Customer Reviews for

Lilies in Moonlight

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!

    Lilies in Moonlight by Allison Pittman

    "I've never felt like anybody loved me. I never knew my father, and I think mama always blamed me for running him off. He didn't want no baby." She said the last two words in her mother's thin, clipped tone. "And when she talked about God, well, it's nothing like what you have to say. She just said that God wants me to have long hair and long skirts and to be good. But I...I don't know how to be good. Not good enough. Never good enough." ~Lilly Margolis

    Lilly is our beautiful heroine, a flapper girl trying to find her place in a changing world. After leaving the clutches of her emotionally unavailable mother in Pennsylvania, she finds herself at the home of Betty Ruth Cullen, the sweet-loving matriarch of our story. Even though Betty Ruth suffers from dementia, she embraces Lilly completely and the two develop a close friendship.

    Cullen Burnside is the only child and heir of the Burnside fortune. His passion is baseball, earning him the nickname "Moon" during his high school years. "It's a baseball term," Cullen said, almost in rescue. "When you hit a ball high and long, it hangs in the air. Seems like forever. Looks just like that." He pointed the remains of his cone to the sky. "Guys call it a moon shot." But when his baseball career doesn't work out, he enlists in the army. The harrowing effects of the war leave him emotionally and physically scarred.

    Lilly and Cullen are at a crossroads in their lives. Both bearing the scars of a past they wish they could change. When their paths intercept, something miraculous happens....healing. Both learn to accept their mistakes and embrace forgiveness fully and completely.

    I enjoyed this story from beginning to end. I have always loved the early 1900s, especially the Roaring 20s. There was so much change going on in the world and such an exciting time for women. I guess that is why this book grabbed my attention from the first page and wouldn't let go long after turning the last page. Ms. Pittman definitely captured the essence of the roaring 20s and brought it to life on the page. I loved each character and the relationships they developed with each other. I have to say, though, that Moonsie was my very favorite. I loved him instantly. Lilly will definitely make her way into your heart just as she did the Burnsides and remain there long after closing the book. She's feisty, flirty and forward but downright lovable. I also loved that we got see her vulnerable side. All of these elements were so visual in the writing and at times moved me to tears. Such wonderful writing and beautiful characters make this book one of my all time favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    great no bodice ripping romance!

    This is a great, classic, no bodice ripping romance novel. Lilies in Moonlight, is just the perfect, sweet and romantic tale, of two lost souls who heal each other through their love and devotion. Lilies, take place in the 1920’s and combines two things that people at that time were fond of, baseball and flappers. I have never read a romance novel that took place in that time period and did not just revolve around speakeasies. I found this story completely refreshing and unique.

    Lilies, made me cry at a few parts, just like any good romance does. Too bad I was in the airport when I was crying, embarrassing my husband. There are both happy and sad parts in this book and you really get to see quite a bit of character development in the two main characters. I fell in love with their story. It is a bit predictable, but what good romance isn’t? There are also elements that I would not have expected, like the verbal abuse that Lilly has taken her entire life from her mother. The reader can easily see why she is the hurt, lost soul that she is. You cannot help but want to reach out and hug her and tell her that she is not what her mother says she is.

    Cullen is also lost. He has failed at his passion, baseball, and was severely injured when he went off to war. This obviously makes him very self conscience about his looks since he is scarred. He is also tied to his mother who is suffering from Alzheimer’s. He is not your typical hero and Lilly is not your typical heroine. This book does not follow the norm of one wounded soul being saved by a strong hero or heroine, or a bad boy being saved/redeemed by the girl. Lilly and Cullen need each other to find peace, but they must overcome their demons in order to do so.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone grades 7 through adult. Even though this was primarily written for an adult audience, there is absolutely nothing that would make this a bad book for school aged kids. This book is cleaner than most YA books nowadays.

    There is no sex, swearing, or violence. There is some illegal drinking, since that is how the two main characters come together, but it is not excessive and there is a positive outcome. Drinking is not shown in a positive light.

    I received this book as an ARC. I do not get paid to review books; I do so in order to assist you in recognizing books that you might enjoy and also to assist parents and teachers in recommending appropriate books for your kids to read.


    Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    This was a great book. I love historical fiction books and this

    This was a great book. I love historical fiction books and this was a pretty fun one. It takes place in the 1920's and has all of the fun of black and white movies and flappers. Lilly was the kind of girl who strived for what she wanted and usually got it. She was the epitome of beauty and success. Yet she didn't have what truly makes a person whole and successful, Jesus. This book starts out with Lilly trying to sell perfumes and such, but can't seem to get a break, until she comes to the door of Betty Ruth Burnside. Instantly you fall in love with the adorable old woman just as Lilly does. As the story progresses Lilly ends up staying with the Burnsides and she learns what it's like to have a mother truly love her, because lo and behold, her own mother despises her. Not only is this a romance between Lilly and Cullen, Betty Ruth's son, but it is also about Lilly finding healing with her mother. Cullen is quite the gentleman and it is easy to like him, even though he is a scarred war veteran. This book is also about Cullen finding healing; the kind of healing that comes from Jesus. The love of Jesus is very apparent throughout this book. This book is truly all about healing. It was very well written and it keeps your attention and suspense throughout the whole thing.

    I recieved this book through Waterbrook-Multnomah Publishers through their Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    A Fun Read

    I don't know much about the "roaring 20's", but after reading Lilies in Moonlight ¿I think I'd like to learn more about it; it was a time full of war, baseball, flappers and so much more. This book tells a beautiful story that incorporates aspects of the culture of the 1920's in a way that makes the reader feel as though they are there with the characters. From Cullen Burnside's extravagant home to the tiny clapboard house Lily grew up in, Allison Pittman fills the books with details from many different lifestyles in this time period. The writing is superb and I love that the story is written from the viewpoint of both Lily and Cullen; it makes the story deeper and richer. When I finished reading this book, I was a little sad that there wasn't more to the story. I'd really love to know how the story continues. Overall, this is a wonderful story that is well-written and a joy to read.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Mediocre Book

    Overall, I would say this book is mediocre. It was somewhat slow at the beginning, but I really enjoyed the last part of the book. Lily is a young woman trying to find herself and she is running from her problems. She does not have a good relationship with her mom, which is why she has runaway. Cullen is a young man who is also trying to discover himself and who is hiding from his past. His father died young, which has left Cullen to help care for his delusional mother. They come together and eventually fall in love. Along the way, their love is tested. They both must overcome individual hurdles that are stumping their growth as a person. I really enjoyed the last part of the book, but the beginning was quite slow. It was a good book, but one I would not highly recommend. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinions are exclusively mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Roaring '20s FUN!

    Fun, fun, fun!

    Lilly Margolis and Cullen Burnside are about as opposite as two people could possibly be. He's the tortured, scarred, reclusive hero. She's the carefree, beautiful, unfettered flapper who drops into his world and turns it upside down.

    While Lilly upends Cullen's life, he and his sweet, gracious, ever-more-senile mother set hers to rights. Cozily ensconced in their palatial home, she finds much more than a world of more wealth than she's ever dreamed of. Lilly learns about family and faith.and what love really means.

    When push comes to shove, it's a road trip across the country with a car full of varied personalities that brings some answers and clears the way for love to work its magic.if the war hero is brave enough, and the girl forgiving enough.

    I loved this storyline. Fun, entertaining, touching, and absolutely believable. Add well-written to the mix, and Allison Pittman definitely hit one out of the ballpark with Lilies in Moonlight. Very highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Very good, loved it.

    I can't say enough good things about this book. Once I got started on reading I could not put it down, no kidding. Even when I was suffering from a migraine I decided to take a bath and take this book with me (actually, that happened twice). When we were having a rainy, nasty day...I picked this book up and started reading. Next thing I know it was after my boys bedtime and I finished Mrs. Burnside, an older lady with dementia. After a party Lily finds herself in the backyard of Mrs. Burnside, passed out and injured. Lily meets Cullen (Mrs. Burnside's son) and begin a stormy "relationship". Cullen has his own demons but his are more obvious. I say relationship because they aren't a couple but because Lily is living in his house they find themselves running into each other a lot. With Mrs. Burnside's oblivious help these two people find hope and a chance for new beginnings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "LILIES IN MOONLIGHT" (REVIEW)

    "LILIES IN MOONLIGHT" BY ALLISON PITTMAN

    It's the roaring twenties and Lilly Margolis literally stumbles into what could be true love. With her charm, wit, and love of life she changes the lives of two people that had thought their happiness at an end.

