Customer Reviews for

Lilith's Brood

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    A Great Read

    I bought this book just to try a new Sci-fi author and I was amazed. I was travelling and figured the three in one should at least keep me occupied for a couple of days....I received a very pleasant surprise....I read it each night before I went to bed. I fell asleep reading it....not because it was boring book but because I was so immersed in the writer's world that I read until I would fall out. It is a great book....Three in one....each with a little something new to discover. I am definitely a fan now....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    Most original author ever

    And this is her best work, hands down. These three stories (I am ordering them together NOW!) are utterly enthralling and completely original. There is nothing else anywhere like it. Ms. Butler is also an excellent writer - an unbeatable combination - truly original, a natural story teller and a brilliant writer. A must have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    Wow!

    I read Kindred about three years ago and loved it--kept saying that I would pick up another Butler book one of these days. Well, this trilogy was my next Butler purchase--just saw it in B&N a couple days ago and said--three books in one--sounds like I deal. Let me tell you--this was much more of a bargain than I realized. These stories are amazing--entertaining, socially challenging, critical, scary, exciting, the list goes on. I read one a day--couldn't get enough. After each installment, I was breathless and hungry for the next. THIS IS A MUST HAVE. Regardless of what type of books you normally read--this is a great set to own. I will be reading it again soon and look forward to sharing it with friends!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Why'd it hav' ta end???

    I am so sad my journey is over. Seven hundred pages of pure enjoyment! Butler has created a world so full of life and love and anger and choices and everything. The characters were very well developed, the themes are endless and I truly felt transported into an alternate reality -- Intoxicating!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    One of my Top Ten books!!

    I've read it once, and again, and again. This collection is a 'must have.' I discover more themes and messages everytime I read it. It's a study of human behavior and psychology, a science fiction novel, and a beautiful story. It is full of suspense, erotic passages, hope, and horror. I was heartbroken when it went out of print and could not share it with all of my friends. Now it is back, so don't miss your chance. This is the classic trilogy complete in one volume: Dawn, Adulthood Rites, and Imago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic book!

    I loved this book. It was truly one of the most original books I have read in a very long time. I am excited to find more from Octavia Butler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Octavia's works are absolutely necessary

    I have been a fan of Octavia E Butler only since 2006. That is when the introduction took place. I have read over 75% of her novels and I have grown more and more with each insperience. I would recommend her novel... in fact I DO recommend her novels to any woman I cross paths with who has yet to go through 'Octaviation' :~' *LOVE*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Breathless, Arresting and Indescribably Unique!

    Had it not been for the function of the muscles within my heart I would have stopped breathing as I undertook the adventures in reading this book. Magnificent and bravado are words that truly underscore the brilliance of Ms. Butler's work. By and large a milestone from which to benchmark the skill with which she endeavors to take each reader on the journey into her work. She is able to reach into the bone marrow of your mind and hold you (willfully of course) captive as she sends your imagination upon journey after luxurious journey of a world enslaved with people in fear of themselves and of others that are free to be themselves. Ms. Butler speaks to the atrocities of slavery then and now and very likely tomorrow. She is adapt of creating global universes that mirror the horrowing happenings of slavery and pictures women as heroines determined and ever so vigilant to forfeit everything to ensure survival of their offspring. Truly an inspiration to the world at large...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    On a dare

    I told a friend of mine that I loved to read science fiction books. I was reading Terry Brooks, Anne McCaffrey, Larry Niven, to name a few. He then challenged me to find a black science fiction writer. With the help of my Librarian co-worker I found a black writer, a very expressive and excellent storyteller who just happened to be a woman. This science fiction writer touched my soul through the experiences of the characters in the stories. Near Earth, of this Earth, could have been Earth, all of the stories that MS. Butler has written make re-reading a pleasure. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1