Customer Reviews for

Lindbergh

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fly Away

In today's busy world, we often take for granted the instant 24 hour communication and travel available anywhere around the globe. Hard to imagine that less than a century ago on May 21, 1927 at 10:24 PM, the Spirit of St. Louis did the impossible at that time. That i...
In today's busy world, we often take for granted the instant 24 hour communication and travel available anywhere around the globe. Hard to imagine that less than a century ago on May 21, 1927 at 10:24 PM, the Spirit of St. Louis did the impossible at that time. That is for someone to flown across the Atlantic non-stop from New York to Paris in a remarkable thirty-three hours, thirty minutes, and thirty seconds. In that instant, everything changed- for both the pilot and the planet.

The story of this pioneer is captured by A. Scott Berg in his book, Lindbergh. This book transports the reader to the excitement and thrill of crossing the ocean blue while capturing the ups and downs of Lindbergh's life. Within his lifetime, the world changed so much that eventually men would be walking on the moon.

Charles Lindbergh was the first global celebrity as he was recognized by all for his daring feat. Lindbergh's life was not all glamour and excitement. The book delves into the tragedy of the killing of his son after being kidnapped. It also chronicles his inner turmoil of the price of fame and disappointment of others. At the end, Lindberg committed his life to the environment and died surrounded by those close to him.

This pioneer never strived for fame and fortune, he simple did what he enjoyed, which was flying, helping people, and making difference in the world. Everyone needs a dream and Lindbergh was able to live his. On his tombstone, he chose a two line passage from 139th Psalm which suggests a supreme belief in the Lord: "If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea."

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, at 628 pages, Lindbergh is a marvelous story of a forgotten hero.

posted by Dr_Wilson_Trivino on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing

I eagerly looked forward to this book and read it non-stop. I've even given it out as a gift on a couple occasions. Now we find out that there's substantial portions of Lindbergh's personal life left out of what was purported to be a definitive biography. It's a sham...
I eagerly looked forward to this book and read it non-stop. I've even given it out as a gift on a couple occasions. Now we find out that there's substantial portions of Lindbergh's personal life left out of what was purported to be a definitive biography. It's a shame that a writer can't do a bit more research to discover frequent trips to Germany, private secretaries, and (at least) seven children outof wedlock. That these families were in Germany tells us much about the man and, I believe, tends to discredit any assertion that that Llindbergh was not pro-German.

posted by Anonymous on May 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Fly Away

    In today's busy world, we often take for granted the instant 24 hour communication and travel available anywhere around the globe. Hard to imagine that less than a century ago on May 21, 1927 at 10:24 PM, the Spirit of St. Louis did the impossible at that time. That is for someone to flown across the Atlantic non-stop from New York to Paris in a remarkable thirty-three hours, thirty minutes, and thirty seconds. In that instant, everything changed- for both the pilot and the planet.

    The story of this pioneer is captured by A. Scott Berg in his book, Lindbergh. This book transports the reader to the excitement and thrill of crossing the ocean blue while capturing the ups and downs of Lindbergh's life. Within his lifetime, the world changed so much that eventually men would be walking on the moon.

    Charles Lindbergh was the first global celebrity as he was recognized by all for his daring feat. Lindbergh's life was not all glamour and excitement. The book delves into the tragedy of the killing of his son after being kidnapped. It also chronicles his inner turmoil of the price of fame and disappointment of others. At the end, Lindberg committed his life to the environment and died surrounded by those close to him.

    This pioneer never strived for fame and fortune, he simple did what he enjoyed, which was flying, helping people, and making difference in the world. Everyone needs a dream and Lindbergh was able to live his. On his tombstone, he chose a two line passage from 139th Psalm which suggests a supreme belief in the Lord: "If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea."

    Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, at 628 pages, Lindbergh is a marvelous story of a forgotten hero.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2005

    Very Disappointing

    I eagerly looked forward to this book and read it non-stop. I've even given it out as a gift on a couple occasions. Now we find out that there's substantial portions of Lindbergh's personal life left out of what was purported to be a definitive biography. It's a shame that a writer can't do a bit more research to discover frequent trips to Germany, private secretaries, and (at least) seven children outof wedlock. That these families were in Germany tells us much about the man and, I believe, tends to discredit any assertion that that Llindbergh was not pro-German.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Too pricey for a Nook bio that's a decade old

    :(

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    "Lindbergh" by Scott Berg is the first biography I've

    "Lindbergh" by Scott Berg is the first biography I've ever read. That being said I didn't know what to expect but felt propelled to read it after reading "The Aviator's Wife". There were substantial portions that I found very interesting but also sections that plainly said were downright boring. I was disappointed that the book lacked emotion and at times felt like just words drafted on a page rather than exposing the deep soul of a man.

    There is so much more to this man than that of his transatlantic flight. He achieved so much more in his lifetime and yet for most of us we only knew him as the man and "The Spirit of St. Louis".

    It is apparent that Lindbergh suffered from OCD, which contributed to his genius as well as his inability for personal intimacy for those that he loved. Lindbergh served this world well but at the expense of his family, so sad for the people who loved him.

    After Charles' death the Times editorial said it best; "Charles Lindbergh was both the beneficiary and the victim of celebrity experienced by no other American in this century". The majority of his life was spent at the cruel hand of the press and changed the course of his life forever. It really made me think about the constant hounding celebrities have to endure each and every day and the truth or lies that are printed about them. Why is it that we feel the need to be notified of the most intimate details of their lives? Hmmm. Something to ponder.

    Upon further research, Lindbergh had a relationship with three women, friends, in Germany and sired a total of seven children. It was disappointing to note that the relationships with these women and his other children were not discussed in his biography and how a man that professed the good character of a man could live a double life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    An unbiased biography

    I grew up having learned Lindbergh's crossing of the Atlantic as his greatest and only contribution to society. Through this book I learned he was involved with the formation of international air travel routes, air travel rules in use today, national weather monitoring stations, created a heart pump for transplant patients, helped General MacArthur conquer the Pacific during WWII, and raised serious funds for conservation societies.
    I found this book politically neutral (very refreshing) as the author described Lindbergh's associations with numerous American Presidents, the public's incorrect lable on Lindberg as anti-Jewish, Lindberg's viewpoint of American participation in WWII.
    The author spared no detail in the kidnapping, search for, discovery, and trial of the child's murderer.
    Towards the middle of the book, I started calling Lindbergh "Forrest Gump." "I went to the White House again. And met the President, again." In addition, he was associated to so many off facts and findings. Airport tarmacs are lit with blue lights today because Lindbergh discovered that is the only light color penetrating fog, ect.
    Lindbergh met Presidents from Coolidge to Nixon. Through his travels and misc. associations he met, among many others, Albert Einstein, Robert Goddard, several Guggenheims, three generations of Kennedys, and Katharine Hepburn.
    I look forward to reading more of Berg's book if they are as thoroughly researched as this one. Ignore the negative reviews of this book. The author should have left some of the mysteries unanswered for the reader to decide alone. It's called unbiased journalism. Authors should present facts unfetted by their own opinion of the topic. What a concept.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    Not deep enough

    Just because a book is a best seller doesn't mean it is a great book. Lindbergh by A. Scott Berg falls flat in in-depth analysis of the man called Lucky Lindy. A true biography a book must exlore than just what made them famous. In this case it was flying solo across the Atlantic in 1927. If you didn't know any better, in this book Lindy was the first man to fly an airplane and pilot it some where no one had ever been before. Unfortunately there is not one mention of the men who flew across the Atlantic non-stop prior to Lindy, the men of the Navy NC-4 Flying Boat who accomplished this on May 1919. Credit is long overdue for these brave men and Berg continues the whitewash in this book.

    The other method to evaluate if a biography is intellectually honest is does it go beyond the normal caricature of the subject and tell us more about that person other than what made them famous in the first place. Does Berg go beyond Lindys 1927 accomplishment and explain his deep seated anti-Semitism and how an uneducated immigrant was found to be the sole instigator of kidnapping and murdering his baby and the subsequent freak show trial that resulted in a trip to the electric chair.

