by MJinPA on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment

I really liked her first book and was excited to get this second one but boy was I like BORED!! I kept thinking, read a few more pages and maybe it will get better but it didn't then I was stuck having to finish it or lay it down. Way Way too wordy.

posted by paperbacksforme on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the story

    This was a great book! I really got sucked into the lives of this woman and the people she lived with. I had a hard time putting it down. I didnt relize The Likeness is a follow up to Tana's book In the Woods. There are things that are mentioned in the book that relate to the first one; however, I had no problem following the story having not read In the Woods. I look forward to reading more of Tana's work.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent suspense novel

    The Likeness: Cassie Maddox is a detective in Ireland, assigned to the Domestic Violence Squad. But four years ago she worked briefly undercover as Lexie Madison, a college student who dealt drugs. Cassie gets a call from her former boss to meet him at a murder scene. When she arrives, she is stunned to discover that the murder victim is a young woman who looks exactly like her. She is even more stunned to find that her name is Lexie Madison, the fictitious identity created by Cassie and her then boss, Frank. This Lexie was a post-graduate student living with four others in Whitethorn House, a large estate owned by one of the other students, a very tight close-knit group of friends. Frank convinces Cassie that to solve the murder, she needs to take on the identity of Lexie once again. While Lexie's friends believe she is in a coma, Cassie uses this time to learn everything she can about this Lexie and then moves into Whitethorn House to take Lexie's place. Cassie becomes Lexie so well and becomes fascinated with her alter ego and the life/lies she was living, so much so that it becomes uncertain whether Cassie wants to solve the murder at all or to continue living Lexie's life.


    Cassie Maddox was in Tana French's debut novel, In the Woods, but was not the main character. The Likeness makes many references to the first novel but it is not necessary to read it before reading this one.

    The Likeness is incredibly suspenseful with a well-constructed plot. The first three quarters of the book moved along at a fast pace. The ending seemed to drag a bit, but this may have been because I was reading it a two o'clock in the morning and was very tired. But I didn't put the book down to go to bed because I had to finish it! I had no clue who the killer was and only three quarters of the way through did I begin to have suspects. Not only was this story a great mystery but Cassie Maddox is a great, complex character and I wasn't always sure what she was going to do. This is a must read and I also recommend In the Woods
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Enthralling!

    After reading book one, I was excited to read from Cassie's point of view. The book had its confusing moments, and things that could have been left without saying, but overall I was very happy. There were twists and turns that no one could have suspected in a very pleasant way; however, I wasn't too satisfied with the end. I felt it was rushed. I am looking to read the rest of the series though!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    Great book

    Really well written and great character developement. Tana French does a great job to keep you guessing throughout the mystery. Great book! I will continue to read the rest of these series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Favorite of the Four

    I recently plowed through all four books in the Dublin Murder Squad Series and this one was my favorite. Not only was the story compelling but the characters were likeable. It did take a bit for the story to get going, but when it did it took off and I just had to get to the end to see the resolution. I recomment the whole series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Original plot with intense character development. Unique writing style.

    This author develops the interior lives of her characters in a unique way. It helps if you read In the Woods, the first novel by Tana French, where she introduces Cassie , the main character in this novel. I think she maintains suspense throughout. Everyone in our mystery book group loved her first novel and I think this one is even better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    If you read her first book and thought the end was weak, then this one won't disappoint. I found this book better written than her first. The emotional complexities were well described and they really made you think more about a topic that you may never have thought of. Cassie Maddox was a deeper character than last time. The other characters in this book are amazing in there difference and "multi-facetedness" This is a really great read, something you can't put down. It may not be the deepest or most educated book ever, but looking into Irish culture and history and meeting the 4 main characters really makes this book a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    The Likeness is the second book in Tana French¿s series set in t

    The Likeness is the second book in Tana French’s series set in the Dublin Murder Squad. 




    The story has a fascinating premise. The protagonist, Detective Cassie Maddox is summoned to a crime scene. The victim is Cassie’s almost exact look alike and carries an ID identifying her as Alexandra Madison. Not only could the victim be Cassie’s twin, she’s using the name Cassie used when she worked undercover. 




    Cassie agrees assume the mysterious girl’s name, and go undercover to find the killer while at the same time trying to discover who this girl really is.




    Cassie Maddox is a fascinating character. We first met her in Ms. French’s first book, In the Woods, where she was as intriguing and complex as the partner of the main character. 




