Customer Reviews for

A Lion among Men (Wicked Years Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books

This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books. Secrets are revealed, stories are told, and futures are made. Brrr is an interesting character that both cares and doesn’t care. He wants nothing to do with society, but can’t seem to stay away from it. A...
This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books. Secrets are revealed, stories are told, and futures are made. Brrr is an interesting character that both cares and doesn’t care. He wants nothing to do with society, but can’t seem to stay away from it. All he wants is love and a home, and by the end of this book he finds it in the strangest of places. Yackle has been a mysterious character throughout this series, and her story is finally told, albeit reluctantly. You won’t be able to wait for the last book!

posted by Bwitchd3 on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Too much exposition, not enough plot.

I greatly enjoyed the first two books in the Wicked series. This only added to my disappointment with this book. While the idea of hearing the untold story of the Cowardly Lion does sound intriguing, this book lacked much in the way of a continuing storyline. Outside...
I greatly enjoyed the first two books in the Wicked series. This only added to my disappointment with this book. While the idea of hearing the untold story of the Cowardly Lion does sound intriguing, this book lacked much in the way of a continuing storyline. Outside of retrospection, this book did very little in the way of furthering the story in respect to the first two books. While I wouldn't say not to read the book, I will say to wait for the paperback or borrow it from a friend as it was not worth the $20. In all due respect to Mr.Maguire, I think this book seemed more like a paycheck than a story. While I would love to see how things turn out for Brrr, Nor, Candle, and Liir, I would not want to spend over 300 pages to advance one day in the overall story.

posted by AvenueQ on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books

    This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books. Secrets are revealed, stories are told, and futures are made. Brrr is an interesting character that both cares and doesn’t care. He wants nothing to do with society, but can’t seem to stay away from it. All he wants is love and a home, and by the end of this book he finds it in the strangest of places. Yackle has been a mysterious character throughout this series, and her story is finally told, albeit reluctantly. You won’t be able to wait for the last book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    A very good book by a very good wrter

    More answers are revealed in this book of the series. Although this was not my favorite book in the series, it seemed more interspective of all the books. The Lion tried to figure out just where his loyalties belonged and where he came from, Yackle, too, tried to remember her beginning, and everybody tried to figure out where the boy, Liir, had wound up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good. Worth reading

    Despite my reading it right after finishing the first two volumes of the Wicked Years series it took me a while to get into this volume because the Lion's character seemed so amorphous. In the end however I found it very satisfying precisely because his character was so complex and not predictable. All the characters, in fact, are flawed--rather seriously at times--and that seems to be the heart of what Maguire is doing in the series. Their faults are distressing at times but allowed me to relate and develop sympathy for them. Although religious faith and doubt (or faith of some kind) plays an important role in the series, the author allows for all possibilities in how his characters approach or reject it and this volume in particular integrates that theme with the psychology of the characters' self-doubts and frustrations. As with the rest of the series, clever references to the original Oz series by Baum and to the 1939 movie sweeten the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A hidden gem, must be read through to the end!

    I initially was going to rate this book 3 stars, but the last few chapters definitely made this a 4 star read. There were moments where I grew weary of the Lion, but such is his character. There is meaning & hidden purpose in this book, and the characters of focus are a perfect match. The biggest plus for this installation into the wicked series is this: There IS closure! Some of the lingering questions from both "Wicked" as well as "Son of a Witch" are finally answered! This alone makes the book worth reading. The rest, is simply a bonus. I for one, am glad I gave it a chance, and I think lovers of the wicked series should as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Lion isn't as Wondrous as the other two.

    I enjoyed reading this, although I wasn't as smitten as with WICKED, nor with SON of a WITCH. The prose is still wondrous and the imaginations of Mr Maguire are rich and full. I'm looking forward to the 4th in the Series, although not with as much eagerness as I sought #3.
    It's good to connect and read all three in the series in order, and I'm glad I did. It's just not as fine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Gr

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is a great series. The twist on the stories are very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Good closer

    A little slow in points but nice closer to good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    Fanstastic idea, brillent pupputer and a tragic stroy of our Brrr

    What a smart way to patch the quilt by filling the missing pieces of Wicked and Son of a Witch, but there are some holes left unstich

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Another good one

    Have really enjoyed the series. Can't wait to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Lion Among Men

    The story of the cowardly lion is a very interesting one. The third book walks us through his childhood, how he met Dorothy, and the part he is to play in the future of Oz.

