Customer Reviews for

The Lion (John Corey Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 736 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(288)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(62)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

DeMille has done it again!

John Corey is back - and still afraid of bears - although he's not afraid of much else! This book is hypnotizing. You never know what's going to happen next but you DO know it will knock you off your feet. The sky diving sequence had me holding my breath. Who but DeMill...
John Corey is back - and still afraid of bears - although he's not afraid of much else! This book is hypnotizing. You never know what's going to happen next but you DO know it will knock you off your feet. The sky diving sequence had me holding my breath. Who but DeMille could think up something like that?
If you want to be totally absorbed - read this book!
Mr. DeMille....hurry up and write another John Corey adventure. (with or without bears)

posted by Kittyb1 on June 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

The Lion Meows

Nelson DeMille has long been one of my go-to authors. Who could forget the fabulous "Charm School" or the fascinating "Wild Fire." Sadly, what we have in "The Lion" is a wordy, redundant, flat, and wholly unbelievable sequel to the fast-paced "Lion's Game." While I s...
Nelson DeMille has long been one of my go-to authors. Who could forget the fabulous "Charm School" or the fascinating "Wild Fire." Sadly, what we have in "The Lion" is a wordy, redundant, flat, and wholly unbelievable sequel to the fast-paced "Lion's Game." While I still love the character of John Corey, and once again enjoyed his sarcastic wit, the story quickly went sour. I had been anxiously awaiting this sequel and the return of the assassin, but the sequence of events this time was eye-rolling at worst, and laughable at best. The attempted murder during a sky-diving trip reopened the cat and mouse game, but all I could do was groan at the stupidity of those events. I understand the concept of suspending one's belief in a novel, but this is beyond the pale. The book apparently needed filler, so many passages are repeated throughout the book and main characters make "surprising" recoveries from life-threatening, critical condition injuries. I could forgive that if the plot were stronger and there was at least some believability applied. I am sorry to say that this book was very disappointing.

posted by pmet417 on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 741 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Lion Meows

    Nelson DeMille has long been one of my go-to authors. Who could forget the fabulous "Charm School" or the fascinating "Wild Fire." Sadly, what we have in "The Lion" is a wordy, redundant, flat, and wholly unbelievable sequel to the fast-paced "Lion's Game." While I still love the character of John Corey, and once again enjoyed his sarcastic wit, the story quickly went sour. I had been anxiously awaiting this sequel and the return of the assassin, but the sequence of events this time was eye-rolling at worst, and laughable at best. The attempted murder during a sky-diving trip reopened the cat and mouse game, but all I could do was groan at the stupidity of those events. I understand the concept of suspending one's belief in a novel, but this is beyond the pale. The book apparently needed filler, so many passages are repeated throughout the book and main characters make "surprising" recoveries from life-threatening, critical condition injuries. I could forgive that if the plot were stronger and there was at least some believability applied. I am sorry to say that this book was very disappointing.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    DeMille has done it again!

    John Corey is back - and still afraid of bears - although he's not afraid of much else! This book is hypnotizing. You never know what's going to happen next but you DO know it will knock you off your feet. The sky diving sequence had me holding my breath. Who but DeMille could think up something like that?
    If you want to be totally absorbed - read this book!
    Mr. DeMille....hurry up and write another John Corey adventure. (with or without bears)

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Action-packed, complex, and engrossing!

    Assad Khalil, a.k.a. the Lion, is a deadly killer and a religious terrorist. Now that he's back on U.S. soil, he is pursuing his personal vendetta. He intends to annihilate all the people linked to his family's destruction from the U.S. Air Force pilots to Federal Agent John Corey and FBI Agent Kate Mayfield. The Lion, like the fictional Jackal (from Return of the Jackal) is one of the world's most skilled assassins and Khalil enjoys the difficult kills.


    Corey tries to take advantage of Khalil's love for the dramatic and Corey needs all the advantages that he can garner. Khalil seems to have unlimited resources, a wide range of targets, and no inhibitions. But Corey has his own strengths -- careful detective work, his creative thinking, his deep determination and desire for vengeance. The battle of between Corey and Khalil makes for an engrossing read and a satisfying thriller.


    If you're looking for a fun weekend read or a thriller to escape with, check it out. Action-packed, complex, and engrossing, DeMille's The Lion will surely satisfy!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Pass on this one

    While his earlier books were supurb, looks as if ol' Nelson has lost it on his last two books, particularly this one. Writing is repetitive, wordy, and boring. Having a real had time slogging through it, and I may just put it down.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Can't Wait

    The Lion's Game was Nelson DeMille' greatest books. It was action pack and dealt with our country's greatest threat and that is terrorism. I can't wait for the long awaited sequel. My only hope is that its better than his previous book The Gate House.

