Customer Reviews for

Lincoln

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lincoln comes alive

I have to confess that when I purchased this book I didn't realize it was historical fiction. Nonetheless, this book delivers a unique view of the challenges that Lincoln's presidency faced and blows up stereotypes of the man. Once immersed, I couldn't help but wonder h...
I have to confess that when I purchased this book I didn't realize it was historical fiction. Nonetheless, this book delivers a unique view of the challenges that Lincoln's presidency faced and blows up stereotypes of the man. Once immersed, I couldn't help but wonder how much was based on historical fact and how much was conjecture on Gore Vidal's part. I longed for footnotes despite Vidal's assertion that "All of the principal characters really existed, and they said and did pretty much what I have them saying and doing..." Gore Vidal delivers a flesh and blood portrait of Lincoln in a way that a dry, biographical tome cannot.

posted by 1036766 on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Myth vs. 'Reality'

I had mixed feelings about the book. I think it's very difficult to write a book about a man who is almost mythical (not a great word) to many Americans, and make him 'real.' I think we like to idealize him, make believe that he didn't have ordinary conversations, spoke...
I had mixed feelings about the book. I think it's very difficult to write a book about a man who is almost mythical (not a great word) to many Americans, and make him 'real.' I think we like to idealize him, make believe that he didn't have ordinary conversations, spoke to his wife playfully--in essence, do the things that everyone else does. I think Vidal had a good purpose, and I think it probably came across well (though I didn't get far in the book), but I couldn't get over my own ideas of Lincoln the President, the Emancipator, the War Leader, and Hero of the (then) Republican party. Having been a history major, I think I prefer to look at Lincoln through his own words.

posted by Anonymous on September 15, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Lincoln comes alive

    I have to confess that when I purchased this book I didn't realize it was historical fiction. Nonetheless, this book delivers a unique view of the challenges that Lincoln's presidency faced and blows up stereotypes of the man. Once immersed, I couldn't help but wonder how much was based on historical fact and how much was conjecture on Gore Vidal's part. I longed for footnotes despite Vidal's assertion that "All of the principal characters really existed, and they said and did pretty much what I have them saying and doing..." Gore Vidal delivers a flesh and blood portrait of Lincoln in a way that a dry, biographical tome cannot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    Excellent, unmatched...

    In my opinion, this is the most accurate depiction of Lincoln, the man. Lincoln was truly one of the greatest Presidents America has ever had, besides Washington, and FDR.. No one has ever used the power of the presidency, like Lincoln, before or since his time. He keep the union together by means that were viewed as controversial, border line dictatorial in nature. Lincoln truly was a gifted insightful man, who drew strength from opposition, with a fortitude to face any challenge. Lincoln had a meek strenght that was not understood until after his death..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    here is the president

    The research for this book is incredible. I've read this book ten years ago. I still enjoy reading this book still after ten years. This is an absolute incredible book.I promise you will injoy reading this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This is a remarkably palatable alternative to the standard biogr

    This is a remarkably palatable alternative to the standard biographies one often trudges through. Thanks to historical sources, along with Gore Vidal's creativity, Lincoln is placed squarely in his own time period, where he is judged based on the norms of those days. At times, I found myself shocked that I was reading about the man on the bill in my wallet, but that starkness and realism is just the reason the 'real' Lincoln becomes much more accessible in this novel. I went from idolizing Lincoln, to being disappointed that he fell short of legend, and finally to idolizing him again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    Gore Vidal's "Lincoln" is a superb historical novel that is notable for literary merit and historical accuracy.

    While Vidal's "Lincoln" is a novel, it is excellent history that complements Doris Kearns Goodwin's "Team of Rivals" with a fascinating account of Lincoln's mastery in leading his Cabinet as well as the Nation as the Union was preserved. This is the best of the Gore Vidal historical novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    A Living Lincoln!

    Generally, I prefer my history in non-fictional form. However I have read Gore Vidal's take on Lincoln's war years twice now. To me, it is a tremendously enjoyable portrayal of Lincoln from a human perspective. I've also read various other nonfiction treatments, such as Carl Sandburg. Vidal's 'Lincoln' is fascinating because like most fine historical fiction, it brings the character to life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Myth vs. 'Reality'

    I had mixed feelings about the book. I think it's very difficult to write a book about a man who is almost mythical (not a great word) to many Americans, and make him 'real.' I think we like to idealize him, make believe that he didn't have ordinary conversations, spoke to his wife playfully--in essence, do the things that everyone else does. I think Vidal had a good purpose, and I think it probably came across well (though I didn't get far in the book), but I couldn't get over my own ideas of Lincoln the President, the Emancipator, the War Leader, and Hero of the (then) Republican party. Having been a history major, I think I prefer to look at Lincoln through his own words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2001

    One of My Favorites

    I first received this book from my mother as a Christmas gift back in 1984, when I was 15. I have read it 3 times since then, and still love it. This book shows Lincoln in all his humanity and greatness from dealing with his crazy wife Mary, to fending off political rivals such as Salmon Chase, and evolving from a committment to hold the union together to one ending slavery as well. An excellent compliment to David Donald's book on Lincoln

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Neavoda huffman neavodahuffmanpeace7@jouno.com

    I miss you i hope you can go to madisons even if i get mad and say i don't. You know me right i funny and stupied. By the way this is vicki ashley its not my mom ok. I whader what eli did to day that was sos bad i never thought he would do soom thing like that ever. And hopes he never does it again. I think its bad. I'm bord r you i know i'm talking to much and i'm over at my dads that i always talk about and i am talking to you on my nook frist time. That my dad got me for chirstmas is he alsome or what got to go bye. The end by vicki ashley-matics

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Abe

    I love Abe Linclon, he is one of my favorites. Read this book, stay free

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    great book

    Great read. really enjoyed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2