Customer Reviews for

The Limit

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My class read this book too!

My sixth grade class was the first people ever to read this before it came out! My neighbor wrote this book and it is awesome! I love it! It has lots if adventure! Read this book!

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is a awesome book!

Wow! This book totally surpised me. Before, I thought that this would be some scary sci-fi thriller. I was totally wrong. This book has a little bit of everything in it. Personally, in the future, I can totally see this happening! I really hope that there is another bo...
Wow! This book totally surpised me. Before, I thought that this would be some scary sci-fi thriller. I was totally wrong. This book has a little bit of everything in it. Personally, in the future, I can totally see this happening! I really hope that there is another book. They should make this into a series! I would totally recommend this book to ANYBODY!!!!!!!

posted by 18307416 on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    This book will keep you entertained to the end.

    Bet book everrrrrrrrr.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Limit was a mild dystopian about modern workhouses and over-

    The Limit was a mild dystopian about modern workhouses and over-spending
    money that I thought Dickens would approve of. It was close enough to
    our world to make it plausible but off-kilter enough to make it a tad
    creepy. There was not a lot of stuff happening or action in the plot,
    but I had a lot of questions so it kept my interest. I enjoyed the
    writing. The characters were fun and easy for me to visualize. She did a
    really good job with the main character, Matt. I loved how often he
    stuck his foot in his mouth. The conflict was rather tame for my taste.
    There was so much potential for a really intense page turner and I was
    disappointed that it didn’t quite go there. I could tell the whole time
    that something sinister was going on, but when we find out what it is,
    the story doesn’t really go into the what and why of the whole thing. I
    guess my complaint is that I wanted to know more! What was the “bad
    guy’s” motivation? What exactly were they doing to the kids? Overall it
    was a good read that was different from a lot of the dystopians out there.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Rachel

    It was so good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Limit

    Such a good book :) im rereading it now :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Im impressed...and very delighted

    for such a short book, i was surprised at how much the story and characters developed. The plot is a wonderful idea and expressed very well =D over all i would definitely recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Good book

    It is a good book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    It is a good book

    In sixth grade last year our class got it read to us ome reason is its a good book for teens and also one of our kids in our class was the writer so i recomend this book to anyone

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    can i read it?

    is this book a good one for teens to read. sounds good, but i dont wanna get it and it be written in adult language:) someone please help me out! also, i put 5 stars cause i didnt know what to put! imma teenage girl who needs a dad gum book! helllppppp!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    me

    best book ever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER

    good for people who like a page turning book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was really good and had a very interesting, but slightly disturbing future. I can't wait for sequels (I hope)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    a truly awesome read!

    The fictional novel "The Limit" by Kristen Landon is an exciting book that is set somewhere in the near future. In the story the government has a strict spending limit for every family. There are severe consequences if a family goes over this limit. Matthew Dunston is a thirteen year-old boy living with his family. Matt had heard about teenagers, whose families had gone over the limit, who were taken away to a workhouse to work to pay back their families debt. Matt goes to a school called Grover Middle School, and is a math geek. He thought that his family was well under their limit, but he was wrong. On one unexpected shopping trip Matt's family spent more than their limit. When they returned home a limo was waiting to take Matt away to the workhouse for his family's punishment. He discovers not everything there is not as it seems. Matt faces many dangers, and by using his intelligence he eventually saves the all the children at the workhouse. I really enjoyed this exciting story because it had me hooked from the first page. The first chapter begins with an 8th grade girl been taken from her family to the workhouse. This made me want to read further on into the story. Landon created some interesting characters especially Brook Reginald, an extremely smart teenager also imprisoned in the workhouse. He never shows his face and is hiding a major secret from everyone. This is very important to the story. The plot was very well put together and kept me guessing constantly. There are a few negatives I had about the book. I disliked how it took a long time before you got to know all the characters. I didn't get to know some of the main characters from the workhouse until page 62 in chapter 7. I didn't like that most of the story took place inside the workhouse. The adventure would have been more thrilling, I think, if Matt traveled beyond the walls of the workhouse. I also disliked that I did not get to learn much about Matt's own family as they are hardly mentioned once he is in the workhouse. As the plot was so clever and the characters were so awesome, the few negatives I had didn't matter. The author Kristen Landon uses the first person point of view, making Matt the narrator. I liked this because it made me feel like I was right there beside him in all the action of the story. I think the book would not be as exciting if it was written in the third person. The author wrote reasonably clearly so I could understand most of the book. I liked how the author uses lot of dialogue in the story, especially the dialogue between Matt and his friends. For example when Matt is playing basketball with his friends he says, "Geez, thanks for your input. Doesn't matter. Nine, five, twenty. I'm still skunking you two" (5). The author really gets inside the head of a teenage boy and the way they talk to each other. All together I think Kristen's writing style is excellent and I would like to read another book by her. I would definitely recommend this book. It is a story full of suspense, thrills and good versus evil. I loved the characters especially Matt, who is a geeky genius and a real hero in the end. I think it is a perfect book for middle school readers as Matt himself is a 13 year old so I can relate to him. I hope Kristen Landon writes a sequel to this book because I would like to read more about Matt and his adventures.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Wonderful book!

    This book is SO great! I loved the whole thing. It was a crazy whirlwind to think that the government was behind the whole catastrophe. Makes you wonder where our country is really going...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3