    Berg skims over Lindbergh's anti-Semitism attitude more by him being haunted by it than taking responsibility for it. "but his failure to condemn Nazi Germany before WWII haunted his reputation for the rest of his life." p6 Lindberg himself refused to believe his words were wrong in describing Jews the way he did by singling them out at almost every public speaking appearance during the run up to WWII. "More than 30 years after his explosive Isolationist statements, Lindbergh still refused to recant anything." p545 Why? An intellectually honest biography would have told us. Can it be that Lindy himself never understood the public loathing of his anti-Semitism and adoration of neutrality with Nazi Germany; that he was living solely on the laurels of 1927 and the outpouring of sympathy of his dead child, and he thought the public would love him without question? Too bad we never get the answer in this book.

    The circus trial of Hauptmann is given a closer look with 116 pages devoted to the trial of the one man the authorities believed perpetrated the crime against his baby. During the trail Lindy took to the stand and made a compelling argument that Hauptmann was the man accused of kidnapping his son. "Lindbergh's opinion was no doubt as prejudicial as it was immaterial." p315 The reader knows why it was wrong for Lindbergh to take the stand to make this statement but why was it allowed? This statement by needs explanation why it was prejudiced and immaterial. I give the author credit for giving the trial so many pages of coverage. Given this event was considered monumental in so many ways, 'the trial of the century,' courtroom antics, yellow journalism, botched police investigations etc, the trial of Hauptmann should be a book of itself. This book is more suited to the person to the person who has heard of Lindbergh and wants to know more about him. It is not a book that digs deep into the psyche of one of America's greatest 20th Century icons who went from hero to zero in less than a decade. I don't want read about how many vacations he took, tell me why he was anti-Semite and what role he played in the electrocution of man who after 70 years many say was innocent of the kidnapping and murder of the Lindbergh baby.
    PW

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    A Reluctant Hero in a Changing World

    Sometimes I find a book so compelling that I rise with it in the morning, carrying it around with me so that I can sneak in a paragraph or page between packing the kids' lunches and dressing for work. But rarely does a non-fiction book hold me this captive. I found Lindbergh to be riveting. From the portrayal of his oddball ancestors, to his historic flight (which resulted in a media maelstrom the likes of which only Princess Diana has generated since), to the later years of his life when when the world had changed and expanded far beyond Lindbergh's understanding, this book details it all. Lindbergh was an ordinary man thrust into an extraordinary life by virtue of a plane ride. No one could have predicted the full impact of that action, least of all Lindbergh. He was a brave and clever oddball, like his relatives, but not a superstar or a genius or whatever we expect our heroes to be. He was definately not a thought leader. He was easily swayed by dubious theories and domineering people. He was a rotten husband and distant father. He could be a brute. But oh, what he experienced! I enjoyed the book for the view of the world it provided circa 1920 - 1960, my mother's era, before I was born, and a time that I really didn't understand much beyond generic history lessons. Lindbergh was thrust into many of the political and social events of those decades, met with the rich and powerful and was involved in numerous important debates despite his utter lack of credentials beyond aerospace issues. He was pulled in by other people, in awe of his heroic stature, looking for a role model - not so different from America's treatment of elite athletes today. A. Scott Berg was lucky that his subject was a diarist and avid letter writer (along with Anne Morrow), and led one of the most documented lives of the time. So are we, or we wouldn't have this biography. Many reviewers get caught up in their personal feelings about Lindbergh, and end up giving a review of what they thought of him as a man. Read this book and draw your own conclusions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    It Soars

    This book is an excellent biography. I think that most people only know the name Charles Lindbergh because of his history making flight and the tragic kidnapping of his firstborn, but there is much more to this complicated man than that. The book starts out slowly as it covers his grand-parents, parents and his childhood. After he becomes a young adult the book grabs you and doesn't let go until the last page. I love a good true story and this really fit the bill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2001

