Customer Reviews for

Lily of the Nile (Cleopatra's Daughter Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

review taken from One Book At A Time

It's funny how books about the exact same time period and people can have totally different feels to them. I've read Cleopatra's Daughter by Michelle Moran as well. They basically begin and end at the exact same points. While I like one slightly more than the other, ...
It's funny how books about the exact same time period and people can have totally different feels to them. I've read Cleopatra's Daughter by Michelle Moran as well. They basically begin and end at the exact same points. While I like one slightly more than the other, the both were so different in style that if you enjoy Selene's story you should read them both.

Selene felt young in this book and thus I think the book feels more young adult. This book also had a touch of magic that I found I really enjoyed. I still really enjoyed her character because she's still a princess even if she's been stripped of her titles. She refuses to bow down to her captors and I think she eventually earned the respect.

The relationships were different in this one which was hard for me to accept. I found I liked the representation of Juba. I found I liked how Octavian was represented the best. He seemed almost crazy with his obsession with Cleopatra and it reflected a lot in how he dealt with Selene.

I'm actually more excited to read the next in the series. From the end of Cleopatra's Daughter, I wanted to know what happened to Selene next. I can't wait to see what Stephanie Dray does with Song of The Nile.

posted by pagese on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An intersting story

An intersting tale of Cleoptra's daughter and of Rome. Looking forward to the next book. It. will be interesting to see where the next book goes.

posted by Meli_Green on February 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    It's funny how books about the exact same time period and people can have totally different feels to them. I've read Cleopatra's Daughter by Michelle Moran as well. They basically begin and end at the exact same points. While I like one slightly more than the other, the both were so different in style that if you enjoy Selene's story you should read them both.

    Selene felt young in this book and thus I think the book feels more young adult. This book also had a touch of magic that I found I really enjoyed. I still really enjoyed her character because she's still a princess even if she's been stripped of her titles. She refuses to bow down to her captors and I think she eventually earned the respect.

    The relationships were different in this one which was hard for me to accept. I found I liked the representation of Juba. I found I liked how Octavian was represented the best. He seemed almost crazy with his obsession with Cleopatra and it reflected a lot in how he dealt with Selene.

    I'm actually more excited to read the next in the series. From the end of Cleopatra's Daughter, I wanted to know what happened to Selene next. I can't wait to see what Stephanie Dray does with Song of The Nile.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great read!

    totally enjoyable the characters were faceted and credible. totally good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth reading...yet

    I have found myself interested in the early roman times. I picked up this book wanting to sink into this time period. While the descriptions were wonderful the relationships between the characters was laking. I love the dynamic between the twins but the ending fell short, I realized there is another book to come but, this book left a little too much unresolved. While saying that I still suggest that lovers of history pick up this book. The descriptions were on par and the links to religion were quite interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An intersting story

    An intersting tale of Cleoptra's daughter and of Rome. Looking forward to the next book. It. will be interesting to see where the next book goes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Michelle Moran's "Cleopatra's Daughter" is quite possi

    Michelle Moran's "Cleopatra's Daughter" is quite possibly my favorite book. The story of Cleopatra Selene is one of my favorites, as well. So of course, this is right up my ally. I was skeptical from the start, but I stuck it out. One thing, this book employs a lot more fictional license than Moran's. I loved Moran's book because I could feel the terror and the uncertainty right from the start. Moran's felt more realistic, Dray's was a bit more fantastical. Nevertheless, this book was wonderful. I enjoyed how Selene learns to play Octavian's game, being as shrewd as her infamous mother. The two books cannot be fairly compared to one another as they are both different, but the story of Selene is always a gripping one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    The exotic magic of Cleopatra Selene will enchant the reader

    When Stephanie Dray came to lecture at our writers' group, I was more interested in the Mythica dark romance series she writes as Stephanie Draven, than in her historicals. But when she mentioned that there were magical aspects in her Cleopatra Selene series, I decided to check them out. I'm so glad I bought them. I've always been more into urban fantasy than historicals, but the quality of her writing hooked me from the start. I could feel I was actually there, in the nexus of Ancient Egypt and the Roman empire, understanding the beliefs and motivations of the characters. After a dramatic opening which detailed Selene's role in the suicide of her mother, Cleopatra, there was a lot of interesting action, but I wondered where the "magical aspect" was. Let me tell you, tt was worth waiting for. The magical communications from Isis represent a unique, exotic magic that fits perfectly in the mythology of Egypt. I have never read such a compelling account of pagan mysteries. I came to care deeply about Cleopatra Selene, her twin Alexander Helios, and little brother Philadelphus, so much so that I couldn't wait to read "Song of the Nile", the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not put book down!

    I Hate to say that this book was WAY better the "Cleopatra's Daughter" by Michelle Moran,becouse She is one of my fav book writter. Once I started reading I could not stop reading it! I kept telling my self one more page or just one more chapter. Then in the end I finished the WHOLE BOOK IN ONE DAY! THis is a MUST READ! I could SO read this again. ^-^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    As an aspiring historical fiction novelist, I consider Stephanie

    As an aspiring historical fiction novelist, I consider Stephanie Dray a model and an inspiration of what I would like to create. This trilogy is hard to put down, it doesn't drag at all, every page is filled with action and suspense. 
    I read it fitfully due to little time, but at the end of the weeks I finished the three books, it felt like I had been watching a soap opera. It is that fast paced, that reading a little every day was like breaking into episodes. The descriptive style makes it easy to visualize the scenes, and imagine the characters. You feel like these personages are well known friends.
    A TV series should be made after it. 
    Fans of Phillippa Gregory, Jean Plaidy, Colin Falconer and historical fiction in general, will love this.
    Bravo Stephanie Dray !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    LILYCLAN

    App den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    If you thinking of bying you better or your really missing out big time.