    In The Likeness, she blossoms even more into a full-blown person, dealing with her own past and moving with tentative steps into her future. Cassie Maddox is as complex, as vulnerable, and as strong as Maisie Dobbs of Jacqueline Winspear’s novels. Cassie’s relationship with her new lover is well done. The external and internal conflicts over her going undercover into a houseful of murder suspects is psychologically revealing.




    This is a well-written psychological mystery with a literary style reminiscent of Elizabeth George and P.D. James. I really enjoyed the psychological aspects of the story. Ms. French pulls us into Cassie’s mind as the character explores the world she finds herself in and finds herself liking the victim and the suspects she is living with. 




    There are a couple of areas I think the story could be improved. All the characters are interesting but the story feels like it goes on too long and at times feels a little repetitious. It seems to sag in the middle, feeling like it is going over the same ground.




    The other disappointment, the main character in the first book, Rob Ryan, is only mentioned in passing in this one. He and Cassie were lovers, and broke up at the end of In the Woods. I would have liked more exploration of the break (only six months have passed) and more effort to find out where Ryan is now. Just to wrap up the loose end.




    Ms. French uses a technique I find very intriguing. Each book has a different first person narrator. The story world shifts with each narrator’s perspective. I’ve read the first chapter of her third book in the series. In it, she takes a significant character from The Likeness and makes him the first person narrator.




    Ms. French presents red herrings along the way that are very plausible and keep the reader hooked throughout.




    In this book, Ms. French maintains the suspense until the final revelation and the last twist is very well done, giving the book a satisfying and believable ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Shay

    Shay looks around, her long raven back hair swishing as she does so. "Um, hello?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Good book

    Goodbook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Slight Spoiler Alert

    A very gripping story, but not as soul crushingly sad as the first book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Liked it, but frustrating

    I really enjoyed this book. I was intruigued by the premise that a look-a-like could look and act so much like another person that she could take over her life. However, I was constantly looking for clues as to how she came to look like the victim. Unfortunately that question was never even a curiosity for any of the characters or apparently for Tana French. It was an important part of the mystery of the book and never answered. Very frustrating! Better that readers know up front that it won't be resolved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Tana French - an outstanding author

    "The Likeness" is the second of Tana French's 3 books. The first, "In the Woods" kept me glued to the pages until the end. This second novel was also good, but I felt it took too long to get to the "meat" of the story. Too many chapters were spent in the squad room preparing for the undercover assignment. After that, the writing didn't disappoint and I was held until the end.

    Her third book, "Faithful Place" is even better. If you can, read all three in their written order so the characters will have more meaning.

    I can't wait for French's next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    bought the book at the store

    i did not recieve the book on my e book, apparently my book is not
    compatible with barnes and noble. please tell me how i can recieve
    a refund

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Very Intriguing, Good Plot

    Bought this as a bargain book and have never read the author's previous book, but this one was able to stand alone without knowing the plot from the previous book. It had an awesome plot, was very creative, and I enjoyed it more than I had expected too. It seemed to drag on a bit, but overall was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    A great mystery novel.

    This book is a follow up novel to "In the Woods". Although it follows one of the characters in the previous book and makes references to a few things that happened, it's not necessary to read "In the Woods" first or at all. I really liked this book. The concept was interesting and I was eager to see how things were going to pan out. There were a few times throughout the book where the story moved a little slower than I would have liked. Some people might have an issue with bad language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Wonderful

    Enjoyed this very much! French's style is more defined since 'In the Woods'. Had me reading for hours, now onto Faithful Place!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    The Likeness!

    I loved this book so much! It was intertaining and I couldn't put this book down. I just got done with her other book. In The Woods, It is great how you don't even have to read them in order. I am planning on reading Faithful Place next! Great author, she wrote these books so well. I wish I could write as well as her! Read them! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This murder mystery had a real twist. I and the members of my book club wondered if it was possible to be so much like another person that you could fool three people entirely. Daniel wasn't fooled for long. I thought the others wanted Lexie back so bad they overlooked clues that Daniel had not. Great ending!
    I am going to read In the Woods, next. You should read it first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I loved this second novel by Tana French. I love reading more about Cassie's character and seeing how she was doing after the first novel. I loved the mystery in this novel and the new characters had me sucked into the story right away. However, the very end after the case was solved, was very slow compared to the rest of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6