Customer Reviews for

The Lilac Bus

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leader's Den

A large clump of blouders supports a fallen log. A crack just big enough for a cat to squeeze through lies between two boulders. Inside is the Leader's den.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I too didn't love this book. I like her other books that are more like novels rather than individual short stories. Dublin 4 had good story lines but again no resolution. Frustrating!!

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Leader's Den

    A large clump of blouders supports a fallen log. A crack just big enough for a cat to squeeze through lies between two boulders. Inside is the Leader's den.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    The Lilac Bus, plus

    The plot was good, the reading was entertaining, the ending was non-existant. I didn't realize i was at the end! this particular book had short stories added that i was unaware of and it was disconcerting to be starting a new story when i thought i was still reading the Lilac Bus. I was left dangling, going.. um.. huh????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I too didn't love this book. I like her other books that are more like novels rather than individual short stories. Dublin 4 had good story lines but again no resolution. Frustrating!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    What happened?

    Lilac Bus left me wondering what happened to these characters and why was I set up not to find out. Dublin Four needed a better ending makes me think that other books will leave me asking questions too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Nameless She-cat

    She lays in her nest. Her eyes were closed to show that she was sleeping.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Tigershadow

    Waited

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Aphdi

    Bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Very good listen!

    Maeve Binchy's work is always worth reading, and in the case of the Lilac Bus, well worth listening to. It's so nice it's unabridged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    I think Binchy's editor took her notes from a bunch of unfinished story/novel ideas and published them as a book. Her usual interesting scenarios & engaging writing style - but DEEPLY unsatisfying since every one is undeveloped & ends in th

    I think Binchy's editor took her notes from a bunch of unfinished story/novel ideas and published them as a book. Her usual interesting scenarios & engaging writing style - but DEEPLY unsatisfying since every one is undeveloped & ends in the middle. Was truly disappointed and frustrated - and actually threw the book in the trash when I was done rather than pass it on to other friends who are Binchy fans. Maybe she will take some of these and finish fleshing them out for us at some point....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    Disappointing

    Unlike most of the other Binchy novels, 'The Lilac Bus' was disappointing due to a lack of closure to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2