Customer Reviews for

Lion of Ireland

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

An Irish history lesson...

Being part Irish and having a son named Brian, I found a lot to like in this book. I learned quite a bit about Irish history, which is one of the things I love to find in my literary choices. The author is well known for her research and knowledge of Irish history, and ...
Being part Irish and having a son named Brian, I found a lot to like in this book. I learned quite a bit about Irish history, which is one of the things I love to find in my literary choices. The author is well known for her research and knowledge of Irish history, and it shows. I confess to skipping through some of the battle scenes and the formal court hooha, but for the most part, this book held my interest and kept me reading too late at night.

I loved the main character, Brian Bóruma mac Cennétig, the Irish king who ended the domination of the so-called High Kingship of Ireland. Brian first made himself King of Munster, then subjugated Leinster, making himself ruler of the south of Ireland. He is the founder of the O'Brien dynasty. He was quite a heroic and legendary figure, both physically and spiritually. He's fascinating and likeable.

It was an interesting read that I enjoyed very much.

posted by Suuze on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I put it down after about 150 pages.

Slow to start, jumps around too much. Just couldn't get into it

posted by 8286290 on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Irish history lesson...

    Being part Irish and having a son named Brian, I found a lot to like in this book. I learned quite a bit about Irish history, which is one of the things I love to find in my literary choices. The author is well known for her research and knowledge of Irish history, and it shows. I confess to skipping through some of the battle scenes and the formal court hooha, but for the most part, this book held my interest and kept me reading too late at night.

    I loved the main character, Brian Bóruma mac Cennétig, the Irish king who ended the domination of the so-called High Kingship of Ireland. Brian first made himself King of Munster, then subjugated Leinster, making himself ruler of the south of Ireland. He is the founder of the O'Brien dynasty. He was quite a heroic and legendary figure, both physically and spiritually. He's fascinating and likeable.

    It was an interesting read that I enjoyed very much.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    GREAT BOOK! I GOT HOOKED WITHIN THE FIRST 20 PAGES...8-)

    This was the first of Morgan's books that I had discovered, and really excited and hooked once I realized just what I was reading...I knew somehow that I was descended from Irish blood way back, but this helped with piecing the stories together. It helped me understand my ancestral links between Brian Boru and the Dal Riada Scots kings of early Scotland insothwestern Scotland, where my various Scottish and royal English ancestors intermarried. Morgan wrote the book(s) in a very exciting, flowingly narrative way that brought all home extremely well. I have since read three other of her books as well - they do become a bit addictive!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    good, fast read

    I was hooked just a few pages in. It was very hard to put down. Love the characters and the fact that it is based on real people. It is enjoyable historical fiction. I laughed and cried, was happy and mad. This book made you feel emotions, really care for the characters and hope things turn out for the best.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    Legendary Hero Brought to Life

    An epic tale of one of Ireland's great leaders, Brian Boru, this novel covers a period of some 70 years during a turbulent time in the country's history. It has magic, mystery, and is guaranteed to delight anyone who enjoys historical novels. The author's love and reverence for Ireland shine through every page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    So easy to get wrapped up in this book

    I was so happy that there was a sequel to this book because I truly wanted to read more about the characters. Though I traditionally would not buy a book that contained a lot of battle scenes, they were elemental to the story and very much a part of the history of Ireland. This is the second book I have read by Morgan LLyweylyn and she has is now on the list of my favorite authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2002

    Great Irish historical tale

    In the tenth century, the Norsemen assault the minor relatively peaceful Irish Clan. They pilfer, rape, and randomly kill without a second thought. Observing the cruel attack in shock is a young lad, Brian mac Cennedi. He vows that one day there will be vengeance for the wanton death and destruction that the marauders brought to his clan. <P>As he grows into adulthood, Brian never forgot his vow. He begins his quest of revenge starting with efforts to unite the Irish clans under his rule. His battles with Viking and Irish alike become legendary as no one fights more ferociously than Brian does in battle. Eventually he conquers and unites the land, becoming known as Boru, the High King of Ireland. <P> LION OF IRELAND is an exciting historical fiction tale that cleverly blends known facts, legends, and Morgan Llywellyn¿s wonderful imagination into a great epic tale. The story line vividly provides a feel for tenth century Ireland without skimping on the action or on character development. The heroic Brian, the three key females, and his foes are fully developed so that the audience understands their motives while obtaining more insight into an interesting era. Ms. Llywellyn is the bard of Irish fictional history. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    TOO LONG!

    I'm a fan of the other books by Morgan Llywelyn, but this one needs some serious editing! I can usually read a book pretty quickly but it's been weeks now and I'm not finished with this one. I am vaguely interested in it, so I keep coming back to it, but am finding that I am skimming pages more and more just in the hopes of finishing it!! Definitely a commitment, not a quick read . . .needs more action . . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Morgan Llewellin

    Good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    I put it down after about 150 pages.

    Slow to start, jumps around too much. Just couldn't get into it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Best book I've ever read.

    I've read this book about three times, and everytime I just love the book as if it's the first. It's a very well written novel, that weaves history and folklore into one great story. Brian Boru is a very unknown Irish hero, and he had a major impact on European history. His story is very down played in Irish history books, but Morgan tells it with great detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2000

    Well recomended

    I recomend this book to anyone who enjoys a good fast-paced read. The context was interesting, and told in an impartial manner, leaving the reader to decide what he thought of Ireland's great king. I close in saying one thing, BORU!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    A Great Book to Read!

    This book has a great story line! I enjoyed reading it. It had true fantasy and real life experiance. I suggest you read it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    The best book on Ireland

    I had a brother-in-law and a sister-in-law who were Irish-Americans. I never understood why they were always arguing. After reading this book, I understood. The author manages to convey the reasons and the shock of why Ireland was never united except for a short space of 12 years in the early 11th century!

    A great book based on fact with some fiction thrown in to make it even more interesting.

    I recommend it highly.

    Reinmar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Historical Fiction at it's best.

    If you like gripping, well researched Historical Fiction, Morgan Llywelyn's Lion of Ireland will not dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Gandfs story part two

    (Sorry its so short!!!!!!) Gandf ends up winning WIZARDS ONLY FOOLS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Learned a bit about Irish history & thoroughly got involved with the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    SO hard to put book down

    Kept me engaged and was hard to put the book down at night! Sleep and work got in the way of the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    gripping

    Willpower and spirit @ the forefront

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Historically interesting

    Having just come back from Ireland, this book was great to read about all the places we visited there. Viking history is always interesting to me, and the Irish connection is something you don't get very often. It's a long book, but keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    The 'Best book you'll ever read'.

    I don't think they have enough stars to rate this breathtaking novel. Morgan Llywelyn wrote a truly magnificent story of a truly magnificent man. This is sure to touch your mind, and soul. This book is the very book that attracted me to reading, and yet of the hundreds of titles I have read, none can begin to compare to Lion Of Ireland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4