Customer Reviews for

Lincoln Unmasked: What You're Not Supposed to Know about Dishonest Abe

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Book That Exposes Lincoln For Who He Really Was!

I am continually amazed by all of the previous reviewers who have attacked DiLorenzo and this book. These people know full well that Lincoln was a notorious racist and that he always opposed racial equality yet they still support him because they themselves are liberal ...
I am continually amazed by all of the previous reviewers who have attacked DiLorenzo and this book. These people know full well that Lincoln was a notorious racist and that he always opposed racial equality yet they still support him because they themselves are liberal race baiters. They also don't understand that Lincoln himself throught his career tried to undermine our country, especially during the Mexican War. By all rights Lincoln should have been arrested and executed for treason for deliberately undermining our military and goals. Lincoln had contempt for freedom and democracy. That's why he choose to inaugurate a war that he knew he had no legal or moral right to engage in and why we're still paying the price for it today with an out of control government.

posted by 134766 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother With This Book

Don't bother reading this book. The author skips around the main body of Historic evidence, cherry-picking only those tiny tidbits that fit his skewed world view. Among my favorites is the author's characterization of Lincoln as a warmonger--even though the first shots ...
Don't bother reading this book. The author skips around the main body of Historic evidence, cherry-picking only those tiny tidbits that fit his skewed world view. Among my favorites is the author's characterization of Lincoln as a warmonger--even though the first shots of the Civil Warwere fired BEFORE Lincoln was inaugerated. The fact that he accuses Historians of being a 'cult' is both wrong and pathetic. As for the reviewer that stated that Lincoln 'ordered' the deaths of 600k soldiers is amazing--and incorrect. Look, if you want to read History, and then read the primary source documents. Or, barring that, read responsible Historians, not a second rate Econ professor trying to be a Historian.

posted by Anonymous on September 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Don't Bother With This Book

    Don't bother reading this book. The author skips around the main body of Historic evidence, cherry-picking only those tiny tidbits that fit his skewed world view. Among my favorites is the author's characterization of Lincoln as a warmonger--even though the first shots of the Civil Warwere fired BEFORE Lincoln was inaugerated. The fact that he accuses Historians of being a 'cult' is both wrong and pathetic. As for the reviewer that stated that Lincoln 'ordered' the deaths of 600k soldiers is amazing--and incorrect. Look, if you want to read History, and then read the primary source documents. Or, barring that, read responsible Historians, not a second rate Econ professor trying to be a Historian.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    A Wonderful Book That Exposes Lincoln For Who He Really Was!

    I am continually amazed by all of the previous reviewers who have attacked DiLorenzo and this book. These people know full well that Lincoln was a notorious racist and that he always opposed racial equality yet they still support him because they themselves are liberal race baiters. They also don't understand that Lincoln himself throught his career tried to undermine our country, especially during the Mexican War. By all rights Lincoln should have been arrested and executed for treason for deliberately undermining our military and goals. Lincoln had contempt for freedom and democracy. That's why he choose to inaugurate a war that he knew he had no legal or moral right to engage in and why we're still paying the price for it today with an out of control government.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Honest Look at History

    Whatever your opinion of the 16th President, this book looks at actual historical accounts and tries to show what President Lincoln's actions said about the man. DiLorenzo changed my view on this president based on his reporting of things you never hear of in school. He brings up an amazing question, "Why is no one allowed to question the 'greatness' of Lincoln?" Debate is necessary in a free and open society, and DiLorenzo brings that debate to the forefront of American's minds. Important read for any looking to objectively measure history.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lincoln assassinated again

    DiLorenzo has made a bigger career of assassinating Abraham Lincoln than John Wilkes Booth could have ever dreamed. Absolutely shoddy research, spotty quotes and situations taken far out of context and incomplete, judgements on events almost 150 years ago through today's values, the list goes on. This book has it all -- wrong. There is very little different here that isn't already in "Abraham Lincoln...Unnecessary War". The author may be a fine economist, but he is an embarassingly poor historian.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Contrary to what the 'editorial reviewers' indicate, DiLorenzo scholarly documents Lincoln's motivation and presents the underlying pretext for the Civil War. Taken in context with today's expanding role of government and war, the book is definitely worth reading. Moreover, the vehemence against the book presented by the 'editorial reviewers' simply support DiLorenzo's idea of the 'Lincoln Cult' and should encourage you to read the book. Perhaps one of the best reasons for reading is the idea that so many of the historical accounts regarding our Founding Fathers have been challenged, researched and debated, yet when it comes to Lincoln anyone doing so is berated, ostracized, and their account is considered 'vitriolic.' Have to wonder why this is the case, considering you're discussing someone who ordered the slaughter of over 600,000 of his own people.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Conspiracy theorists will love this book.

    Found it interesting, but don't believe it. Rewriting history is a hobby for many conspiracy theorists.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    I must confess that my opinion of Lincoln was never extremely hi

    I must confess that my opinion of Lincoln was never extremely high, and this book served to solidify what I already thought. If you want to know how our country transitioned from a willing group of states that formed a limited government for the purpose of security, to a failed socialist democracy waging war on any nation state that does not bend to our will, this book is the perfect jumping off point.
    Without Licoln's war there would never have been a central bank, a large standing army, and a judiciary that rubber stamps whatever those in power want to do. Every child in America has been taught about Honest Abe, the poor back country , railsplitting lawyer who educated himself by the light of the hearth. This author presents the historical facts that show him to be what we today would call a wealthy lobbyist, who married into a wealthy slave holding family. And that is just one of the little known truths.
    Here are some questions that are answered in this book:
    1) Who was the only president to suspend Habeas Corpus and imprison thousands of his political opponents without due process?
    2) Who was the only president to DEPORT a sitting congressman for the offense of speaking out against the president's policies?
    3)Who was the only president to have an arrest warrant issued for the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, for the offense of ruling the presidents actions to be unconstitutional?
    4)Who was the only president to use federal troops to shut down over 300 opposition newspapers?'
    5)Who was the only president to launch what we today would describe as a terror war on his fellow citizens?


    For one to understand the present and plan the future, we must first understand the past as it truly was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lincoln's True Colors?

    Interesting perspective on the dark side of Lincoln. It will keep your interest and compel the reader to research for additional information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    The best place to find fact,s about Lincoln is the library of co

    The best place to find fact,s about Lincoln is the library of congress. Look for letters , to and from Lincoln, speeches made by Lincoln ( Peoria IL ) before he was elected president. All of this is in the Lincoln papers section ( Jefferson library). I don't accept any thing about Lincoln as fact with out checking tried and true sources of the library of congress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Lincoln Unmasked: What You're Not Supposed to Know about Dishonest Ab

    A great book that need to be required reading in public schools!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1