BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Line

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great YA dystopian novel

My thoughts...WOW, this is one of the best books I have read in a while. This is the first dystopian story I have ever read and I really enjoyed it. The best part of the book is the suspense. From the very first chapter, you are immediately drawn into this world div...
My thoughts...WOW, this is one of the best books I have read in a while. This is the first dystopian story I have ever read and I really enjoyed it. The best part of the book is the suspense. From the very first chapter, you are immediately drawn into this world divided by an invisible barrier. My imagine ran wild as I thought about what could be on the other side and how life would be, if such a barrier split our world. The mystery continues, even as we learn more about The Line. Through a mother's history lessons, some of the questions are answered. Still we are left to wonder who is good and who will betray as morals are tested. The plot was very original, face-paced, and very exciting.

From the beginning, my mind sorted the characters into two categories...those who supported the government, and those who opposed it. The heroine, young Rachel is heavily influenced by her mother to believe the government is wrong. Her mother is a very strong character in the story, very determined and loving. Several chapters told in her point-of-view reveal just how much she loves and daughter and how desperately she wants to keep her safe. We also get a peek into the mind of their employer, the stern Ms. Moore. Her stone personality gives the story some extra edge. All of the characters were memorable. I enjoyed the shifting POV, it helped the story flow smoothly.

The cons...The next book, titled Away, doesn't come out until early 2011. I don't know if I can wait that long.

posted by EllzReadz on February 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So...not so much.

It's partly my fault I didn't enjoy this book. I should have read more about it's genre before diving in. From the synopsis I thought it would be more sci-fi fantasy and less oppressive government politics. The last 5 pages are the only worth reading. As the previous re...
It's partly my fault I didn't enjoy this book. I should have read more about it's genre before diving in. From the synopsis I thought it would be more sci-fi fantasy and less oppressive government politics. The last 5 pages are the only worth reading. As the previous reviewer said, 90% of the book is drawn out set-up and explanation. I didn't find any of the characters realistic or relatable. No mother/daughter relationship is like Rachel and Vivian's. Ms. Moore was the only character I found any interest in. All of the endless discussion on orchids was also extremely out of place. (Ms Moore teaches Rachel how to care for orchids that she sells to nearby towns) The follow ups to this novel will probablly be much better, but I'm too put off by the first installment to continue. So if you like political fiction set in the future with a lazy imagination (seriously? digims? streamer? away?) and great tips on orchid care, this book is for you. If you want a really well done fantasy novel with political undertones, read Unwind.

posted by Alewo2735 on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Great YA dystopian novel

    My thoughts...WOW, this is one of the best books I have read in a while. This is the first dystopian story I have ever read and I really enjoyed it. The best part of the book is the suspense. From the very first chapter, you are immediately drawn into this world divided by an invisible barrier. My imagine ran wild as I thought about what could be on the other side and how life would be, if such a barrier split our world. The mystery continues, even as we learn more about The Line. Through a mother's history lessons, some of the questions are answered. Still we are left to wonder who is good and who will betray as morals are tested. The plot was very original, face-paced, and very exciting.

    From the beginning, my mind sorted the characters into two categories...those who supported the government, and those who opposed it. The heroine, young Rachel is heavily influenced by her mother to believe the government is wrong. Her mother is a very strong character in the story, very determined and loving. Several chapters told in her point-of-view reveal just how much she loves and daughter and how desperately she wants to keep her safe. We also get a peek into the mind of their employer, the stern Ms. Moore. Her stone personality gives the story some extra edge. All of the characters were memorable. I enjoyed the shifting POV, it helped the story flow smoothly.

    The cons...The next book, titled Away, doesn't come out until early 2011. I don't know if I can wait that long.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    Highly recommended...

    This book is getting amazing reviews from the industry and after reading it I see why! Compelling plot, layered characters, and great tension keep you glued to the pages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    The Line by Teri Hall

    Hard to believe she is a new author. Reads like she's been writing for years. Catagorized as a Young Adult book, it's also thought provoking for all readers, young and old (even us golden ager's :) ) Provides a perspective on what was, what is, and what might be. And what each citizen's responsibility and obligations are in a world society. Leaves you with questions with the promise of answers. We've all wanted to cross The Line at some time or another. This is an inspiration to stand up, to overcome fears, to not make excuses, to take action, and to be free. Look out, Harry! -Dan O.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Start to a Series, A Little Short

    The Line was an intriguing, and suspenseful book focusing on the dystopian society that was once the U.S. (the Unified States). After winning a nuclear war, borders aren't to be crossed, and the government bears down on citizens by enforcing harsh laws. They also track down individuals who may be, or have been, involved in revolutionary groups.

    Rachel has been living on The Property, owned by Ms. Moore, since she was very young. The Property lies along the border to Away, and is the perfect spot to hide away from the government. People tend to avoid this area of the border, because of the belief that horrible creatures now populate Away. While on The Property, Rachel's mother, Vivian, teachers her the truth behind the war, the government's actions, and what really happened to her father.