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    Very Weak - DeMille's Worst Effort By Far

    This sequel to The Lion's Game was dull - I got the impression that DeMille forced this one out to satisfy his contract or something. The ending was predictable, the story lacked imagination, and I think the time has come to retire John Corey. I loved him in Wild Fire but his act is getting old. I hope DeMille goes back to writing in his old style of heavy research / details mixed in with action and suspense. Create a new character perhaps. This was lazy writing and not worth the money.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No Lyin'

    Where's Darth Vader when we need him? Here we have an international terrorist, the baddest of the bad, and we have to settle for a wisecracking New York cop to save the day- if he can. DeMille hits all the right buttons but his wisecracking cop could easily get bumped off by annoyed readers before he even meets the Lion. There is blood to spare and murder is written on just about every page. Don't start liking a character, he/she may not be around for the next chapter! It's a good summer read, but don't think too hard on the way.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    What an exciting read!

    I have enjoyed the journey with John Corey. The Lion's Game captivated and held my attention from the moment that I picked it up! Enjoyed the follow up series of J Corey and Kate Middleton too. However I have eagerly awaited the continuance of the Asad Khalil saga! The Lion does not disappoint! I couldn't stop reading until I finished! An exciting culmination to the Corey, Middleton, and Khalil triangle! Highly recommend if you have read the first book first!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting conclusion to Asad Kahlil storyline!

    Excellent conculsion to the battle between John Corey and Asad Kahlil. l have read the complete series involving John Corey with the best of theseries being The Lions Game . That said, The Lion was a thrilling book and a good concultion to the Kahlil storyline. I would like to see the series continue with new adventures for Detective John Corey as I view him as the perfect brash wise-cracking cop. I highly recommend this book or more so the entire series in order to fully understand the characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A dark story with a witty narration.

    This was a great story! I wasn't instantly drawn into it, but once it got going I couldn't pull myself away from it.

    I hadn't read the first in this series, so there was a bit that I think I was missing from this one, but I don't think it deterred from the story at all. I was able to piece together what had happened in the first book and pieced together the back story.

    I've never read DeMille before, but I'd heard great things about his writing. I wasn't disappointed! There is quite a bit of wit in the writing. I don't know if it was just the nature of the main character, John Corey, or if it's a common thing for DeMille, but it made this story easier. I think without the witticisms this could have been a very difficult and dark book.

    I really liked Cory. He was witty, he was strong, and (like us all) he had faults. His drive to finish what The Lion started was so strong. While not all of The Lion's actions were meant to egg on Corey, Corey seemed to take them all quite personally. Although since The Lion promised Corey that he would be back to finish what he started I guess there was a vendetta to settle, and since Corey knew what The Lion's plans entailed I can see how he took everything personally.

    The story was pretty intense. But again, the wit helped to break it up. It didn't make the story any less serious, but it made it not so dark and hopeless.

    The narrator was pretty good. He wasn't mundane, but he wasn't the most lively narrator I've ever listened to. He gave the characters their own voices, and did a pretty good job at helping the listener to differentiate who was talking.

    A review copy of this title was provided by the publisher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Return To Form

    I was a bit more cautious going into this one after The Gate House. The Gate House was more romance novel than anything and I was worried that Nelson had made a permanent turn in that direction. I am glad he proved me wrong. This book was a return to the kind of work I expect from DeMille. While the ending lacked any surprise twist it was still a great read. And, everyone does twists nowadays so it was rather refreshing that the twist here was that there was no twist. It's straight forward and to the point. You just have to enjoy the ride from here to the ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    Hope there is more of John Corey in the future

    I really liked this sequel to The Lion's Game. John Corey is probably someone I would never like in real life, but I laugh out loud as I read the John Corey books. Nelson DeMille's writing is terrific.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good! Won't regret reading

    John Corey and Khalil meet again! I believe I have read every one of DeMille's books and he didn't disappoint me in "The Lion." I thoroughly enjoy John Corey's wit, it has you laughing out loud at times. The intensity of the book was also good. Can't wait for another Corey book!!! P.S. You don't have to read the "The Lion's Game" before you read this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    Terrific!

