BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Limits of Power (Paladin's Legacy Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous read, waiting on pins and needles for the final novel!

Great addition to the series. Pak's will be proud!! Fantastic series from 'Sheep Farmers Daughter' to this one. Keep up the great work!

posted by AnonymousRH on July 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Magic is on the rise and people's lives are being destroyed indi

Magic is on the rise and people's lives are being destroyed indiscriminately. The elves have suffered a terrible loss and their home is threatened to disappear without someone to hold the taig. It is difficult to tell who is friend and who is foe.

This is a world were ...
Magic is on the rise and people's lives are being destroyed indiscriminately. The elves have suffered a terrible loss and their home is threatened to disappear without someone to hold the taig. It is difficult to tell who is friend and who is foe.

This is a world were many creatures exist with different levels of ability. The threat comes when one species is more magically inclined. Jealousy and infighting has risen to new heights, in an effort to calm the tensions engagements were arranged between the elves and the humans. Although the ½ breeds are looked down upon and it doesn't help the building tension. Some relief comes when dragons intercede and help bridge the divide. 

As human's start to show magical abilities, they are persecuted and or killed. Hiding abilities leaves many of the characters in a precarious position. There is extreme mistrust of all magical abilities except healing, but even there is a thin line.

Limits of Power was a highly complex and slow moving fantasy. Not reading past installments in this series, I found it difficult to follow. But once I caught on I found the plot very ingruing and enjoyable storyline. There was a lot of character interactions, rehashing (catching up) and getting reacquainted and not a lot of action. Limits of Power is a nice, enjoyable but complex fantasy read.

This ARC copy of Limits of Power was given to me by Edelweiss and Random House - Del Ray in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date June 11, 2013.

posted by Sailon on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Magic is on the rise and people's lives are being destroyed indi

    Magic is on the rise and people's lives are being destroyed indiscriminately. The elves have suffered a terrible loss and their home is threatened to disappear without someone to hold the taig. It is difficult to tell who is friend and who is foe.

    This is a world were many creatures exist with different levels of ability. The threat comes when one species is more magically inclined. Jealousy and infighting has risen to new heights, in an effort to calm the tensions engagements were arranged between the elves and the humans. Although the ½ breeds are looked down upon and it doesn't help the building tension. Some relief comes when dragons intercede and help bridge the divide. 

    As human's start to show magical abilities, they are persecuted and or killed. Hiding abilities leaves many of the characters in a precarious position. There is extreme mistrust of all magical abilities except healing, but even there is a thin line.

    Limits of Power was a highly complex and slow moving fantasy. Not reading past installments in this series, I found it difficult to follow. But once I caught on I found the plot very ingruing and enjoyable storyline. There was a lot of character interactions, rehashing (catching up) and getting reacquainted and not a lot of action. Limits of Power is a nice, enjoyable but complex fantasy read.

    This ARC copy of Limits of Power was given to me by Edelweiss and Random House - Del Ray in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date June 11, 2013.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Fabulous read, waiting on pins and needles for the final novel!

    Great addition to the series. Pak's will be proud!! Fantastic series from 'Sheep Farmers Daughter' to this one. Keep up the great work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    The Saga continues

    This was a great read.....only problem is, I want more, more, more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Marvelous fantasy good versus evil always works.

    The whole Paladin Legacy series is very, very good. I read all of them in a row.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Cant wait for the next one.

    I loved the first trilogy, the books are falling part I've read then so much. I expect these will be the same way soon. I have loved every book in the series. This does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Another engaging, well written book that I will re-read with pleasure!

    Elizabeth Moon is one of the better authors out there in both Science Fiction and Fantasy. Her main and supporting characters are both interesting and engaging. I really care what happens to them as I read. Its a shame that she is not more well known, as she has been an inspiration for many authors, including David Weber for his Honor Harrington series. I unreservedly recommend her for teens and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Series Continuation
    The Eight Kingdoms ar

    Excellent Series Continuation

    <blockquote>The Eight Kingdoms are under threat. Throughout the north, magic is re-emerging after centuries of absence, popping up in family after family-even those with no known mage parentage. Nor is it confined to the privileged classes, but is appearing in rich and poor alike. This is bad enough in lands where such powers are not considered illegal, but now some kingdoms are instituting pogroms, killing everyone in whom the powers emerge, no matter how young or  old they might be.

    And with one very determined traitor at work, intent on undoing any effort at peace no matter how many lives it costs, the future hangs in the balance. It is only the dedication of a few resolute heroes who can turn the tides... if they can survive.</blockquote>



    The story continues where it left off in <em>Echoes of Betrayal</em>
    , with each of the smaller lines of the make up the greater whole cloth of the story being followed. Arcolin, King Kieri &amp; Queen Arian of Lyonya, Duke Verrakai, King Mikeli of Tsaia, Arvid and Dattur, all of their stories crisscross throughout the book. Like the other books in the series it can be a bit confusing at first, when you leave one character's story and go back in time to the next character's story, as the events for each are happening simultaneously.