    This book had a cast of really strong, female characters, which was an aspect I loved.I think I may be in the minority, but my favorite character in the book was Ms. Moore. I knew immediately after her character was introduced that she was more than a mean old woman who loved her orchids. She was a strong woman, who had lived a hard life, separated from her family, and supporting herself. Vivian was also a great character. She wasn't afraid to teach her daughter the truth about the government, and Rachel wasn't afraid of what lay beyond the border to Away. All three of these women took significant risks in helping others, which is another admirable quality in a character. There seemed to be a hint of romance as well, which I expect will be developed further in the second book in the series.

    The only issue I had with this book was that it took a while to get to the action. It was nice to have the time to develop the characters, but for the first third of the book, I was left wondering when the action/suspense would begin building. Otherwise, I thought this was a great dystopian book. It contained little violence, and a lot of insight into how power can distort good intentions, and completely change individuals and governments. I'm anxiously awaiting the sequel, since this one did end on a cliffhanger!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Two Worlds Divided by a Line

    Rachel has lived on The Property with her mother, Vivian, for as long as she can remember. Before her father's death, Rachel lived in a city, a city she cannot remember and a place she never wants to live again. Ms. Moore owns The Property and employs Vivian in the capacity of a housekeeper. The Property borders The Line, which was created years upon years ago to separate the Unified States from a possible attack. Those on the other side of The Line were trapped there and when bombs were dropped, the radiation ended all chances of a rescue. The stories and myths speak of evil creatures and crazy people who will kill you in an instant. Rachel and Vivian border this mysterious world, but have never experienced anything strange themselves. Their lives may not be the best on The Property, but they aren't bad. Rachel and Vivian are far from the government's interference and have been living a peaceful and dull life bordering The Line. All of that changes when Rachel's curiosity gets the best of her and she discovers more than she ever bargained for.

    Teri Hall has created a brilliant debut with The Line. This dystopian novel is one of the best I've ever read and I don't say that lightly. The Unified States could easily resemble our world if the government stepped in and changed everything we know. That's the thing about dystopian novels; in a way, the reader could actually imagine his or her world like the world presented in the book. I could picture the United States that I know as the Unified States. That, in itself, is terrifying.

    It's really difficult to get into too much about the book, without giving away key plot points, but I will say that The Line is definitely worth reading. The story begins in a typical dystopian fashion. The government has stepped in and begun to control everything. There are taxes and new laws and if you have something to hide, then the government has a reason to cart you away. Rachel understands it all and she agrees with her mother that the government cannot be trusted, but she soon realizes exactly why her mother doesn't trust the government. A simple event opens Rachel's eyes to her mother's flaws and also gives her some insight into who Ms. Moore really is. The Line is an invisible boundary separating everyone from Away, but what happens when someone from Away asks for help? Rachel soon discovers an entire world of secrets that changes her life forever.

    The Line is the opening book of a series and it certainly opens with a bang. It's not a non-stop action book, but I couldn't stop turning the pages. I read it in just a few hours and I so wish the next installment would come more quickly.

    Opening line: It seemed to Rachel that she had always lived on The Property, though this wasn't true.

    Favorite line(s): You can't be brave without being afraid. The brave ones are always afraid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So...not so much.

    It's partly my fault I didn't enjoy this book. I should have read more about it's genre before diving in. From the synopsis I thought it would be more sci-fi fantasy and less oppressive government politics. The last 5 pages are the only worth reading. As the previous reviewer said, 90% of the book is drawn out set-up and explanation. I didn't find any of the characters realistic or relatable. No mother/daughter relationship is like Rachel and Vivian's. Ms. Moore was the only character I found any interest in. All of the endless discussion on orchids was also extremely out of place. (Ms Moore teaches Rachel how to care for orchids that she sells to nearby towns) The follow ups to this novel will probablly be much better, but I'm too put off by the first installment to continue. So if you like political fiction set in the future with a lazy imagination (seriously? digims? streamer? away?) and great tips on orchid care, this book is for you. If you want a really well done fantasy novel with political undertones, read Unwind.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Line

    Rachel lives on the Property. That's all she has ever known. And the Property is close to The Line, which separates the Unified States from the rest of the world. What is on the other side is unknown to her and she is on curious girl; especially when she gets a recorded message from the Others. Teri Hall's young adult novel The Line is an interesting look at a dystopian society, yet she takes so long to build up the story and characters that the book is almost to the end before any real action takes place. It finishes abruptly so that the reader must wait for the second book in the series to find out what happens next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    new dystopian series

    After months of waiting I finally got my hands on a copy. Dystopian wasn't really my thing but after reading a bunch of them I started warming up to it. There's something about a sad world that reeks or hopelessness, inconvenience, and anything that is not like the world that we live in is some what appealing, scary yes but that's the beauty of reading it. The characters are always interesting and this book is of no exception.