    This book is amazing and im lucky it was summer vancation when I bought this book because I serously could not put it down. This book is about Cleopatras daughter Cleopatra Selen and her two sons Selens twin and younger brother. After the death of their mother Selen and her brothers are taken to Rome and livewith there fathers first wife, step-brothers, step-sisters, and cousins and enderor many hardships and trials. Well I don't want to spoil the book for you so I strongly recomend you bying this book you won't regret it trust me I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 26, 2011

    100% Entertaining

    I decided to read this book because of many wonderful reviews I saw. THANK YOU! I would not have picked it up if it weren't for them. I really enjoyed it and can't wait for the next one in this series. I loved how I was transported to Rome in this book. I was there with Selene as she first gazed eyes on the ancient city. I am not sure how historically accurate the book may be but it was 100% entertaining.

    Princess Selene struggles to survive, protect her brothers, defend her faith and attempt to bring a Golden Age all while adapting to a new place, a new family and a changing body. I couldn't put this book down.

    I definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading historical fiction. I can't wait for October 4th for Song of the Nile to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    A Must read

    I love the stories that come from Egypt and this one is one of the best. Cleopatra's daughter is a credit to her name and legacy. I was not able to put this book down once I picked it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!!

    This is one of the best books I have read. If you're into history and magic and that kind of stuff you need to read this. I had to make myself slow down at times 'cause it was so interesting i couldn't wait, if that makes sense :). Bottom line, great little book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Recipe for Excellence

    Take the decadence, the gritty intrigue of HBO's Rome. Add in a dash of GRRM's moral ambiguity and impossibly difficult choices. Throw in the exaultation and strength of the divine feminine in The Mists of Avalon. Distill it in intricate historical accuracy and painstaking research. Sprinkle with magic.

    Read for hours.

    That's Lily of the Nile.

    Characters grow, change, morph and each one makes you feel something. The most minor of characters add depth to the major players. You cannot read this book without feeling the gamut of emotions. Your breath will be stolen, your heart will pound, you'll laugh, cheer, hate, rage, sympathize, adore... All because Lily of the Nile transports you into a River of Time where magic and gods thrive, while humanity does what humanity does... Live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    READ THIS BOOK! It's a page turner.

    This book is historic fiction, not a romance book. The characters were all REAL people. It is extremely well researched and written. Can't wait for the next two books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    A Must Read

    Lily of the Nile is quite simply flawless. From the opening pages, the author weaves a spell that connects the reader to the character Selene so intimately that it's impossible to put the book down. Selene is such a realistic character--she's vulnerable and deep and complex. And the transition from childhood to womanhood is portrayed with a style and voice unmatched. This book is going on my keeper shelf forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Read!

    I loved the book. I found it to be extremely well written and well researched. The characters, even those who did not appear often had depth and a history all their own. Small details, like the decorations for the Saturnalia festival and the Roman wedding ceremony dress and preparations had obviously been researched and added life to the story. For me, who has always had a fondness for ancient cultures, especially Egypt, it made the story that much better.

    Over the course of the story, the reader watches as Seleste grows from a royal child into a strong, independent woman. She fights to protect her family, her people, her goddess, and herself. But it isn't just about family, loyalty, faith or empowerment, though it is about those things. Its about learning who you are and what you are willing to do to achieve your dreams and protect those you love. And what you are willing to give up. In this, the author has done an excellent job. She could easily have made Seleste the perfect historical figure - kind, loving, determined and without any qualms about the things she had to do to survive, or the darker sides of her personality. Instead Mrs. Dray has given us the whole person: she worries about what she's doing, she lies, she has a temper, has a crisis of faith, and makes mistakes.

    Mrs. Dray's novel kept me reading, captured me with beautiful detail and emotion and a plot rife with political intrique and self-discovery. I recieved the book on Monday, intending to read the first chapter and then put it aside until Christmas Break. Instead I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    strong first century BC thriller

    In 31 BC, Roman legions loyal to Octavian defeats married couple Cleopatra and Mark Antony at the battle of Actium. They follow that victory with a successful invasion of Egypt leading to the suicide of the royal opposition leaders. Afterward to insure no more Egyptian uprising behind a martyr and to extinguish the prophesized Golden Age for Isis worshippers, the young Roman emperor takes the vanquished Egyptian queen's preadolescent children in chains to Rome. He incorporates the older twins Cleopatra Selene and Alexander Helios and the youngest offspring Ptolemy Philadelphus into his household.

    Helios is irate as he loathes bowing down to the barbaric Roman Emperor who has taken away his divined destiny. His wiser sister Selene works the court though she conceals her Isis worship from those who scorn her beliefs as primitive. Selene soon learns she possesses inner strengths, outer enticing beauty to rival her mom, and a need to defend her religious beliefs and her people. She refuses to back away from the emperor as she challenges the man who defeated her mother in ways her mom tried to do but ultimately failed.

    Mindful of Michelle Moran's delightful young adult targeted Cleopatra's Daughter, Stephanie Dray provides a wonderful adult entry that enhances the first century BC thriller with a touch of magic. Selene is strong as she tries to protect her siblings and her people from the wrath of Rome. Historical armchair readers will enjoy a trip to the Mediterranean escorted by the charming Lily of the Nile.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3