    Great story with some dialogue from John Corey that makes you laugh out loud. Worth every second of waiting for the sequel to "The Lion".

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    I enjoyed reading The Lion. I can imagine it as a movie. It will be thrilling. This work of fiction provides entertainment with a topical story line.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    John Corey is the funniest cop I've ever read

    I haven't read much DeMille, but if this book is in any way typical of the man's talent I'm on board. The witty puns and asides he's written for his main character kept me grinning throughout this very bloody, scary plot. I need to go find the backstory on John Corey and his nemesis, Asad Khalil, but I didn't feel I needed it to enjoy this novel. There is tense action and detailed police work here, sprinkled with sarcastic comments and bold action from the main character. It made for a great read. The backdrop is a pretty scary terrorist plot with events across the USA, a pretty terrifying and realistic concept. I recommend this book if you enjoy thrilling spy stories; even with the humor it has everything you are looking for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    John Corey is back and better than ever.

    In this latest thriller Nelson takes us back and re-introduces us to The Lion who in reality is international terrorist Asad Khalil who is on a personal jihad to avenge the killing of his family by the US military in 1986 which was interrupted the last time he tried it by none other than John Corey and Kate Mayfield. Well now things are a little different John and Kate have married, the US post 9/11 has a tighter rein on terrorist infiltrating our borders. Or do we.
    The Lion is a heart racing, pulse pounding thriller, just as you'd expect from the master himself Nelson DeMille, and believe me he will not disappoint you. His plots are always timely and very controversial and this one is no different. He's not afraid to take on the heavy hitting topics of the day and turn them into action adventure novels. His storytelling is unequaled in his genre, he knows how to keep a readers interest and keep the pages turning long after lights out until the end. His characters are always entertaining, but in my humble opinion there is none better then the combination of John Corey and Kate Mayfield where he mixes the irreverent, smart aleck and insubordinate John Corey with the ultra professionalism of Kate Mayfield, who I may say in the several years of marriage with John has unfortunately for her superiors and fortunately for we readers rubbed off on her, which only makes her a much more humanly flawed character. His co-stars in the novel, most of who we've met previously are an intricate part of the telling of his tale, especially the villain The Lion, who is so far above any other villain out there that there's just no comparison, the extent of his evilness will appall you and make you shudder in your shoes and break out in goose bumps. But have no fear because one of the things I love about Mr. DeMille is his love of country and that good will crush evil, maybe not every time but often enough to give us hope, so that even as dark as his novels can get he always gives us a ray of light at the end.
    This is an instant best seller and right now is #9 on the New York Times best seller list. Pick this one, you will not be sorry you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Action thriller!

    Get comfortable poolside this summer and sink your teeth into this incredible action-adventure thriller. The ride never stops as your taken along on an unbelievable venture. It's really an outstanding book! Highly recommended! We included this book in our summer reading list of books as we recently visited the book store, a summer tradition, to gather up all of our pics for our summer reading list. This includes books for myself, my husband, kids and nieces and nephews. We also buy some books as birthday presents for others so they can join in on our discussions, like the aunts and uncles and grandparents. We have a mini book club where we discuss our books as we all read along. We all read several books so as the reading goes along there are a lot of books to review. The kids have found a wonderful book called, Smitty's Cave Adventures. They all love thrilling action-adventure books and this one is no exception, full of mystery and intrigue! From a parental point of view, Smitty's Cave Adventures also has a good moral overtone. Even the girls wanted to read this book and they all concluded that this is their favorite book so far!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    If you like DeMille, you will like this book

    I thought The Lion's Game was one of DeMille's best (and that is saying something, because I think he has written some great books), and this sequel mostly holds up to the standards of The Lion's Game. It is a continuation of the original in nearly every respect, with the possible exception of the fact that the story does not concentrate on the activities of the terrorist as much as in The Lion's Game. This is not necessarily bad, just different. Still, a book that Nelson DeMille fans will like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nelson DeMille is an astonishing author . . .

    You know you will be roundly entetained when you decide to pick up the newest DeMille novel. This author's tightly woven plots will keep you glued to the pages from beginning to end of book. John Corey is one of my favorite DeMille characters - a close second to John Sutter in THE GOLD COAST and THE GATE HOUSE. It would really be something if these two "Johns" ended up in the same story some day, but then again, they might cancel each other out as they are both kings of adlibs. The only thing I didn't enjoy about this book was the cliffhanging ending, for the simple reason that now I wonder how many years we have to wait for the next John Corey book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 741 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38