Customer Reviews for

Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Great book!

    Love this! All of Kevin Henkes books are terrific but the ones with the little mice are the best. They never talk down to children. They are intelligent, articulate and just fun to read. Perfect for a little girl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best Children's Books I Ever Read to My Children

    From the moment I read LILLY'S PURPLE PLASTIC PURSE to my children (they were four years old at the time), I knew this book was a classic. The story of Lilly, a mouse so excited about life, about being a little girl, about school, and about her teacher, entranced both of my children, boy and girl. And when Lilly got a brand-new purple plastic purse and brought it to school with her, she proceeded to get into a little bit of trouble because of her innocent excitement. It was so sweet to see how the issue with her beloved teacher was resolved. And what a nice resolution! I think I read that book every single night to them, among the others we would read. As they grew older and started reading other books, I would suggest LILLY'S PURPLE PLASTIC PURSE, not only for the lessons learned, but because I missed that book in our nightly routine (I hold LILLY right up there with GOODNIGHT MOON). To this day, I talk to my now-11-year-olds about LILLY, and we still laugh about her. It is not uncommon to hear me say to them in many situations in their lives now, "Wow! That's about all I can say -- Wow!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    A great book

    My daughter thoroughly enjoyed this book, even though she is a little young( 4). Has a moral too. A "long" book, but good to keep occupied for a few nights. The book has also been turned into a play.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2001

    I use this in my preschool class

    This book is great! The story has enough action and a great climax to keep the kids attention. The kids can relate to lilly when she asks the questions she does!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    Lilly's a perfect pick for your school-bound child!

    Lilly is an outstanding, endearing charcater, whose adoration for her teacher is quite comparable to the behavior of a real child. Henkes consistently creates vibrant, living characters, whose 'problems' are easily recognized by youngsters. I look forward to his next story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Our class loves this book! We love the catchy repeatative phrase

    Our class loves this book! We love the catchy repeatative phrase. It has a great moral to the story; you shouldn't disturb the teacher while he/she is talking. It has great details about the upside and down side to school that kids can relate to. Wanting to share right away instead of waiting our turn is a problem all kids have faced at one time or another. Lilly apologizes for the mistake she made- this teaches kids that sometimes we make mistakes and we should try to fix them. We love it and we think you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    My Favorite Childhood Book!

    I remember reading this book in the first grade or so (long time ago). It would sit on a book shelf in my classroom and everyday during Library/Reading Time I would run to that book shelf, pull out this book and sit down and read it. I absolutely loved the story. It's about having a little something that you treasure, which every child and adult can relate to. It is probably also the reason why I'm obsessed with buying bags! This book may be the cause of my empty bank account but I love it and will buy it for any little girl I love. You should too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    My 3.5 year old son enjoyed this book

    Understandable and realistic storyline about a mouse who did not listen to her teacher and had to be reprimanded. Taught various emotions, including anger, remorse, regret, and happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    i thought that this book was a wonderful exapmle of love and loss. it gives me a deep understanding for love in the material world. i think that this is REALLY meant to be a synopsis of life on the upper east side. however, i think that the obsession goes to far with the love for her teacher. lily could wake up with a humungo burder on her heart. reading this book made me feel BAD *cough*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    Great Fantasy

    I loved this book for the start of school days. Insert a male teacher's name in for Mr. Slinger, the teacher in the book. Captivates young elementary readers. Great for read-a-louds. Great moral learning too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    As a teacher this book really touched my heart. My daughters were mesmerized by Lilly and could really relate as they too had the 'coolest ever' male teacher. This book will keep their interest, make them laugh and teach them that everyone can have a bad day and thats okay. I have also found that this book and a Barnes and Noble gift certificate makes a perfect end of the year gift for teachers that have touched your child's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    Great Read-Aloud for the classroom!

    Kids of all ages really relate to Lilly and her problem. I've read this book to 5th grade students who raved about the pictures and roared at Lilly's antics! Love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    Wonderful Read-Aloud!

    This is a fantastic read-aloud for the first few days of school. It will be a favorite of the children and will leave everyone feeling warm all over! I just smile when I think of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1