Customer Reviews for

The Lilies of the Field

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    What I think!!

    ****The Lilies of the Field, written by William E. Barrett, is a delightful, fictitious book talking about people from different backgrounds and beliefs who work together hoping to make a dream come true. Portrayed in the story is Homer Smith, an African American man with Baptist beliefs who comes across a group of German Nuns. In the story the Nuns believe that God had answered their prayers by sending Smith to help them rebuild their farm and a chapel for their local parishioners. However, through out the book Smith continuously struggles with his own beliefs and questions why he is helping the Nuns. This constant reoccurrence is making it harder for the sister¿s prayers to be answered, because of Smiths personal values. In the book Barrett, displays the hardships that these people had to go through during their time which includes racial tensions, differences in religious beliefs and the harsh attributes of their society that questioned why this man would help the nuns. This short novel captures teamwork and willingness of people in effort to help society. ****I enjoyed reading The Lilies of the Field, by William E. Barrett. As a young girl I had seen the ever popular movie version of it. This influenced me to find the short novel. It is an easy to read book, which captures great themes that people can relate to. Even though this book is not filled with action or romance, it holds great meaning. I would recommend it to others because it is so easy to read. The only thing I did not enjoy about this book is that it is slow going and it slightly hard to get into it. Over all it is an enjoyable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2015

    great material love it

    great material love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    On the surface the story may not be deep rooted but in actual fa

    On the surface the story may not be deep rooted but in actual fact it is deep rooted . I pick up a very old copy of the book n the read inspired me so much so I dwelled my thoughts on the last paragraph . Today when we a split in what ever ways that we want to spilt 'us' from others this book will tell us in the most simplest manner what we all could actually achieve if we are a bit more tolerant and to have the ability and the resolve to see what is on the other side of the coin !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    An interesting and pleasant book

    We saw the film with Sydney Portier based on this book some time ago. More recently, I happened across the book in the used section of a bookstore. I enjoyed it because it gives an interesting look into people's feelings concerning race relations of that day and because it was pleasant reading about an unusual situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    A Book For the Modern Day Reader

    Widely known as a black and white film, The Lilies of the Field by William E. Barrett is a classic book for the modern day reader. Between the covers you will find a story of a wanderer, Homer Smith, who answers the prayers of a nun, Mother Martha, by building a chapel for her congregation. Written at a time when race was a constant conversational piece, Barrett uses universal themes to keep the reader engage. From this novel one can learn about humility in exchange for pride, the meaning of teamwork regardless of ones background, and faith in the face of adversity. If you only have an hour, take the time to read the Lilies of the Field its only 92 pages or less depending on the printing. I promise you it is an easy read and a delightful treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    Another Disappointing Book!

    It is completely pointless and boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    BAD BOOK

    I had to read this book for school. I hated it. It was really boring with no action in it. A real disappointment!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    how the was

    it was ok but it did'nt havve enough action and i also thought the book was about love

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Life of great comparison

    I read the book, than compared it with the Movie. It was a school assignment. If we put the value of this back into our schools it will inable us to see the best out of our children for the future. The books we give to read are design around the grow of tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2002

    Not just a good story

    The other reviews focus on the inspiring story this book tells - amen! But the most inspiring thing to me was the writing: Barrett's prose is elegant, spare, unfussy, yet so evocative that Homer Smith becomes as real as one's best friend. The potentially moralistic story is never preachy, never sentimental. Barrett leaves it to the reader to decide on the **meaning**. It his his business to tell a straightforward tale, and he does that with a text that is seamlessly beautiful. I want to read anything, everything else he's written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2001

    An uplifting book of human hope in times of trouble

    Few books capture the human heart as this one does. A hard working laborer thinking nothing of himself nor much of others is transformed into an unexpected savior. He starts quietly alone unwilling to aid those in need, but he grows more and more compassionate to the needs of others until he achieves his ultimate creation. In so doing he changes the lives of those living in the middle of the desolate desert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2001

    MAGNIFICENT

    THIS BOOK MAKES YOU WANT TO JUST GO OUT AND HELP POEPLE YOURSELF! IT SHOWS A VERY MUCH LACKNESS OF SELFISHNESS. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ALL OF MY FRIENDS IT TEACHES A LESSON FOR YOU TO FIND OUT !!READ IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2000

    Lilies of the field

    I really hated this book it has no interest to me what so ever the only reason i read this book is because it was an assignment for school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2000

    this book deserves a 6th star

    this is an excellent book. i was not able to put it down. i read this book in one day and i hate to read. i would recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1