Customer Reviews for

Line of Vision

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Can't Believe It's Not in Bookstores

    Desperate for a good mystery, I ordered this old one because I like David Ellis. Just great. I really don't care for the reviews that tell the whole story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bravo To Ellis, A Great Read From New Author

    I was lucky to go back looking for Edgar Award winning debut authors or I might never have come across David Ellis. This is about as compelling a mystery/thriller can be that ends up in the courtroom. And to Ellis' credit he knows what goes on in the courtroom so the drama is not only well told and taut but authentic. The characters are well developed and the plot is tight and given to us by someone who knows how to capture a reader by telling a first rate story. So what is it? A murder mystery that is somewhat disguised as an insider's view of the preparation of a murder trial from the defense side where just like the prosecution, winning at any cost is paramount. Damn ethics, facts, law or justice. Most whodunnits become an evidence collecting journey with all kinds of road forks meant to throw the reader off until the true culprit is unveiled. Ellis takes a novel approach giving us bachelor Marty Kalish, a law school dropout, successful investment banker and somewhat of a social misfit with the ladies. Poor Marty falls for a married high class socialite and soon ends up a willing confessor to the murder of the cardiac surgeon who was married to and abusing the object of his affections. But Marty is so likeable and the good doctor so evil that we are drawn into this story merely to see whether our tragic main character can successfully defend himself against dedicated and thorough prosecutors with the aid of an highly experienced team of criminal defense attorneys. But the story leads to new heights, suspense and ultimately the unexpected and unforeseen twists and turns that make this book soar above its mediocre counterparts we are so often disappointed with in this genre. Looking forward to reading more of this author's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Very Good Read

    The is the second book I've read by Ellis- the first being Eye of the Beholder. I enjoyed this book very much and completed it in 2 days (stayed up to 2:30 am to find out the ending). However, I would say that I enjoyed Eye of the Beholder even more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am an avid courtroom thriller reader if it's done by the right author, like John Grisham. I forget how I stumbled upon this author, but when I saw James Pattersons''great author also' stamp of approval, I had to check him out. I was not disappointed. I stayed up countless hours reading this book, fascinated by the twists and turns and the humor was very much on point with keeping the story intriguing. As I read it I couldn't wait for it to get to the end, yet I dreaded it all the same, because I wanted the story to continue so badly. This is the first time in a while where I've read an author I hadn't heard about first, and was genuinely surprised and eagerly awaiting their next book. I've reread this book many times since... Kudos to David Ellis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    As Close To Perfection As You Can Get

    EXCELLENT!!!! If you enjoy legal thrillers then dont miss this one. All I can say is- read it! Just finished reading it and am literally at a loss for words to describe how pleased I am. Previously read Life Sentence by this author and enjoyed it so set out to read some of his other work and boy did I find a treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    EXCELLENT

    I could not put this back down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    Thoroughly compelling masterpiece

    This book was surprisingly endearing. The narrator was amazingly easy to identify with and this book was a whirlwind of emotions. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    Unique Portrayal of a Legal Story

    i have read many legal stories as it is one of my favorite types of fiction books but I have never read one that describes the entire story through the eyes of the defendant. Mostly the lawyers are the central characters and to add to its uniqueness the reader is never sure if the defendant is being honest with himself or has such a crush on the victims wife that he is delusional. The dialogue is brilliant, the depiction of the trial is equal to the best of The Practise or Law and Order and the reader will forget all responsibilities and world problems while he is absorbed in this compelling book. I cannot wait to read his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Hope This Is the First of Many

    Let's hope we hear more from David Ellis, who is indeed supposed to be working on his next novel, according to the book jacket. Line of Vision unfolds at a breathtaking pace, taking more twists and unexpected turns than a Busch Gardens thrill ride. An intriguing and complex young man tells the story of his involvement in a murder (and is he innocent or not? -- we are kept in suspense) and the subsequent trial. Obsessive love, lies, betrayal, and deception are the order of the day here, and keep the story galloping along relentlessly. This book was VERY hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Tremendous but unique legal thriller

    In Highland Woods, investment banker Marty Kalish is having an affair with Rachel Reinardt, wife of renowned cardiologist and philanthropist Derrick. She tells Marty that her spouse beats her and shows him her scars. Mart hates Derrick for having what he wants and abusing her. <P> Marty goes to Rachel¿s house expecting quality time with his beloved, but instead sees Derrick hitting her. Enraged, he picks up a bench and smashes through the glass patio door. Marty kills Derrick, but has the foresight to bury the body and clean up any evidence that points to him in spite of the freezing temperatures. Having law school experience, he knows that ¿every criminal makes a mistake¿. He tries desperately to act normal at work and among friends. Meanwhile, police detectives Cummings and Nicholaos begin to look at whether Rachel had an affair that led to her spouse¿s disappearance and probable death. <P> Though a February release, it will be hard to imagine any legal thriller being better than LINE OF VISION. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action although the tale is told in the first person by Marty. This not only provides the audience with a radically different perspective on how just our legal system truly is; it furnishes an incredible insight into Marty. David Ellis has written an incredible tour-de-force that is must reading for sub-genre fans as a fresh exciting new voice has raised the quality level of this genre. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1