Customer Reviews for

A Lion among Men (Wicked Years Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books

This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books. Secrets are revealed, stories are told, and futures are made. Brrr is an interesting character that both cares and doesn’t care. He wants nothing to do with society, but can’t seem to stay away from it. A...
This book fills in some of the holes left by the first two books. Secrets are revealed, stories are told, and futures are made. Brrr is an interesting character that both cares and doesn’t care. He wants nothing to do with society, but can’t seem to stay away from it. All he wants is love and a home, and by the end of this book he finds it in the strangest of places. Yackle has been a mysterious character throughout this series, and her story is finally told, albeit reluctantly. You won’t be able to wait for the last book!

posted by Bwitchd3 on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Too much exposition, not enough plot.

I greatly enjoyed the first two books in the Wicked series. This only added to my disappointment with this book. While the idea of hearing the untold story of the Cowardly Lion does sound intriguing, this book lacked much in the way of a continuing storyline. Outside...
I greatly enjoyed the first two books in the Wicked series. This only added to my disappointment with this book. While the idea of hearing the untold story of the Cowardly Lion does sound intriguing, this book lacked much in the way of a continuing storyline. Outside of retrospection, this book did very little in the way of furthering the story in respect to the first two books. While I wouldn't say not to read the book, I will say to wait for the paperback or borrow it from a friend as it was not worth the $20. In all due respect to Mr.Maguire, I think this book seemed more like a paycheck than a story. While I would love to see how things turn out for Brrr, Nor, Candle, and Liir, I would not want to spend over 300 pages to advance one day in the overall story.

posted by AvenueQ on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Wonderful

    Loved how this book kept OZ and its people alive!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Lion Among Men

    If you read and liked Wicked and Son of the Witch, then you will definitely like this book. Just like the first two books, A Lion Among Men is sharply written, with interesting characters and a gripping plot. Not only do we find out the life story of the Lion who helped Dorothy kill the Wicked Witch, but we furthermore learn the story of Oz, the Witch, her son and other characters involved in their lives. Gregory Maguire's writing style is addictive, it was hard for me to put the book down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great Novel

    If you enjoyed reading Gregory Maguire's Wicked and Son of a Witch, then you'll definitely love this book as well.

    The book tells the story of Oz once more, but this time through the eyes of the "cowardly Lion", Brrr. You go on his journey with him and, just like in Wicked, see how a title, and a perception of someone or, in his case, an Animal, doesn't really justify the way you think of them, considering you don't know their story and how they became the way that they are.

    Gregory Maguire did a wonderful job writting this novel, as he did with his others. The style of writting is superb, in the sense that he tells you just enough to get you to figure things out on your own and make your own interpretations concerning the story. It allows you to think and use your mind, which most books lack now a days.

    If you enjoyed any of his other books, then you'll love this one as well. Older readers will understand the novel more and fully grasp what is being conveyed, so I wouldn't necessarily recommend this to younger readers, as they may get confused throughout the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    For one grownup on fairy tales

    Maguire takes the lovely fairy tale world of the Wizard of Oz and twists the plot into a deeply intriguing and dark tale in this series. All are must reads.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Loved it!

    Not as great as the first two. I felt like this one was little harder to follow, but in the end everything came together.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Grreat!

    Another great work from the wicked years. The character of Brr (cowardly Lion) was moving and his story compelling. The story follows this lonely misunderstood creature as he learns some of life's harder lessons and attempts to find his place in the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Wicked Rules!

    OMG! I can't wait for this to come out! It is going to be amazing!!! YAY!

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Insightful

    Insightful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Praise forBrr!

    When i began this third installment in the series I was highly disappointed as it was difficult to follow and some parts were just boring, by but the end I was on the edge of my seat begging for more. This is definately one of those love hate relationships, but overall very happy with the interesting tidbits of back story andBrrs own turbulent journey through OZ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Recommended

    This sequel of Wicked gives a new "twist",as in twister, to the Dorthy saga. I greatly enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the third in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    "We're.....Off To Be Amazed and Intrigued AGAIN...."