    In Lyonya they must deal with the iynisins treacherous attack on the Lady. The attack which was successful, killing the Lady (and therefore the elvenhome), and almost having Kieri blamed for the murder of his own grandmother. There is also the aftermath of the war with Pargun, Queen Arian's miscarriage by poison, plans for river trade, and preparation of defenses for Lyonya should Alured the Black attempt the invade via the river in his potential bid to take over the entire land.

    Arcolin has his hands full becoming a Duke, leading his entire Company so that it is all in the south for the fighting season, finding an acceptable wife, and learning the Law for reasons that become clear as time goes on. As well he has dealings with Arvid, former Thieves Guildmaster turned Girdish. Arvid and the gnome Dattur left the Inn where they had been guests to move in with Fox Company for more protection from retaliation from the local Thieves Guild; Arvid had taken his revenge upon the local Guild, recovering his stolen goods and something totally unexpected.

    Duke Verrakai has suddenly adopted the one of her young squires as her heir, the only way to save the young squire's life according to law. Dorrin and her new heir go see Kieri, King of Lyonya and her former Duke and commander, and exchange what news they can while still maintaining loyalty to their respective kingdoms.

    King Mikeli of Tsaia has his hands full, between the royal regalia that Duke Verrakai brought to him as a gift, and the sudden resurgence of mage talents across his kingdom and others. As more and more young people begin to show talents as mages, controversy runs rampant, leaving the King in a very tough spot. Should he support the pogroms to kill anyone manifesting a Mage talent, which is basically the law, or should he and the Marshal-General work to alter law and perceptions about mages? If he follows the letter of the law things would go from bad to heinous in a heartbeat.

    Elves have come from the holding that was discovered in Luap's scrolls, the scrolls Paks had been given as a reward. These Elves demand that all humans be recalled so that they may close the gate to protect from greater damage by the iynisins, and that includes the be-spelled human magelords. Of course no one knows how to awaken the magelords, and don't know if they even should, knowing nothing about them. However it may be a good idea to wake the magelords, as all the youngsters showing ability will need an adult to train them, and Dorrin is the only adult magelord people know and remotely trust, and she is already overwhelmed with jobs. The royal regalia is becoming more restless and demanding, and has begun speaking to a few others that we know of; there is real fear that Alured the Black wants this regalia, and may become unstoppable if he gets it and can use it. And it is looking more and more likely that this is a real possibility. The continuation of this epic fantasy remains strong and engaging, though it is starting to feel as if this story is nearing a conclusion. I remain undecided about this story ending yet, but will let the <em>Crown of Renewal</em>
    tell me what it can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Elizabeth Moon is one of my favorite authors. She knows her wor

    Elizabeth Moon is one of my favorite authors. She knows her world and creates great societies and worlds. That being said I read the second and third book of this series with some trepidation.
    I like finding out about characters that were minor in the Paks trilogy, but sometimes they felt a little stretched. Limits of Power restored my confidence. Yes she is weaving several strands and yes there is no 'evil' person. However we do have 'good' people being ambivalent or if not 'bad' then not behaving well. We have a 'bully' in Regar among the Girdsmen, the elves are not always above suspicion.
    Arvid Semmison's transformation is worth almost the whole book. I am looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Excellent

    Although not as overwhelmingly outstandiing as the previous book, this is still one of the best books I've read this year. The characters are all complex and interesting, and can still surprise you, even in this fourth book. I hope this series goes on for a long time, and that the author does not skimp on fully unfolding all the major characters' plot lines just to satisfy those who want everything wrapped up neatly in each volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Wonderful

    Elizabeth Moon continues to wow with her new book in the world of Paksenarion. I eagerly await the next iteration of this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    it continues the story and adds some new twists.  I enjoyed the

    it continues the story and adds some new twists.  I enjoyed the rich tapestry of life in their world.  I also became invoved with the characters, and care what happens to them..  I can't wait for the next book in this series..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Moon hits it out of the park.

    A required read for any SF fan. Great character development and attention to detail. Every moment until the next book in this series will be agony.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great book

    Really enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I must admit I was very disappointed in this book. The writing w

    I must admit I was very disappointed in this book. The writing was as awesome as the rest of the paks books. But I felt cheated , nothing in the book was new information, and nothing that I can tell has reached it's climax. Had to wait 2 yrs for this one and it was a book of nothing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2