    This story was delightful and intriguing, a beautiful tale of love and how one person could change your life forever.

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend-Take the time to read it!

    Lilies in Moonlight, by Allison Pittman, is set in the Roaring Twenties-1925 to be exact. Lily Margolis, a flapper girl with a sweet heart but the wrong decisions, is searching for her way. She knows God loves her-but she has also learned the hard side of God's law from her mother. Lily ran away from home after being told many times that her sins were so terrible and that God would never forgive her. As she makes her way selling cosmetics door to door, she stumbles upon the home of Cullen and Betty Ruth. She is taken in by Betty Ruth, who loves Lily because Betty Ruth only knows how to love people for who they are. As Lily takes residence in the Burnside home, she learns that Betty Ruth suffers from dementia, and that Cullen is an heir to a successful financial business. She also grows to love Cullen, despite his disappointing season in the Majors and a face and hand that were badly burned and scarred during his service in the war.

    Since both Lily and Cullen felt as if they were unlovable, they are a perfect match for each other. A roadtrip to Pittsburgh to see the World Series, Lily returning to her mother to forgive and ask for forgiveness, and some excitement along the way, all lead to Lily and Cullen's love becoming stronger.


    I felt that this book was a bit predictable. However, I haven't read a lot of 1920s historical fiction, and I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Lilies in the Moonlight

    "Lilies in the Moonlight" by Allison Pittman is novel about love and second chances. Set in the times after the war, Lily is a girl who, while trying to make money for rent and living, meets a family that shows her about acceptance, love, and what it means to do the right thing. It is a nice story that you will capture your heart and will teach you something more about life.
    I really enjoyed reading "Lilies in the Moonlight" and I would suggest it to other readers who are looking for a light and relaxing read. Pittman does a great job building the characters and setting the plot for the story.
    I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    A MUST READ WITH FLAPPERS,BASEBALL,&ROMANCE! LILIES IN MOONLIGHT BY ALLISON PITTMAN....

    RATING:4.5)LILIES IN MOONLIGHT by Allison Pittman is an interesting inspirational historical romance set in 1925 Florida. It is written with depth and details. The characters are engaging,charming and will capture your heart. It has flappers,family,baseball,cosmetics,
    wealth,love,mercy,grace,faith and romance. This story will lead the readers from wealthy homes to backwoods tent revival,through hard times,hard truths while a war-wounded man chases a heartbroken wild girl. You will enter their world and experience their hurts,heartbreak,disappointments,their faith,trust and finding true love. While this is a compelling story of love and faith it is also a fun story with hope,overcoming barriers and turning pain of your past into living life to its fullest. This story of Lily Margolis and Cullen Burnside will capture your heart and hold you spellbound while to enjoy their story of true love and faith. Flapper meets baseball/war-wounded,one has lost his jest for life while the other is just plain old lost. Together they will find a place of peace and happiness. A must read. This book was received for the purpose of review from Library Thing and the publisher and details can be found at Multnonah Books and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is a story about a poor girl and a rich boy who appear to be different but actually have a lot in common. I loved this romantic, spiritual story and it kept me turning the pages. Lilly is fun and energetic. She's just what the Burnside's needed in their lives and they are just what she needed. The only part of the book that I was disappointed in was the end. I don't want to spoil the ending for anyone but I wish the characters at the very end had interacted a little more or that a little more would have been told about that relationship earlier in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Lillies In Moonlight

    It is the first by this author and won't be the last. I really enjoyed her pure and wholesome tale of a historical romance. The novel is a love story about Lilly, a flapper from the roaring 50's and Cullen, a baseball player who was injured in the war. Cullen is a Christian man of wealth where Lilly is a non believer who grew up poor and with a single mother who showed her no love. Cullen's mother Betty Ruth takes Lilly in and shows her love and acceptance Betty Ruth who is slipping into dementia is a most wonderful character and perfect example of a true woman of God.
    At first Lilly is untrusting and defensive of any help. She has been used by so many people in her past. Cullen is unsure of her motives and worried that she is out to hurt his mother. As time goes on, with a few very exciting adventures for the group a love and trust develops.
    Miles, the long time family chauffeur and Eugenie the maid provide lots of interesting thought in this book. I really liked the way they were portrayed during the era that was not so kind to people of lower social standing.
    Lilies in Moonlight have lots of scripture in it, and conversations about the bible and God. It was very refreshing and easy to read. Once I started I didn't want to put it down. If you are looking for a sweet easy read this book is for you. I look forward to reading more books by Allison Pittman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    A Must Read