    The lion, Brrr, has quite an eventful past, and the way he received the name "cowardly" is very entertaining, and yet very sad. Brrr's entire life has been trying to fit in, somewhere, anywhere, and the fear that he never truly will haunts him.

    We are introduced once again to the strange character of Yackle, the old woman who has followed the story of Oz through all three books so far. We also get a glimpse into her history and why she seems to be so eternal. We meet the Clock of the Time Dragan and it helps us to tie many of the loose ends together. Although the series still seems to lack a true conclusion, most of what has been on my mind was cleared up throughout this book.

    4/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as the first two...

    I was excited when this book came out, having just finished reading Wicked and Son of a Witch, but I was disappointed with this novel. Although a lot of the mysteries surrounding the Time Dragon and Mother Yackle are answered, I felt the plot was all over the place. Burr's character is pathetic, as I guess the cowardly lion would be, but his memories don't really lead anywhere. His only link to Elphaba was being the cub she resuced at Shiz and then he was a witness to her death. I don't know who the narrator of the next novel will be, Nor maybe? I was able to read the first two novels from the series fairly quickly since they kept my interest, but this book took me a longer time to read since I couldn't "escape" into Oz as much as I would have liked. Hopefully this isn't how the series will end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Lion Among Men

    I love the wicked series and Gregory Maguire, But this book was not one of my favorites. The Lions life was not that interesting to me. It was a new character to learn about but i was anxious to know what happened to all my old characters I've grown to love. It didn't get good until the last couple of chapters when you start finding out about Nor and Lir. Hopefully the next book will be more about their lives. I can't wait to hear more about Lir and the baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Long awaited book 3.....

    I have been dying for this book to come out on paperback after reading Wicked and Son of a Witch. I have to admit although I read through it very easily it did lack something the other books had. Maybe its that I just didnt relate well with the main character, I am not sure. It was not nearly as much of a "page turner" as the other two but I enjoyed it regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Lion Among Men, the Wicked Years, Book 3

    This book tells the story of the Cowardly Lion. Brrr comes to the oracle Yackle for answers to Elphaba, Liir and the Grimmerie, just as they are caught between the war between EC and Munchkinland. Yackle is seeking death, but death does not come. Brrr is forced to recollect his life and the mistakes he has made, by telling his story to the oracle. I was really hopeful to find some answers in this third volume, but my satisfaction was not sated. Altogether, this book was a fantastic read for adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    poor little lost lion

    This is the third book in the series that started with Wicked. This story details the career of Brr. the Cowardly Lion, from the Wizard Of Oz. As Brr, on an extorted mission from the secret intelligence service of Oz, finds Yackle, even older and stranger than she was in Wicked. He demands an interview with her, seemingly to learn what he can from her about the whereabouts of Liir. the son of Elphaba, the (now deceased) Wicked Witch Of The West. Yackle demands a trade, her information for Brr's personal history. As armies from Oz and Munchinland converge on the site of their meeting, Brr and Yackle painfully exchange information from their histories. Through this device, we learn much that had remained hidden from the stories of Wicked, Son Of A Witch and The Wizard Of Oz.

    I didn't want this book to end. While not truly complete in any sense, it is compelling reading for anyone who loved the stories of Oz, Dorothy and company, Elphaba or Liir or anyone who just loves getting caught up in stories of the strange yet familiar world of Oz and surrounding territories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Wicked Years

    I throughly enjoyed the first two books in this series Wicked and Son of a Witch. I was at first disapointed that it didn't continue the plot line from the first two books as I expected it would. It was written from the Cowardly Lions point of view. While I enjoyed the book I don't feel I have closer from the first two books. I didn't enjoy this as much as I had the first two. It is an interesting twist to the story but I didn't feel the drive to keep going the way the first two books drove me to read. It would be a great weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great One

    I've always been a fan of the Wizard of Oz. I know that die hard fans might find it hard to be sympathic to the Witch or hear about the sad early life of the Lion but I just love the way he weaves his tales. He does it so convincingly that I find myself wishing Dorothy had stayed in Kansas. Although then we wouldn't have these books, would we?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as Wicked but a worthwhile read anyway

    Despite disliking the main character, I enjoyed A Lion Among Men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Lion Among Men

    Though not as good as the first two books in the series, A Lion Among Men features the never-been-told-before story of the Cowardly Lion. Readers of Wicked will enjoy the book as well as others who are fascinated with the world of Oz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4