Customer Reviews for

A Lion among Men (Wicked Years Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books

This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books. Secrets are revealed, stories are told, and futures are made. Brrr is an interesting character that both cares and doesn’t care. He wants nothing to do with society, but can’t seem to stay away from it. A...
This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books. Secrets are revealed, stories are told, and futures are made. Brrr is an interesting character that both cares and doesn’t care. He wants nothing to do with society, but can’t seem to stay away from it. All he wants is love and a home, and by the end of this book he finds it in the strangest of places. Yackle has been a mysterious character throughout this series, and her story is finally told, albeit reluctantly. You won’t be able to wait for the last book!

posted by Bwitchd3 on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Too much exposition, not enough plot.

I greatly enjoyed the first two books in the Wicked series. This only added to my disappointment with this book. While the idea of hearing the untold story of the Cowardly Lion does sound intriguing, this book lacked much in the way of a continuing storyline. Outside...
I greatly enjoyed the first two books in the Wicked series. This only added to my disappointment with this book. While the idea of hearing the untold story of the Cowardly Lion does sound intriguing, this book lacked much in the way of a continuing storyline. Outside of retrospection, this book did very little in the way of furthering the story in respect to the first two books. While I wouldn't say not to read the book, I will say to wait for the paperback or borrow it from a friend as it was not worth the $20. In all due respect to Mr.Maguire, I think this book seemed more like a paycheck than a story. While I would love to see how things turn out for Brrr, Nor, Candle, and Liir, I would not want to spend over 300 pages to advance one day in the overall story.

posted by AvenueQ on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring But Mother Yackle Isn't

    It's apparent that I liked this book more the first time I read it than compared to now. I wouldn't recommend this book, but the fans of the Wicked Years novels and the curious will find it difficult to not read it at least once for themselves. It is a boring book as the Lion goes on and on about his life's events and mistakes. The conversations between Mother Yackle and Brrr, the Cowardly Lion are what wake up both the story and the reader. Mother Yackle is one of my favorite characters in these books. At the end, Gregory Maguire has you wanting more when Yackle speaks about Elphaba, Liir, Candle, and Liir's daughter. I'm hoping that if he writes another Wicked Years novel that it'll be about Liir's daughter and have a feel more like 'Wicked' did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Wicked rocks...A Lion Among Men not so much...

    While the third book in the wicked series was not bad, it didn't exactly continue or add to any of the previous stories. I kept waiting for the big tie in, waiting for news of liir, waiting for the whole point, but sadly it never came. It did illuminate some of the past via Yackle but other than that i saw no reason for the lion's story to be told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Dissapointing

    I thought all the Wicked books were too wordy, yes even for a book. But I liked them, until now. This book is slow and I wanted to put it down, and did over, and over. I had to make myself finish the book. It was as if the author wanted you to be bored. And I was. I love long books, if they are good, and this is the worst one I have ever read. I didn't want the first 2 to end, and was so glad when this one ended!! This was the first book of hundreds I've read that I almost just stopped reading.
    Please we want to know about the Wicked Witches green grand baby not the Tinman, or the Scarecrow, or Toto!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    A Means to an End

    Although I generally find Gregory MaGuire books interesting in concept, this book fell short of what I expected out of the Wicked Series. The previous two books, Wicked & Son of a Witch were filled with adventure, mystery, & if not a definitive ending, then some semblance of one. This book seemed like a means to an end.

    It was introducing previously unknown characters (and revisiting some familiar but minor ones) as a way to lead on to the next book. This book was mostly sad; telling the tale of an orphaned, misguided, and exceptionally cowardly, selfish Lion. I cringed in several spots. It made me feel depressed without any redeeming value at the end. The finale of the book was nothing more than the dramatic declaration that the saga will continue.

    Unfortunately, I would not recommend this book to anyone who has not read the previous two books and even then I know to a familiar reader, this novel will be a disappointment. What a shame!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Doesn't live up to Wicked

    I was so extremely excited to read this book, hoping that it would be just as good as Wicked and Son of a Witch. However, I was extremely disappointed in the story. I couldn't get into it, the Cowardly Lion didn't interest me as he should have, and everything that happened in the plot was very random to me. I absolutely love the first two books in the Wicked Series, Wicked being one of my favorite books, and this did not live up to them at all. It left many questions unanswered and left me extremely confused. Something would happen and I would have no idea how the story had gotten to that point and I'm usually a very attentive reader. I must admit that I could not wait to stop reading this book and I sincerely hope that the next book in the series (if there is one) will be much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2