    One of my favorite parts about reading a book is being sucked within the pages! This book was no exception when it came to entertaining, and leaving you waiting to read the next page. This Christian fiction, romance novel was set back in the 1920's when a young lady named Lily has run away from her overbearing mother and ends up in Florida. Trying to forget her troubles which ultimately leads her to getting drunk, twisting her ankle, and landing in a WWI hero's back yard. This book is not just about two people falling it love, it's also about a woman reconnecting and accepting God, and connecting with family. Unlike some books I've read, this one was full of wonderful descriptions and really made you feel like you were back in the 1920's, a fly on the wall, experiencing the same experiences as Lily and Cullen. Although this book was slightly predictable, with no immense twists and turns, I found it very fun to read. I would definitely suggest this book for someone who is looking to be entertained, and enlightened. You won't be disappointed!!

    I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    The perfect romance

    This was simply the best inspirational romance novel I have ever read. I read quite a lot of books which cross many genres. However many of my favorites through the years have been inspirational romance, stories which show that love does not have to be torrid or unpleasing to God, that it can start and be centered on each partner's relationship with God and putting Him first in their lives and in their relationship.
    The characters in this story were so real to me. Betty Ruth reminded me quite a lot of my own mother who sadly began suffering from age-related dementia about eight years ago. She passed away on April 2nd of this year and I miss her dearly. This book reminded me to treasure every moment with those you love, especially your elders, because you don't know from one moment to the next if someone suffering from a neural impairment such as dementia or Alzheimer's disease will remember you or when it is their time to be called home to the Lord. So, remember to treasure your loved ones and say I love you as much as you can.
    Lily Margolis, the title character as it were, came from a very difficult upbringing and reminded extraordinarily of my childhood best friend who was raised in a similar home that seemed to lack any love or warmth. Her mom was very religious and treated Dana harshly at times, as well as blaming her for Dana's father leaving since he didn't want to be responsible for any children. Lily's background is nearly identical to my friend Dana's in that her father left her mother before she was born, a circumstance for which Lily's mom solely blames Lily. She also resents Lily for the hard life she herself has led, being a single mother in a time when such circumstances were not accepted at all by society. As soon as Lily was able she fled her mother's home trying to land her feet. She becomes a cosmetics saleswoman, similar to the well-known Avon Lady, and that is how she meets Betty Ruth. Betty Ruth is delighted with Lily and buys all of her products. Lily is a flapper during the "Roaring '20's" period of our American history and the evening after selling her entire inventory to Mrs. Burnside, she accompanies a friend to a very high-class party. After imbibing a bit too much alcohol and wandering off, Lily passes out in the Burnside's rear garden. She is found the next morning by the housekeeper who thinks she is dead.and calls on the dashing Cullen Burnside to help. To see what ensues you'll have to read this terrific book for yourself!
    This was one of those books that the reader finds themselves thoroughly engaged in and does not want the story to end. I sincerely hope there are sequels to this novel because I didn't like saying farewell, however fond, to Betty Ruth, Cullen, and Lily most of all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Sweet Historical

    I devoured this enchanting book in two days! It has something for everybody: romance, baseball, war, religion, family, etc. This sweet story follows a flapper named Lilly in her quest to find happiness. She finds happiness and love in an old widow named Betty Ruth and finds something much more in Betty Ruth's war-torn son, Cullen. This family teaches Lilly about forgiveness and family while Lilly teaches them about friendship. The thing that really stands out to me about this book is the lyrical way it is written. Allison Pittman uses beautiful language and wit to create a heartwarming story that enchants the reader and leaves them as satisfied as Thanksgiving dinner! I highly recommend this book for anyone and Ilook forward to reading more from Allison Pittman. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Like a movie in your head...

    Never judge a book by it's cover. Well, I have to admit, part of me did. When I chose to read Lilies in Moonlight, the storyline itself was enticing, but the cover art left a lot to be desired...well, at least in my mind. Thankfully, I ignored the cover and dove right in and boy was I glad I did.

