Customer Reviews for

Linkage: The Narrows of Time

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. Read the kindle version cover to cover in four hours.

Loved it. Read the kindle version cover to cover in four hours. Couldn't put it down. Not sure about the ending -- left me hanging a bit but I guess that's what the author wanted to do. Sets you up for the second book in the series. If you like fast action SciFi that ch...
Loved it. Read the kindle version cover to cover in four hours. Couldn't put it down. Not sure about the ending -- left me hanging a bit but I guess that's what the author wanted to do. Sets you up for the second book in the series. If you like fast action SciFi that challenges your ability to sniff out reality from fantasy, then I strongly recommend this book. If you get queezy easily, skip it - there are some parts of the story that simply dont hold back (which I like). All in all, I recommend the story. I read the other reviews and I just dont get why the Maggie chick didn't like the nine foot bugs from the cover? they really turned up the action for me. In no way was it a let down. Humor, action, destruction, mahem, naken women, blood, guts, cool tech, and even a spaceship battle. A little of everything. Plenty of twists and turns to keep me reading.

posted by BookNerd99 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Some good idea's at the start. However the book reads like an am

Some good idea's at the start. However the book reads like an amateur's first draft. It gets much worse Midway through the book its as if a juvenile has taken over the writing, the story becomes erratic and unbelievable (in a bad way). Shall be giving this author a miss...
Some good idea's at the start. However the book reads like an amateur's first draft. It gets much worse Midway through the book its as if a juvenile has taken over the writing, the story becomes erratic and unbelievable (in a bad way). Shall be giving this author a miss in the future.

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Loved it. Read the kindle version cover to cover in four hours.

    Loved it. Read the kindle version cover to cover in four hours. Couldn't put it down. Not sure about the ending -- left me hanging a bit but I guess that's what the author wanted to do. Sets you up for the second book in the series. If you like fast action SciFi that challenges your ability to sniff out reality from fantasy, then I strongly recommend this book. If you get queezy easily, skip it - there are some parts of the story that simply dont hold back (which I like). All in all, I recommend the story. I read the other reviews and I just dont get why the Maggie chick didn't like the nine foot bugs from the cover? they really turned up the action for me. In no way was it a let down. Humor, action, destruction, mahem, naken women, blood, guts, cool tech, and even a spaceship battle. A little of everything. Plenty of twists and turns to keep me reading.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    An Intriguing and Imaginative Start to the Narrows of Time Serie

    An Intriguing and Imaginative Start to the Narrows of Time Series

    Linkage is a sharply written novel, the first in the Narrows of Time series that promises to be exciting, engaging and thoroughly entertaining. Jay J. Falconer is a talented author who manages to blend drama with action, humor with tragedy, adventure with science fiction elements fantastically. Right from the start this novel caught my attention with vivid storytelling, authentic characters, strong dialogue and a smooth plot that sent me on twists and turns the whole way through.

    The novel centers around Drew Ramsay and his brother Lucas as the two scramble to fix a science experiment that might be the cause of pending planet-wide destruction, but as the two delve deeper into the worldwide phenomenon a far reaching plot begins to unfold... one that just might be far more complicated than either one ever imagined. The story is wonderfully complex with twists and turns that keep the reader locked in and eagerly flipping from page to page as Drew and Lucas find themselves tested from all sides in a bid to save humanity before it's too late.

    What I liked about this novel is that it really does have a solid foundation of intriguing science fiction and fantasy elements. It's sharp, focused, vibrantly written and managed to play with the mind and reality in a compelling way. Drew and Lucas are two characters that manage to forge a connection with the reader, taking you right alongside them as they are thrust into a complicated situation and risk everything to save themselves and everyone on Earth.

    Overall, this was well worth the read and left me eager to read more in the Narrows of Time series. I would certainly recommend the novel to anyone who is looking for a well-written science fiction fantasy novel to sink their teeth into.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    I bought this book to have as a ¿train read¿ ¿ something to pass

    I bought this book to have as a “train read” – something to pass the time for an hour train commute to Chicago and back. I ended up reading it in the evening including staying up well past my usual bed time, actual way, way past as I was fighting sleep because I didn’t want to stop reading.

    The story is solid and there are no lags. The attention to even the tiniest detail really helps to provide the reader with a fly on the wall presence alongside the characters.

    I also liked how the author dropped subtle clues and I enjoyed coming across the various clues.

    In this debut book we meet the two Ramsay brothers – Lucas and Drew. There is a really nice balance with the two characters. As mentioned, the tiny details really added a lot to the story. We see early on that Lucas is carrying a secret (regarding his mother’s insurance) and that both Lucas and Drew are just like most other humans- wanting to do the right thing.

    The story evolves into a very solid sci-fi read. It had a story that resonated well with me as it educated us about our two main characters and then brought us right into the middle of a full blown alien invasion- very nicely done dear author.

    It had all the right elements to build suspense and also empathy for our two main characters. I knew by the halfway point that this was an author I would be reading again in the future.

    I read a lot and I felt this book warranted every single star that I gave it as it was definitely a quality sci-fi read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    Linkage is a thrilling science fiction adventure that starts off

    Linkage is a thrilling science fiction adventure that starts off fast and doesn’t slow down. Right from the beginning we are thrown into an impossible situation where the end of the world is eminent. Dr. Lucas Ramsey is rolling over thoughts of how he caused this to happen and what is to be done now, when he is interrupted by Military Police. They are there for Lucas and his brother Drew, both of whom are astrophysicists. What happens next is a wild ride to save humanity that takes Lucas and Drew through unexpected challenges.

    Author Jay Falconer delivers a gripping story that captures the imagination and the heart. His characters are well developed, the dialogue flows naturally and his world comes together with vivid intensity. Millions have died and there is a narrow chance for survival. Drew and Lucas struggle against the odds to save humanity before it is too late. Drew, though handicapped and confined to a wheelchair, has amazing personal strength, character and intelligence. He and his brother Lucas have an incredible chemistry that strengths the story. There is science, fear, doubt, clones, aliens, mystery, suspense, death, destruction, the ultimate race, shocking revelations, and hope. I am anxious to begin the next book in the The Narrows of Time Series. For an unforgettable experience, I highly recommend it! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    When is part 2 coming out

    Great book! When are the next ones coming out?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1