Customer Reviews for

The Lion (John Corey Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 735 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(62)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

DeMille has done it again!

John Corey is back - and still afraid of bears - although he's not afraid of much else! This book is hypnotizing. You never know what's going to happen next but you DO know it will knock you off your feet. The sky diving sequence had me holding my breath. Who but DeMill...
John Corey is back - and still afraid of bears - although he's not afraid of much else! This book is hypnotizing. You never know what's going to happen next but you DO know it will knock you off your feet. The sky diving sequence had me holding my breath. Who but DeMille could think up something like that?
If you want to be totally absorbed - read this book!
Mr. DeMille....hurry up and write another John Corey adventure. (with or without bears)

posted by Kittyb1 on June 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

The Lion Meows

Nelson DeMille has long been one of my go-to authors. Who could forget the fabulous "Charm School" or the fascinating "Wild Fire." Sadly, what we have in "The Lion" is a wordy, redundant, flat, and wholly unbelievable sequel to the fast-paced "Lion's Game." While I s...
Nelson DeMille has long been one of my go-to authors. Who could forget the fabulous "Charm School" or the fascinating "Wild Fire." Sadly, what we have in "The Lion" is a wordy, redundant, flat, and wholly unbelievable sequel to the fast-paced "Lion's Game." While I still love the character of John Corey, and once again enjoyed his sarcastic wit, the story quickly went sour. I had been anxiously awaiting this sequel and the return of the assassin, but the sequence of events this time was eye-rolling at worst, and laughable at best. The attempted murder during a sky-diving trip reopened the cat and mouse game, but all I could do was groan at the stupidity of those events. I understand the concept of suspending one's belief in a novel, but this is beyond the pale. The book apparently needed filler, so many passages are repeated throughout the book and main characters make "surprising" recoveries from life-threatening, critical condition injuries. I could forgive that if the plot were stronger and there was at least some believability applied. I am sorry to say that this book was very disappointing.

posted by pmet417 on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Can't Wait

    The Lion's Game was Nelson DeMille' greatest books. It was action pack and dealt with our country's greatest threat and that is terrorism. I can't wait for the long awaited sequel. My only hope is that its better than his previous book The Gate House.

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No Lyin'

    Where's Darth Vader when we need him? Here we have an international terrorist, the baddest of the bad, and we have to settle for a wisecracking New York cop to save the day- if he can. DeMille hits all the right buttons but his wisecracking cop could easily get bumped off by annoyed readers before he even meets the Lion. There is blood to spare and murder is written on just about every page. Don't start liking a character, he/she may not be around for the next chapter! It's a good summer read, but don't think too hard on the way.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting conclusion to Asad Kahlil storyline!

    Excellent conculsion to the battle between John Corey and Asad Kahlil. l have read the complete series involving John Corey with the best of theseries being The Lions Game . That said, The Lion was a thrilling book and a good concultion to the Kahlil storyline. I would like to see the series continue with new adventures for Detective John Corey as I view him as the perfect brash wise-cracking cop. I highly recommend this book or more so the entire series in order to fully understand the characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A dark story with a witty narration.

    This was a great story! I wasn't instantly drawn into it, but once it got going I couldn't pull myself away from it.

    I hadn't read the first in this series, so there was a bit that I think I was missing from this one, but I don't think it deterred from the story at all. I was able to piece together what had happened in the first book and pieced together the back story.

    I've never read DeMille before, but I'd heard great things about his writing. I wasn't disappointed! There is quite a bit of wit in the writing. I don't know if it was just the nature of the main character, John Corey, or if it's a common thing for DeMille, but it made this story easier. I think without the witticisms this could have been a very difficult and dark book.

    I really liked Cory. He was witty, he was strong, and (like us all) he had faults. His drive to finish what The Lion started was so strong. While not all of The Lion's actions were meant to egg on Corey, Corey seemed to take them all quite personally. Although since The Lion promised Corey that he would be back to finish what he started I guess there was a vendetta to settle, and since Corey knew what The Lion's plans entailed I can see how he took everything personally.

    The story was pretty intense. But again, the wit helped to break it up. It didn't make the story any less serious, but it made it not so dark and hopeless.

    The narrator was pretty good. He wasn't mundane, but he wasn't the most lively narrator I've ever listened to. He gave the characters their own voices, and did a pretty good job at helping the listener to differentiate who was talking.

    A review copy of this title was provided by the publisher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Return To Form

    I was a bit more cautious going into this one after The Gate House. The Gate House was more romance novel than anything and I was worried that Nelson had made a permanent turn in that direction. I am glad he proved me wrong. This book was a return to the kind of work I expect from DeMille. While the ending lacked any surprise twist it was still a great read. And, everyone does twists nowadays so it was rather refreshing that the twist here was that there was no twist. It's straight forward and to the point. You just have to enjoy the ride from here to the ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    If you like DeMille, you will like this book

    I thought The Lion's Game was one of DeMille's best (and that is saying something, because I think he has written some great books), and this sequel mostly holds up to the standards of The Lion's Game. It is a continuation of the original in nearly every respect, with the possible exception of the fact that the story does not concentrate on the activities of the terrorist as much as in The Lion's Game. This is not necessarily bad, just different. Still, a book that Nelson DeMille fans will like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nelson DeMille is an astonishing author . . .

    You know you will be roundly entetained when you decide to pick up the newest DeMille novel. This author's tightly woven plots will keep you glued to the pages from beginning to end of book. John Corey is one of my favorite DeMille characters - a close second to John Sutter in THE GOLD COAST and THE GATE HOUSE. It would really be something if these two "Johns" ended up in the same story some day, but then again, they might cancel each other out as they are both kings of adlibs. The only thing I didn't enjoy about this book was the cliffhanging ending, for the simple reason that now I wonder how many years we have to wait for the next John Corey book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Good book

    Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    Great Read

    If they knew the Lion was coming back why didn't they take more precautions? Otherwise it was a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Another good John Corey book. read it!

    Interesting character development. Intriguing to read. Can't wait for more John Corey books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Slpashfang

    A white she cat whith silver stripes walkedin is the deputey spot still open?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Shikabane to all

    "Do any of you know where I could find the lion Deepscar?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good one

    It was good to get the final results of the original The Lion's Game. Didn't think this was as good as the first but still a good read as all of his books are. Lot's of twists & turns to keep the interest. Enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Good sequel,read next chapter with Det. Corey and associates

    After reading the Lion's Game, I had to jump ahead to this one for a followup. I very much like Detective Corey and his street smarts, and he is surrounded by the cast of chracters that we met, previously. You'll have to read it and find out where the author takes us this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    The Lion

    I have read several of Demille's books and enjoyed each and everyone. I love the Corey character, laugh at his jokes and enjoy following his investgative manner and approach. Great books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Good quick reading

    Typical John Corey story. Quick read and keeps you entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Love DeMille

    Quick and exciting read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Good read, but...

    If you are a fan of Demille's "John Corey", this is a must read. While you won't be disappointed, the story does go flat for about 100 pages... but then jumps right back to life via Demille's strong back story and expressive capture of the "everybody's favorite strong arm cop" John Corey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Best-wish it didn't end

    If you love DeMille, you will love this sequel to Lion's Game. He is one of my favorites!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    The Lion has been worth waiting for. I can't read it fast enough! I love it.

    IF YOU READ THE LION'S GAME, YOU WILL LOVE THE SEQUEL.....THE LION.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11