Customer Reviews for

Lily Mine: A Historical Fantasy

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

One Hot Historical Romance with a bit of BDSM for fun

I read a lot of romance. Historical isn't typically my thang at all. It's the rare book that stands up and captures my interest, setting itself apart as something unique and intriguing.

Lily Mine by Annabel Joseph does just that.

Lily disgraced her family and ha...
I read a lot of romance. Historical isn't typically my thang at all. It's the rare book that stands up and captures my interest, setting itself apart as something unique and intriguing.

Lily Mine by Annabel Joseph does just that.

Lily disgraced her family and had been cast out. She'd run out of money and strength to walk when she saw a sign. Literally. A sign.... for Lilyvale Manor.
Okay. If I was out of money, had walked farther than my legs were actually capable of carrying me and I saw a sign that said "Michelle's Manor," you'd bet I'd see it as a sign from the heavens above. I'd drag myself down that path if I had to.

When Lord Ashbourne steps into his parlor to meet the female looking for a job, he is stunned to find his wife's doppelganger. This would be the same wife that married him and ran away leaving her family and husband to cover for her absence in order to prevent widespread disgrace. With opportunity presenting itself, Ashbourne makes quite the proposal to Lily. Act like my wife until we find her.

Let's see. Out of money? Check. Can't move another muscle to even leave? Check. Being offered money to be pampered like high society? Check. Who in their right mind would turn him down? Not me. Not Lily either.

Of course he finds in Lily the looks that attracted him to his own short term wife, but he finds the fiery personality he'd expected to marry as well. The attraction between the two boils hot. The forbidden attraction compels them to cross the line society has drawn between their two classes.

And to cap it all off, there is a twist of an ending to explain everything that will leave you mouthing, "No Way! How did I not see that coming?"

Oh and let me not forget to add for all my alpha loving friends out there who like a bit of bondage and spanking, Annabel will not let you down. James doesn't identify himself as a Dom. He isn't a member of any Dommy organization or even clue into what he is doing. It's just part of him. Just the way he likes to make love with her. And she certainly responds positively to having her wrists pinned to the bed while he drives her crazy. It's all pretty light and on the side, so big time BDSM fans, don't go expecting a Lifestyle read. The play seemed exactly right for the times, and gentle enough for historical fans to still enjoy the ride.

Enjoy!

posted by _Michelle_ on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really????

Kind of weird that this gal gets into kinky sex so quickly and without ANY reservations..... In an era when women were taught extreme decency I find it hard to believe that a sweet, well bred lady would jump in the sack so quickly......And allow all his perversions.......
Kind of weird that this gal gets into kinky sex so quickly and without ANY reservations..... In an era when women were taught extreme decency I find it hard to believe that a sweet, well bred lady would jump in the sack so quickly......And allow all his perversions.....I could write HOT better than this . Two stars for the cover.....now that was HOT. Oh and the dude was of course the most handsomest guy ever ever. I grow tired of that. ordinary looking, ugly, not so ugly, cute, and use great underlying features, now that would be interesting....

posted by bebwright on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    One Hot Historical Romance with a bit of BDSM for fun

    I read a lot of romance. Historical isn't typically my thang at all. It's the rare book that stands up and captures my interest, setting itself apart as something unique and intriguing.

    Lily Mine by Annabel Joseph does just that.

    Lily disgraced her family and had been cast out. She'd run out of money and strength to walk when she saw a sign. Literally. A sign.... for Lilyvale Manor.
    Okay. If I was out of money, had walked farther than my legs were actually capable of carrying me and I saw a sign that said "Michelle's Manor," you'd bet I'd see it as a sign from the heavens above. I'd drag myself down that path if I had to.

    When Lord Ashbourne steps into his parlor to meet the female looking for a job, he is stunned to find his wife's doppelganger. This would be the same wife that married him and ran away leaving her family and husband to cover for her absence in order to prevent widespread disgrace. With opportunity presenting itself, Ashbourne makes quite the proposal to Lily. Act like my wife until we find her.

    Let's see. Out of money? Check. Can't move another muscle to even leave? Check. Being offered money to be pampered like high society? Check. Who in their right mind would turn him down? Not me. Not Lily either.

    Of course he finds in Lily the looks that attracted him to his own short term wife, but he finds the fiery personality he'd expected to marry as well. The attraction between the two boils hot. The forbidden attraction compels them to cross the line society has drawn between their two classes.

    And to cap it all off, there is a twist of an ending to explain everything that will leave you mouthing, "No Way! How did I not see that coming?"

    Oh and let me not forget to add for all my alpha loving friends out there who like a bit of bondage and spanking, Annabel will not let you down. James doesn't identify himself as a Dom. He isn't a member of any Dommy organization or even clue into what he is doing. It's just part of him. Just the way he likes to make love with her. And she certainly responds positively to having her wrists pinned to the bed while he drives her crazy. It's all pretty light and on the side, so big time BDSM fans, don't go expecting a Lifestyle read. The play seemed exactly right for the times, and gentle enough for historical fans to still enjoy the ride.

    Enjoy!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Really????

    Kind of weird that this gal gets into kinky sex so quickly and without ANY reservations..... In an era when women were taught extreme decency I find it hard to believe that a sweet, well bred lady would jump in the sack so quickly......And allow all his perversions.....I could write HOT better than this . Two stars for the cover.....now that was HOT. Oh and the dude was of course the most handsomest guy ever ever. I grow tired of that. ordinary looking, ugly, not so ugly, cute, and use great underlying features, now that would be interesting....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    NOT WHAT I EXPECT!

    I LOVE HISTORICAL ROMANCE BUT THIS BOOK IS ALL ABOUT THE LORDS INSATIABLE APPETITE FOR SEX!. DON'T GET ME WRONG STILL LOVED THE BOOK, BUT SOMETIMES THE SEX SCENES WERE TOO MUCH! VERY SURPRISING.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    not my favorite but not bad

    I enjoyed the book but is not on my list to read again. Just seem to lack something what I am not sure.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Great book

    Loved this book, suprised with sex parts, but enjoyed the story!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great romance

    This was a great romance, even with the BDSM thread and a very satisfying ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    I am shocked by the rating for this book. 4 stars, really? I rea

    I am shocked by the rating for this book. 4 stars, really? I realize we are all have different opinions, but…. wow. I have legitimately never read a book that was so poorly written. Ever. 

    Character development is practically nonexistent, and the plot is very rushed. The writing is really, really bad, and as hard as I tried to overlook it, it overshadows the story. I suspect this was the author's first foray into writing, because the writing in Disciplining the Duchess isn't nearly as bad. Here's an example from page 121 of the book:

    "The problem is that…" Chew, chew, chew. She waited anxiously to hear what the problem was. He finally swallowed and looked at her with gravity. "The problem is that while the enjoyment of such pleasurable diversions would be, certainly, quite satisfying to us both, it is not my right to… to besmirch your sensibilities, as you are not actually my wife."

    Chew, chew, chew? Bad, bad, bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Not what I was expecting

    OK so histrocial romance is a hidden secert like of mine. I don't like to admit it so many of the stories are chessey, but so many are something else. Well this one wasn't it could have been and it was a good read, but just didn't hold up to some of the others I have read by Ms Joseph. here's hoping my next Annabel Joseph novel is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Love this book

    What a great story. I wish there was more to read about lily and james.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great Book

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. Over the top and I loved every minute! I could not get enough if you know what I mean!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3