    Lilies in Moonlight sucked me and kept me reading whenever I could find a spare minute. When I wasn't reading, I was thinking about the book. Lilly and her free-spirited, flapper attitude had me from the get go and of course, Cullen with his dark and crabby attitude made me want to know his story.

    While some of the story felt predictable, the overall story was well written, well thought out, and very well researched. Pitman has done excellent job bringing to life the roaring 20's and the bygone era of prohibition, bootlegging, and baseball. Pittman's characters and attitude reflect, what I can only assume was, an accurate portrayal of attitudes on Christianity, flappers, war veterans, and slavery in the 20's. In addition, if you pay close attention and/or have read any of Pittman's other novels, you will find that there is a character that has continually made an appearance. While the cover art did injustice to the book, the book itself is well worth the read. Readers new to Pittman will have found a new author to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    A Pleasant Romp Through the Roaring '20's

    This is a book about a girl named Lilly (a flapper), a woman named Betty Ruth (an elderly woman suffering from dementia) and her son Cullen (a veteran who suffered war injuries and ex-major league baseball player). These characters come together through a chance encounter and quickly learn more about themselves, and each other.

    One of the things that really charmed me about this book was the chapter headings, all the sudden I felt a little like I was in Thoroughly Modern Millie (one of my favorite flapper films, starring Julie Andrews). They read like the dialogue in a silent movie, perfect for the turbulent 20's in which this novel is set.

    This is a time period which I find fascinating, and for that reason alone I was drawn to this novel. I am never happier than when I am watching Nick and Nora fight crime while drinking a dry martini or Julie Andrews dance her way up the floors in a faulty elevator, wearing a drop waisted gown.

    This was a pleasant book, but it didn't grab me. There were bits and pieces that I enjoyed, the concept was interesting and fresh, but I simply would not be drawn in. However, I did find great connection with several minor characters throughout the book. The story focuses on three main characters for the majority of the book, only bringing Lilly, the female lead, into focus and context near the end of the novel. Only then did I begin to understand and appreciate her character instead of wondering where she was coming from constantly.

    As a writer, I know that it is a difficult feat to balance knowing and recording the thoughts of two characters. I thought that Allison Pittman managed this well (with Lilly and Cullen). I always felt that I knew who was "thinking" and had a sense of the place that was their mind, even their world, based on the words that they used.
    Although this wasn't my favorite book that I've reviewed for Waterbrook/Multnomah,

    I do think that it would make a perfectly decent vacation read. The story was fast-paced enough (especially as you near the conclusion) to keep the pages turning. If you're interested in the 1920's, so much the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended- a must read!

    I loved this book! It had really neat characters in the story. My favorite character was the heroine, Lily Margolis. She is my favorite because in some ways, she is like me. In the beginning of the book, she sells cosmetics called Dalliance Cosmetics and I sell Mary Kay! She hasn't been the perfect Christian and I definitely haven't been a picture perfect Christian either! I can relate to Lily's whole "love" situation in the story, not knowing if the man you love loves you back. She had "a thing" for Cullen Burnside the whole book, and he for her, but he wouldn't show it. I would recommend this book to anyone! Lilies in Moonlight is a good, uplifting Christian romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Lilies in Moonlight

    Hi! I just got a book from Multnomah's Blogging for Books program- "Lillies in Moonlight" by Allison Pittman. Before I get started, I have to say that I received this book for free from the publisher. Anywho, now, this is a really good book- it's set in (I think) about the 1920's- the age of the flapper:) Actually, the story is focused on a young flapper girl, Lilly Margolis, and war veteran, Cullen Burnside. After a night of craziness, Lilly twists her ankle and finds herself in the backyard of a wealthy family, the Burnsides. As she gets to know the family, she finds that she is attracted to Cullen. But each have a painful past- and when Cullen insists that she return home to her past hurt, their budding romance seems to die. They go, but what will each find at the end of the trail? This book is very good- I think it's part of a series, because there were parts that seemed to reference past characters that I didn't quite get, but this fact didn't diminish this book. The 1920's is not a period that is written about a lot in historical fiction, and I find that I am falling in love with that decade. I would definitely recommend this to the person who loves history, romance, and a good dose of fun:) I give this book five out of five stars:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2