    The "Wonderful Wizard of Oz", aka Gregory Maguire, has once again spun a captivating tale of the reimagined, fleshed-out Oz in this third installment of the Wicked Years Series. Here we're immersed in the doings of the Cowardly Lion and the truth of his past as originally hinted about in Wicked. We journey with him through his recollection of his life while he acts as an Emerald City agent-interrogator of other Oz-ians for whom he's charged with collecting information for the present EC dictator, The Wicked Witch of the West, Elphaba's younger brother. Primarily revolving around the Lion's talks with an ancient matron "Maunt", one of the EC's modern religious followers of the "Unamed G-d", Maguire unfolds page upon page of surprising detail and intriguing invention of complicated characters and situations over a period of many years in the Lion's and Maunt's lives. The ending is a whirlwind of unexpected changes and revelations about the Lion, the political machine from the Emerald City and Elphaba's and her son Liir's legacies intertwined with the dragon-clock "prophet" prophecies and it's keepers of the ancient religion of Oz. Will we see a book 4 reveal the truth of Elphaba's grand-daughter, her brother-the religious zealot tyranical dictator in the EC and his war against the Munchkinlanders (his own kin!),and what happened to the Lion and Elphaba's book of magic, the Grimmery???!!! I digress and get carried away...this book is that great! Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    If you enjoyed reading wicked and Son of A Witch...

    I got a kick out of this, the author knows about cat behavior. The personality of this lion is very endearing and I will read it again as I do all my favorite books. This book is every bit as interesting as the other two in the series. It answers questions that I had from the previous stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    LOVED IT!!!

    I'm a huge fan of the entire Wicked series. This one tugged the heartstrings a bit as Brrr talked of his troubled childhood and the loss of his love to Ms. Yackle. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    whens the next book??????????

    I enjoyed this book. More to the lion than meets the eye-I cannot wait for the next one.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Macguire

    If you've read the others in the "Wicked" series, then this novel fills in some of the question marks. Highly recommended alone for the unique and lyrical prose. I wish that my dreams were as imaginative as Macguire's conscious abilities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining thought provoking fantasy

    The Emperor of Oz enjoys war although he remains comfortable far from the combat inside the Emerald City. Munchkinland rebels and the emperor's armies are preparing for combat. At the same time Brrr the Cowardly Lion travels around the countryside as a reluctant imperial spy. He agreed to become an espionage agent so he can elude the Animal Adverse Laws that harshly discriminate against talking animals.

    Brrr reaches the Mauntery of St. Glinda where Yackle the cantankerous Seeress resides. He is to interrogate the crone before she dies, which can be any nanosecond or several lion lifetimes. Instead of gaining much information for use in the war, Brrr begins to learn about his unknown past, being alone, and afraid.

    The third Wicked Years fantasy (see WICKED and SON OF A WITCH) continues the homage to L. Frank Baum through a deep look at the late author's key characters while also subtly and not so subtly satirizing society. The cast is incredible as Brrr and company work through some complicated issues like responsibly and accountability in a world centrally managed by magic. Filled with whimsy yet deep philosophical questions, A LION AMONG MEN is once again an entertaining thought provoking fantasy.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good Fallow up

    This is a great story. I like the way that he allows for the Cowardly Lion to be the one who tells of his life. Before and after Dorothy's arrival and departure from Oz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    Excellent Series

    This is the third book in a terrific series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    GIFT PURCHASE

    A dear friend loves this author. To express a special "Thank YOU", I gave this book to her as a gift. She loved it which made me feel great! I have not rad this book but for lovers of this author, it makes a wonderful gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    "Lion Among Men" was simply an amazing addition the the Wicked Years series. If you read and enjoyed Wicked & Son of a Witch, please read this! It is an awesome conclusion to the series. Gregory Maguire's writing will have you reading this book 24/7 and keep you wondering until the very end. I definitely recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6