    A Lonely Life for the Lone Eagle

    To this baby-boomer growing up, Charles A. Lindbergh was a shadowy hero about whom little was known. We knew of his heroic flight across the Atlantic in 1927 and the tragic kidnapping and murder of his son a few years later. As time went on I came to know that there was some controversy about his stand in the years leading up to World War II. Occasionally a magazine article would associate his name with some environmental cause, but the human being remained in the shadows of the spectacular dash across the Atlantic. In this biography, A. Scott Berg brings the man, his times, what the world would make him and the ways he influenced the world all to life. The book does even more than that, for it gives us a biography, not only of Charles, but also of his wife, Anne Morrow Lindbergh. The book starts with the family background of Charles A. Lindbergh. The grandson of a prominent member of the Swedish Riksdag and son of a Progressive Minnesota Congressman, Lindbergh was no stranger to the public forums into which he would later delve. Both his father and grandfather would fall from political favor and seek a modicum of success in regions far from their political bases. Lindbergh actually got much of his familial support from his maternal family, based in Detroit. His parents marriage would long exist in name only, a trait which would bear some comparison to Charles and Anne¿s marriage. Throughout the book, Berg makes the reader clearly aware of the contrasts in Lindbergh's life. Although the son of a former Congressman who might be expected to have the support of establishment figures, Lindbergh undertook the Trans-Atlantic flight with the credentials of a Midwestern mail pilot, who had primarily flown routes in Missouri and Illinois. Before the Trans-Atlantic flight he was far from being considered one of America¿s prominent aviators. Although seemingly flying out of the mists onto the world stage, he was to become a prominent force in American corporate and public policy debates for the rest of his life. With touchdown in Paris, everything changed for Lindbergh. He became an instant celebrity on a scale the world had never seen before or since. The press would hound his every movement for years. This provided Lindbergh with both an opportunity and a curse. He suddenly became accepted as an expert on any subject on which he might choose to express an opinion. He used his new persona to promote the causes in which he believed. At the same time his life became a constant struggle to preserve some degree of privacy and normalcy for himself and his family. Lindbergh¿s first passion was to promote aviation. For several year she devoted his energies, both through personal appearances and through corporate and governmental positions, to the advancement of aviation throughout the world. It was during this period that the tragic death of his first son, Charles, Jr., occurred. As the clouds of war arose over Europe, Lindbergh devoted himself to the crusade to keep America out of war, serving as the most prominent member of the America First movement. As Berg points out, Lindbergh was, as were many of his time, motivated, less by a fear of Nazism, than by a fear of Communism. Lindbergh¿s main argument was that the greatest tragedy for Western Civilization in general, and the United States in particular, was the establishment of Soviet hegemony over Europe. He felt that the West needed Germany as a bulwark against Asiatic Russia. He felt that Germany, based as it was in the Western tradition, would moderate its extremist tendencies more quickly than would the Soviet Union, steeped in its autocratic antecedents. The history of the 50 years following the triumph of the Soviet Union over Germany goes far toward justifying Lindbergh¿s fears. Lindbergh¿s involvement in national politics and international affairs made turned Lindbergh from the international hero to national pariah. Never again would his pub

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2001

    Charles Lindbergh, 20th century hero or misguided villian?

    As a member of Friends of the Library, I get a chance to read many great books. Lindbergh by Berg was one of the compelling biographies I had a chance to read. From Berg's accounts the historic flight, to his somewhat strange homelife, to the misguided admiration of Hitler's Germany, to his activities in WW11 and on to his final illness. Berg is Jewish and to his credit, this part was not overplayed. I, personally was very interested in this portion of the book. The reader has to come to the book with an open mind to get the full value of this biography.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2000

    I have a new hero. Keeps you reading and you learn a lot.

    All I knew about Charles Lindbergh before I read the book was that he was the first to fly across the Atlantic. He did so much more than that, and I am fascinated by him. The beginning of the book is slow....keep reading, though! Excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2000

    Good book, poor reader

    Please note two things: I like the book, and I like Eric Stolz. HOWEVER, I dislike the mix. The text of the book is intelligent and entertaining. Mr. Stoltz's narration of the book is more than a little annoying. He was not a wise choice to be the one to bring this book to tape. His voice is high pitched and often lacks any inflections. He is monotonous, grating and exhaustive. I recommend that you read this book out loud to yourself, rather than listen to the tapes as is.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    Great Book

    Absolutely great book. I have read it twice now. Very comprehensive and informative. Fills many gaps of information between books written by Lindberg and his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1