Customer Reviews for

Lilac Wedding in Dry Creek (Love Inspired Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    I loved this book!

    I am someone who doesnot tear up easily but this story touched me in a special way. I loved the friendship and love that was between the 2 leads. I love the introduction of faith being a major part of the story. I will certainly read this again and order other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Excellent

    Fun read-inspirational

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Elders Den

    A fallen tree's branches form a protective barrier around a patch of soft grass. A cat can get through the branches, but nature cant. This is the Elders den, where old, retired cats spend the rest of there lives peacfuly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    A Great Read

    I have read most of the Dry Creek Series and this was a great read just like they all are!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    a good book

    A book about a love that lasts, without scenes that a 12 or 13 year old couldn't read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I loved this addition to the Dry Creek series. I love reading th

    I loved this addition to the Dry Creek series. I love reading these books as they are not only a quick read by a great read. I enjoy the faith element in this book. I will definetaly keep reading these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An enjoyable story with a hope-filled message that delights. Hig

    An enjoyable story with a hope-filled message that delights. High on emotion and high-quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lilac Wedding in Dry Creek by Janet Tronstad When Cathy Barker a

    Lilac Wedding in Dry Creek by Janet Tronstad
    When Cathy Barker and her daughter, Lara, show up in Las Vegas, Nevada it causes the handsome gambler Jake Stone to go speechless. Cat is hoping that Jake is ready for some responsibility, like accepting his daughter and raising her in case she can't. She assumes that Jake knows about Lara as he has been sending her money over the years. He had asked her to marry him five years ago without knowing she carried his child, but there was never the mention of love...only doing his duty to protect her.

    Jake can't believe his Cat is here in person or that he is a father. After growing up with an alcoholic and abusive father, Jake has known he could never trust himself to marry. He had money though and he would give his little girl anything she needed. Just not himself.

    After they travel to Dry Creek for Wade and Amy's wedding, Cat sees that without any faith Jake is as unhealthy as she is. Can a trip to the town of Dry Creek bring healing to all their hearts?

    Definitely a Kleenex book. The tears started rolling down within the first few chapters, in a good way of course. Janet has done it again and brought the people of this small town to life with their caring and love as another prodigal son finds his way home. She also brings their emotions to life, whether it's fear of the past or future, love, joy and even feeling the struggle of man wanting to do things on his own...without God. This is book 20 in the Dry Creek contemporary series and book 2 of the Return to Dry Creek Series, also a part of the Dry Creek family but about the three Stone brothers who have returned to Dry Creek after their mother was released from prison. Of course the third brother has not yet returned but I have a hunch we'll meet him in book 3: Wildflower Bride in Dry Creek but that is only this reviewers guess, I could be wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not Bad

    The love Inspired line is some of the first inspirational romance books I started to read almost 10 years ago. These books are great because they are a little shorter then a regular novel but the content is filling. The Dry Creek series was first started back around 2000. It’s a long running series so if you love series this is a great one yet you can read any of these books individually and not be lost. This book is kind of a series in a series as its book two in what I am guessing is going to be a three book series based on three brothers. Jake is coming home to Dry Creek for his brothers wedding. As he is about to leave Cat shows up with her daughter and Jakes life changes forever. Cat has come to find Jake to tell him he is a father so in case something happens to her then her daughter will be taken care of.

    What I liked: The characters where enjoyable. I liked both Jake and Cat as well as Jakes mom and Cat’s daughter is an adorable little girl. The story line was interesting and I felt that we got to know the main characters pretty well.

    What I did not like: Even though the story line was interesting I felt it was a little lacking. The one thing that bothered me the most was that the spiritual side of the story was very weak. Jake was a gambler and had lots of money and also did not trust in God. In the end even though he did come to trust in God again it was not very believable and it happened so fast I was like “that’s it?”

    Over all it was a fun book to read and I enjoyed it. I just felt the climax of the book happened kind of fast and left me wishing for more of a bang. I look forward to reading more of the dry creek books and recommend them to my readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    MY REVIEW i am always amazed at how authors can write such deep

    MY REVIEW

    i am always amazed at how authors can write such deep subjects and make the characters so real in such few words. Janet did an awesome job in bringing Jake and Cat to life with their insecurities and trusting issues while still keeping the story line flowing. The small town life with its gossips and troubles as well as its close friendships was portrayed much like the town i grew up two miles from, and though this is a short story, i love the way a series (in this case Dry Creek) in the Love Inspired Line fit together and how you learn to know the characters in town even better than in full length novel series, where often characters from another novel only make appearances. This is a collection i would like to re-read one after the other in the order they come in.

    Thank you, Janet for sending me the book to review. Only sorry it took me a little while to get it done. Blessings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Jake is going home..back to Dry Creek to attend his Brother's we

    Jake is going home..back to Dry Creek to attend his Brother's wedding.
    He didnt realize that he would find Cat Barker after all of these years...
    Jake and Cat had a past relationship and they hadnt seen each other in several years.
    Cat has a young daughter who Jake has never met...and after talking to Cat, he realizes how strong his feelings are for her

    Both Jake and Cat are scared to trust their feelings and Cat also has some issues that will challenge her faith.

    Jake is nervous about meeting his Mom again after all the years that they had not communicated. He runs into several people in Dry Creek that he grew up with, and he dosent realize the extent that everyone still cares for him ( even after all the time that he was away ).

    I love the small town feel of all of the "Dry Creek series books" and I can almost smell the lilacs that are wonderfully descirbed in this book! i recommend this entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1