    The story was futuristic, set after a war that nearly killed our planet. Our main girl Rachel lives with her mother at the guest house of Ms. Moore's property and that is what they call it, the PROPERTY where in the greenhouse is their source of income. It is situated a few yards from THE LINE border. This all seems intriguing. The government in this book is obviously into some kind of conspiracy. Feeding people all these stories about AWAY and the OTHERS, these scared most people. It prevents them from even thinking about leaving, to question it or start a rebellion. So living a few yards away from it instantly piqued my curiosity. Why live there? I am certain too that Mrs. Moore & Vivian (Rachel's mom) is hiding something and I wanted to know what it is. It might be two different secrets but it is obviously something to do with AWAY or the OTHERS. But there is one negative about this book. The pace... the employment of Rachel inside the greenhouse bored me. I am not interested in orchids at the moment so the first 7 chapters... I keep thinking, is it relevant? I almost didn't want to finish it. It was too slow and not enough mystery for me to look forward, but I remember the blurb... there is going to be something... so I kept on reading until... Rachel discovered... A tape recorder. With a message. A past. About her parents. About her dad, and it was.... *gasp*

    Patience is a virtue. When you get to "that" chapter you won't be able to put this book down. It is a good start for a new dystopian series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Rachel has lived on The Property since before she can remember. Her mother works for Ms. Moore, the owner, as a housekeeper of the large house. Rachel enjoys living far from town and away from the strong governmental control most other people must suffer. People living in towns deal with unfair and random taxes and, when they can't pay, are taken to jail.

    Most people would hate living on The Property because it backs up to The Line, a small section of the National Border Defense System that separates the people of the Unified States from Away and the Others. The Line is an invisible barrier that can only be crossed if the government grants permission and deactivates The Line.

    Rachel doesn't feel fear when she thinks of Away. She even tried to cross it once, but simply bounced back from The Line and landed flat on her back.

    Rachel's quiet life is turned upside down when two things happen.

    First, she finds a battered digital voice recorder with a partial message requesting help. Then, during a trip to town with her mother for the weekly supplies, they witness the arrest of a woman her mother recognizes.

    Rachel discovers she doesn't know her mother as well as she thought she did, that Ms. Moore has some unbelievable secrets, and the Away and the Others are closer than she thinks. She must use her wits and bravery to get through a dangerous and exciting time in order to save an important historical document and people she doesn't even know.

    THE LINE by Teri Hall is a fascinating dystopian novel full of strong female characters and a dark, creepy plot. The end, while a bit abrupt, is satisfying. Readers will definitely want to read more about the adventures Rachel is sure to find. The author leaves the story completely open for a sequel, and I for one can't wait to read it.

    The synopsis isn't the only thing I found intriguing about THE LINE. Just take a look at the cover and tell me you don't want to read it! Fantastic art choice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    LOVE

    Starts out a bit slow, but once you get into it, you cant put it down! This series and the divergent series are definitely must-reads!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    I recently read The Line by Teri Hall and found that I was drawn

    I recently read The Line by Teri Hall and found that I was drawn in immediately. In this book, a young girl is fascinated by the National Border Security that runs pretty much right through her backyard. While learning more about The Line, she also gets a look into the past which has set the course for her life. A past that she never knew existed. You should read this book because it is an easy read, the portrayal of the U.S. as a dystopia is extremely intriguing, and the ending will make you want to pick up the sequel right away.
    At 219 pages, this book is not very difficult to finish within a few days, but there is no lack in the formation of a great plot. The characters were fully developed and the events were both interesting and plausible. In the story, the U.S. was portrayed as a dystopia. Totalitarian government had taken over and a National Border Security was put into place to keep other countries out. I enjoyed the constant state of wonder that I was put into while reading. Thinking about what countries in today’s society could take the place of the countries in the book. As for the ending, at first I was disappointed that I wouldn’t know what happened when all was said and done immediately, but then I realized that the ending was perfect. It gave me a strong desire to pick up the sequel. I can’t wait to see what becomes of Rachel and you won’t be able to wait either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Read Now

    I am just waiting for Teri Hall to write another book after The Line and Away. I love this series and will read it over and over again just for the thrill of reading it. This is officialy my favprite book/series in the history of books.
    I rate........ 1000000000000000000000000000000. Really, Read this book if you like to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    5 ****

    Make me wonder what a streamer is!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Good but needs its own dictionary for made up terms

    Was a little hard to follow some of the terms she made up for things (digim/photo streamer/tv?skype?computer?telephone? genid/genetic identification ) had to asume what they were and took away from the reading hoping you were assuming correctly. Other than that it was a quick fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    The Line

    this book waz sooooo good!!!! i waz kinda mad that it is a cliff hanger. i want 2 read the next book soo freaking bad!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    kinda slow but good

    This book was good. It mainly is about how The Line came into their world and why its there. It doesn't start to get REALLY good until the end. When it ended i was like UGH!!! I NEED TO SEE WHAT HAPPENS NEXT! lol. i really liked this book. its kinda slow tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Interesting read

    I enjoyed this book the most the first time I read it but still not bad for a second read. I found the world Teri Hall created interesting. I enjoyed the second book even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Cant wait to read sequel!!!!! So great!!!

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    D Omg so good

    I luv it!!!!!!!!





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Omg

    I heard this qas a great book just like the hunger games:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2